We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shutters On the Banks
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
houston
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location, clean hotel!”
Reviewed August 7, 2010

While this is not a fancy hotel, it was clean and with a fantastic location. We arrived, checked in early and headed out to the beach. The hotel is located on the beach side of the street and there is a good bridge over the dune and onto the beach. There is no beach view unless you are on the 3rd or 4th floor, so we just stayed on the other side of the hotel for $1oo less! Next morning, hubby had to do some telecommuting and the wired access didn't work. Called down and that room didn't work, so they upgraded us to a room with a kitchen and full size fridge and we were set. Really friendly staff and decent free breakfast. Not fancy, but it is clean, nice folks and close to the beach with comfy beds!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maretx01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    330
    114
    43
    18
See reviews for
417
347
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

This was our first time in the Outer Banks, and we were very happy with our experience and are looking forward to coming back. I initially hesitated about this particular motel, but now I'm very glad we stayed here. We came down for just one night, and the hotel was able to fit us in despite their policy of a 2-night minimum (quite common for smaller beach hotels). The staff were very friendly. The hotel has its own beach front, including a little cold shower to get sand and salt off your body. The AC worked perfectly, bed was good for the type (flat, not a pillow-top), and the TV (though old) was all fine. My wife was pleased with the toiletries, too: Bath and Body Works stuff. For breakfast, the self-serve bar was equivalent to anything at Holiday Inn Express or similar small motels. I think someone else had commented before that the room keycards seem prone to lose their coding, and that happened to us, too. I can say for sure that it wasn't placed in contact with anything magnetic, unless the fact that both keycards were in the same paper sleeve counts!. The front desk staff were able to fix it right away, but I imagine it could be a pain if you stayed here a full week. That said, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yamamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

We ended up at the Colony IV by default because the other two hotels we were hoping to stay at were full. Lucky for us. We stayed for two nights over the weekend and from the moment we arrived until we left we had a wonderful experience. We arrived around noon on Saturday and there wasn't a room availalbe yet but they offered to let us change into our swim suits and go to the beach or pool while they got a room ready. They took my cell number and called as soon as the room was ready, which was less than an hour later. The room was spotless and comfortable with a fridge and microwave, necessities for a beach vacation. They are literally steps from the beach with a lovely gazebo for watching the sun rise and relax. There were both an indoor and outdoor pool and an indoor spa. I can't speak for the indoor pool or spa but the outside pool was great. As planned we went south to Hatteras after two nights but didn't have nearly the same positve experience so we called Colony IV to see if they had any rooms available and indeed they did. We then spent the remainder of our trip back with them. I will definately go back to the Colony IV.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srndlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, VA
Level Contributor
200 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Recently I stayed at the Colony IV with my sister-in-law and brother-in-law and found it quite enjoyable. The double bed room had ample space and a good location for the price. We were pool side and found this location great for our 3 day stay. Hotel employees were friendly and very helpful. Our stay was quiet and peaceful. The deluxe continental breakfast provided us a quick start for our day on the beach. Only down side would be there were no restaurants within walking distance but found many within a short drive.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lincolnls1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

We stayed here 2nd week of June and had a wonderful time. Picked this hotel because of all the good reviews and was very pleased. We were in 2nd floor main building facing ocean, loved that you came right out back to the the gazebo and onto the beach. We had a quiet week, not too busy in the season yet. Rooms were always cleaned every day with fresh towels. They have indoor and outdoor pools which were nice. Had continental breakfast which was fine, some days too crowded to eat, so we just went out for breakfast. Not a big deal. We would recommend this motel to anyone, couples or families. Word of advice, the main building with 2 floors has stairs only, which was not a problem for us, but if a problem, I hear the tower buildings had elevators. They do tell you in advance about the stairs.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galluvswarmweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

This hotel was great. It had an outdoor and indoor pool and was oceanfront. Convenient to Hwy 158 and all the local restaurants. It is within 15 minutes to the Wright Brothers Memorial and Jockey's Ridge. It was within 45 minutes to the Currituck Lighthouse. This was the last stop on our lighthouse tour of the Outer Banks. This hotel was great for the budgeting family. We had a very nice breakfast area and free breakfast. We had everything from waffles, english muffins, pastries, and muffins. The staff was very helpful. The rooms were clean. We had a few noisy patrons, but after 10pm everything was quiet. We were also in the hotel when it was booked and service was never an issue. If we wanted something, we got it. The access to the beach was oceanfront with outdoor showers to wash the sand off of you and your beach toys. There is a fitness center. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familyfunvacation101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

Loved this hotel! This hotel was VERY CLEAN!! The rooms were roomy! The staff was very accommodating to our large group! They went above and beyond! Oceanfront rooms with a great view! Would highly recommend to all!

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennwcdc24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
837 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shutters On the Banks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters On the Banks

Property: Shutters On the Banks
Address: 405 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shutters On the Banks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront location, each room is equipped with two queen beds or one king and a sleep sofa and include a refrigerator,in-room phone, TV with HBO, AM-FM radio and highspeed internet. All efficiencies are equipped with full kitchens. We also have a limited number of King Studio Suites available. Complimentary continental breakfast. complimentary passes to the YMCA. Newly renovated rooms and efficiencies for 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Shutters On the Banks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Banks Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Colony Iv
Shutters On The Banks Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing