We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colony IV- Good Location For The $$”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shutters On the Banks
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Providence Forge, Virginia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Colony IV- Good Location For The $$”
Reviewed September 14, 2008

We stayed here Labor Day weekend and it was fine for what we needed. We usually stay at B & B's, but we wanted to stay a little closer to the action.
The hotel is typical, but it is located on the beach. Room was clean, taken care of the next day by the cleaning staff in a good manner, they have their own gazebo on the beach which we enjoyed, the beach area in front was small due to erosion and hopefully the town can get it back to normal.
The breakfast is your standard contiental but we only ate there one morning and opted for a heariter breakfast somewhere else.
All in all, the stay was fine, no problems and we would stay there again.

  • Liked — On the beach, nice gazebo overlooking the beach
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NeedtoseeTheKeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    330
    114
    43
    18
See reviews for
417
346
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2008

I booked this hotel over the phone 3 days before we were supposed to arrive. The clerk was very friendly and helpful, also warned me the first floor room didn't have an ocean view. The room was very clean, nicely furnished, and well stocked. Even my 19 year old son liked the room. The rates were less than some of the big chains on the island. The breakfast was a nice addition, although the seating area could be a little larger. The only other inconvenience was the pool closed at 9pm. It would have been nice for the indoor pool to be open later.

  • Liked — The walkway to the beach with the gazebo
  • Disliked — The size of the breakfast room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank spartanmom2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tonawanda, NY
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2008

Our family of 5 has stayed at the hotel several times now, the first time was right after the big hurricane came through and they had remodeled. We choose this hotel because of the oceanfront room, newer furnishings and pools. We like that whenever we come, usually in early Spring, both pools are heated. You do not get that very often. Coming from Western New York and usually snow, that is much appreciated. The rates for oceanfront are reasonable, love the Bath and Body works shampoo and soaps, love the breakfast but the room is too small with not enough tables. If somehow they could expand that area that would be great. Seems like some wasted space in the lobby or in the fireplace/reading room could be utilized for additional breakfast seating. Love the all day coffee!

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — not enough seating in breafast area
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank OBXluvrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2008

I wasn't sure what to expect as some of the reviews were not very positive. Perhaps it really depends where your room is. I really liked this place, especially for a hotel in a beach town (I have stayed at worse for higher price). We were on the third floor (out of four), so we had a view over the water which was absolutely beautiful. I think if you were on the second floor, and definitely the first, you may be blocked by a sand dune. The room was clean and bright and we had no problems whatsoever. The breakfast was decent.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend it.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcd63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoVA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2008

Our week-long stay at the Colony IV By The Sea was well worth the money. We checked prices at several larger websites (and called around to check rates), and Colony By The Sea was cheaper than most of the nicer hotels in the area. We stayed in the tower on the first floor, so we had a view of the dunes and a very short walk to the beach. Our room was clean, including the minor details in the bathroom. The sheets were clean, the pillows were nice, and the towels were soft and thick. The pools (indoor and outdoor) were very clean and well-kept. We had a minor issue during our second night (the toilet broke, it happens!) and the hotel was completely booked. The front desk staff contacted a repairman and he had our toilet tank repaired in less than an hour. I mention the incident because I believe that customer service can be best observed when things go wrong. A broken toilet at 11 pm is a great opportunity for customer service, and we were impressed at how swiftly and courteously the situation was handled.

The hotel's appearance is very well-kept and clean as well, and it seems like the staff was constantly mopping or cleaning something. The only thing that I will mention is that the "deluxe" continental breakfast is not that "deluxe". It is buffet style, eggo-style waffles, bagels, muffins, cereal and some danishes. It is prepared in a neat, well-kept area, but it is not deluxe. Personally, it didn't bother me a bit. I'll gladly eat my eggo waffle if it means that I get a clean hotel room at a great price.

Also of note, this hotel is very close to the major attractions on the island. It's close to the Wright Brothers Memorial (4.5 miles north) and Jockey's Ridge (3.5 miles south). Also less than a half an hour from Manteo (Lost Colony, Festival Park, Aquarium, etc).

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank abbycadabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2008

We were repeat customers August 2008. The property is clean and conveniently located. I was especially impressed with the upkeep of the pools and hot tub. I am a certified pool keeper myself and a bit of a pool snob. Colony IV does a great job with theirs. Also found the selection of 4 free movie channels in the room a great improvement over last year!

  • Liked — Clean facilities, friendly service, well-managed
  • Disliked — Rooms (and bathrooms in particular) are a bit small
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Daddyman_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lapeer, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2008

We stayed at the Colony IV from 07/27 to 8/01. We were pleased with our choice. When I booked the room with the property, I was forewarned that the first level tower room had a view of the dunes. There were two chairs to sit in on the private patio (concrete wall to separate patio space and then a walking area to the beach access). The room was spacious and had two queens and a nice chair with ottoman. My daughter (10 years old) decided she wanted to sleep in the chair. The bathroom space (bathtub and toilet) is very small, maybe an inch clearance between toilet and door. The vanity was outside of the bathroom, a big plus.
The pools and spa were very nice. Most of the time spent in these areas, we were the only ones there. They definitely need more tables in the breakfast area. We ended up taking it back to the patio area of our room. Yes, I know that was against the rules, but there are only four to five tables. The front desk people are helpful and pleasant. The room was very clean. We saw quite a few people working on the garden area, pool areas, sweeping walkways and other areas of the hotel. Our room was quiet. We did not hear any of the other rooms. We did hear the band at the house next to the tower (only one night), but it was nice to be able to sit out on the patio and enjoy the free music. Also, the house had fireworks the next night at 9:30 p.m. All in all, a pleasant stay and I would recommend staying in the tower at Colony IV.

  • Liked — cleaniness
  • Disliked — lack of breakfast room sitting
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lastminutetraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
835 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
18.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shutters On the Banks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters On the Banks

Property: Shutters On the Banks
Address: 405 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shutters On the Banks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront location, each room is equipped with two queen beds or one king and a sleep sofa and include a refrigerator,in-room phone, TV with HBO, AM-FM radio and highspeed internet. All efficiencies are equipped with full kitchens. We also have a limited number of King Studio Suites available. Complimentary continental breakfast. complimentary passes to the YMCA. Newly renovated rooms and efficiencies for 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Shutters On the Banks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Banks Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Colony Iv
Shutters On The Banks Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing