We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely go back again !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shutters On the Banks
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Fox Lake, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Definitely go back again !”
Reviewed June 21, 2010

The 3rd floor tower room had a great view, loved the balcony, picture perfect with the gazebo and 180 ocean view. Just a short walk to the beach from the room. We loved the indoor and outdoor pools. Some days it was too windy/cool to go to the beach so the pool option was great ! We were also glad to have an elevator after a long day of sightseeing. The deluxe continental breakfast was really nice. The front desk staff was awesome..very knowledgeable and friendly. Trish one of the the front desk managers found out it was my bday while I was there and she posted a happy bday greeting on the hotel sign ! Colony is centrally located between Nags head and Kitty Hawk. All sightseeing you can do in a week is right there from Corolla to Ocracoke. Very cool vacation place !!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boatchick17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    337
    116
    43
    19
See reviews for
428
352
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2010

Clean rooms good location upstairs neighbors were very loud stayed awake most nights reported it but it continued running kids I guess thought they were going to fall through the ceiling, never stay on bottom floor!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OBXEXIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitneywh
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2010

I stayed in Room 214 alone for two nights over a weekend for a wedding being held a mile up the road. The room was much more accommodating than I expected; brand new appliances, nice furniture, granite counters, Bath & Body Works items for the bathroom.

I agree with other reviewers that the room was musty... pretty high humidity for a room with an A/C blowing nonstop. My clothes felt damp.

Also agree that the walls are so darn thin you can hear everything. But as a light sleeper I come fully equipped with earplugs and a white noise machine I take on trips for those very reasons.

The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. I never did have the breakfast; just got McDonald's each day.

My room was odd though... the window faces a wall, but all along another wall of the room they could have put a balcony because you can see the ocean on that side. Why they didn't do that and enable themselves to get more $ for the room I don't know.

The pools looked nice but I never did get in them. The parking lot was clean and well-lit.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitneywh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2010

Don't usually frequent motels for the security aspect alone, however our choices in KDH were limited and we were pleasantly surprised with our room. Traveling with two children, we had a large room with a door that opened to a small balcony with a limited view of the Atlantic. Nothing too fancy, but exceptionally clean and comfortable room. Tube type tv (getting now where it's novelty to find these). Bathroom is a little cramped with door swinging inward (impossible to open from a "seated" position, but offers the advantage of a "steam" shower, if you desire. Best customer service experience in an independently owned setting. Breakfast is standard fare, dry cereal, bagels, juice and coffee. Crowded at breakfast, but there is McDonald's, Burger King right down the road as well. Pool was warm and Hot tub was hot. Water in shower was hot as well. Would definitely recommend and go back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alaxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2010

Went there with family in late March and stayed in 3 rooms. Very curteous check-in staff. They actually upgraded our rooms at no additional cost so that we could have adjoining rooms rather than rooms far apart. We were all very pleased with the beachfront location. The indoor pool was nice (ocean in March is way too cold to swim in without a wetsuit), but actually a little too warm. The breakfast is a typical continental breakfast--nothing more, nothing less. Overall, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldsjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2010

First, you have to accept this place for what it is: an old beach motel. Even then, it has some issues that need to be addressed.

We arrived early and the kind front desk worker let us check in early. We entered a dated, dark room that smelled of a blend of cigarette smoke and mildew. The AC seemed to make the smell worse because when I turned it on, I was blasted w/ that smell. Resorting to the bathroom fan to help clear the air brought a sound of a jet engine into the equation.

Sound is the biggest problem with this motel. The walls and doors are paper thin and you hear everything that happens with your neighbors and even those walking outside your room. Make sure you get a second floor room because I saw an older woman complaining to the front desk about people talking in the parking lot, slamming car doors and people jumping in the room above hers. Obviously, she had a first floor room.

Contintental breakfast was a nice idea but poorly executed. The food selection was minimal with nothing other bread based foods (muffins, formerly frozen waffles, bagels). The lack of seating was the biggest problem as they do not allow you to remove food from the hot, small room where you have to eat.

With such a low rate, I did not expect a luxury hotel. However, I do expect a room where I can get a good night's sleep and not have to wash the clothes I didn't wear when I got home because of the odor the clothes absorbed. Despite it's great location, I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grhokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for four nights during part of our Spring Break. We have stayed here many times in the past because it is a reasonable price for a basic, but clean, motel. We return twice each year because we know what other places expect and offer. This is a good deal if you know what to expect. The office staff is always kind, and our reservations have always been as expected. The breakfast is a continental breakfast as I would expect it to be. We bring a cooler of other food. Part of our vacation is planning on eating out. Why else be tourists in a down economy? The bathroom is tiled and the sink top, though rather small for applying makeup or brushing teeth, is granite. We have stayed in the tower and the main part. The smell is musty in the main part, so bring a relaxing scent, but the tower rooms are fresh. Fresh towels and clean rooms each day make for a relaxing return from a day at the beach or shopping or enjoying the locale. The pathway to the beach is a boardwalk with a nice gazebo for taking night pictures or waving to fellow friends back at home on the webcam stationed at the corner of the tower.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ForeverOBX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
863 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#3 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
889 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
1.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shutters On the Banks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters On the Banks

Property: Shutters On the Banks
Address: 405 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shutters On the Banks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront location, each room is equipped with two queen beds or one king and a sleep sofa and include a refrigerator,in-room phone, TV with HBO, AM-FM radio and highspeed internet. All efficiencies are equipped with full kitchens. We also have a limited number of King Studio Suites available. Complimentary continental breakfast. complimentary passes to the YMCA. Newly renovated rooms and efficiencies for 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Shutters On the Banks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Banks Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Colony Iv
Shutters On The Banks Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing