We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Stay !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shutters On the Banks
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Recently I stayed at the Colony IV with my sister-in-law and brother-in-law and found it quite enjoyable. The double bed room had ample space and a good location for the price. We were pool side and found this location great for our 3 day stay. Hotel employees were friendly and very helpful. Our stay was quiet and peaceful. The deluxe continental breakfast provided us a quick start for our day on the beach. Only down side would be there were no restaurants within walking distance but found many within a short drive.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lincolnls1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,024)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

861 - 867 of 1,024 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2010

We stayed here 2nd week of June and had a wonderful time. Picked this hotel because of all the good reviews and was very pleased. We were in 2nd floor main building facing ocean, loved that you came right out back to the the gazebo and onto the beach. We had a quiet week, not too busy in the season yet. Rooms were always cleaned every day with fresh towels. They have indoor and outdoor pools which were nice. Had continental breakfast which was fine, some days too crowded to eat, so we just went out for breakfast. Not a big deal. We would recommend this motel to anyone, couples or families. Word of advice, the main building with 2 floors has stairs only, which was not a problem for us, but if a problem, I hear the tower buildings had elevators. They do tell you in advance about the stairs.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galluvswarmweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

This hotel was great. It had an outdoor and indoor pool and was oceanfront. Convenient to Hwy 158 and all the local restaurants. It is within 15 minutes to the Wright Brothers Memorial and Jockey's Ridge. It was within 45 minutes to the Currituck Lighthouse. This was the last stop on our lighthouse tour of the Outer Banks. This hotel was great for the budgeting family. We had a very nice breakfast area and free breakfast. We had everything from waffles, english muffins, pastries, and muffins. The staff was very helpful. The rooms were clean. We had a few noisy patrons, but after 10pm everything was quiet. We were also in the hotel when it was booked and service was never an issue. If we wanted something, we got it. The access to the beach was oceanfront with outdoor showers to wash the sand off of you and your beach toys. There is a fitness center. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Familyfunvacation101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

Loved this hotel! This hotel was VERY CLEAN!! The rooms were roomy! The staff was very accommodating to our large group! They went above and beyond! Oceanfront rooms with a great view! Would highly recommend to all!

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennwcdc24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

The 3rd floor tower room had a great view, loved the balcony, picture perfect with the gazebo and 180 ocean view. Just a short walk to the beach from the room. We loved the indoor and outdoor pools. Some days it was too windy/cool to go to the beach so the pool option was great ! We were also glad to have an elevator after a long day of sightseeing. The deluxe continental breakfast was really nice. The front desk staff was awesome..very knowledgeable and friendly. Trish one of the the front desk managers found out it was my bday while I was there and she posted a happy bday greeting on the hotel sign ! Colony is centrally located between Nags head and Kitty Hawk. All sightseeing you can do in a week is right there from Corolla to Ocracoke. Very cool vacation place !!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boatchick17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

Clean rooms good location upstairs neighbors were very loud stayed awake most nights reported it but it continued running kids I guess thought they were going to fall through the ceiling, never stay on bottom floor!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OBXEXIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2010

I stayed in Room 214 alone for two nights over a weekend for a wedding being held a mile up the road. The room was much more accommodating than I expected; brand new appliances, nice furniture, granite counters, Bath & Body Works items for the bathroom.

I agree with other reviewers that the room was musty... pretty high humidity for a room with an A/C blowing nonstop. My clothes felt damp.

Also agree that the walls are so darn thin you can hear everything. But as a light sleeper I come fully equipped with earplugs and a white noise machine I take on trips for those very reasons.

The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. I never did have the breakfast; just got McDonald's each day.

My room was odd though... the window faces a wall, but all along another wall of the room they could have put a balcony because you can see the ocean on that side. Why they didn't do that and enable themselves to get more $ for the room I don't know.

The pools looked nice but I never did get in them. The parking lot was clean and well-lit.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitneywh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
909 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#3 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
942 reviews
1 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
496 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shutters On the Banks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters On the Banks

Address: 405 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7898 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: $74 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shutters On the Banks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront location, each room is equipped with two queen beds or one king and a sleep sofa and include a refrigerator,in-room phone, TV with HBO, AM-FM radio and highspeed internet. All efficiencies are equipped with full kitchens. We also have a limited number of King Studio Suites available. Complimentary continental breakfast. complimentary passes to the YMCA. Newly renovated rooms and efficiencies for 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shutters On the Banks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Banks Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Colony Iv
Shutters On The Banks Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing