We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shutters On the Banks
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Topton, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value and location.”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here 3 nights during our first trip to the Outer Banks in early October 2012. After much research on Tripadvisor we chose "Shutters" and were very glad we did. For a seashore accommodation, the room was nice, clean and comfortable, and the rate was reasonable compared to other places in the area, some of which looked shabby compared to Shutters. I had recently recovered from a broken ankle and was pleased that the booking staff put us on the first floor of the tower building right next to the pathway to the Gazebo making it easy for me to access the Gazebo and enjoy the views on the beach with a minimum amount of walking.. We enjoyed the breakfast in the attractive and clean breakfast room each day -- choices were limited but definitely sufficient, tasty and fresh.
Front desk staff were very helpful in recommending and giving directions to excellent local eateries for dinner. We had originally only made a one night reservation and planned to travel farther south for the other two nights, but we liked this place so much we decided to extend our stay and use this as a central location for day trips north and south along the coast.
If we decide to vacation along the Outer Banks in the future,we would definitely consider staying at Shutters again, but I would opt for the more expensive rooms in the tower so we'd have a beach view from the room. We didn't get to use the pool while we were there but it looked very inviting. The only thing I think people should be aware of is the heaviness of the entry doors to the rooms. If you're not very strong and you have a big suitcase, it's a bit of a struggle to get it inside without the door closing on you, and when neighboring patrons let their doors slam you can definitely hear it. Overall, though, we definitely recommend this beach located hotel. .

Room Tip: Upper floors in the tower building have wonderful views of the beach but are more expensive.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    333
    114
    43
    19
See reviews for
421
349
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Not bad for the price. They need more seating for their continental breakfast. Need to remodel. I think the lobby looks nice but they need to carry that into the rooms. The do have an excellent free breakfast everyday. They just need more room to eat it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scbrave22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suamico, Wisconsin, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We searched hard for the right place to stay on our extended motorcycle trip from Wisconsin. We picked this hotel based on price and location plus the TripAdvisor reviews we saw. We were not disappointed. The rooms are very nice and extremely clean. The location is right on the beach with a terrific pavillion for drinks in the evening. The breakfasts were very good. The clerk who checked us in was terrific and went out of her way to make sure we were happy. There was another one the next evening who couldn't care less. Hope you get the one who checked us in! This place is a nugget for value in a very overpriced (law of supply and demand in the summer) area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building which doesn't have a view of the water but which was much less ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore, md
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

While this wasn't the most amazing hotel ever (very, very far from it), this hotel was on the beach--really on the beach-- not a million dollars, and actually quiet during late night quiet hours so families could get some sleep. Free breakfast is always good, even if not amazing--saves you from having to trek out somewhere. And who wants a huge breakfast before a day of lazing around on the beach anyway?

Room Tip: Careful of any room on the first floor with a park/pool room. It's cheaper and still available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baltimorebuttercup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The location is great, literally steps away from the beach. However, overall, it was overpriced for what you get. Initially they charged me $100 more for the stay than the rate I had booked, which they corrected once i complained the following day. The rooms were basic motel quality. Mine was more or less clean but I saw staff out with bug spray for lower level rooms, which seems like a frequent complaint. Probably advisable to spring for an ocean view room if you're thinking of staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ear464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harleygirl64
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I love the Outer Banks of NC. With that being said, it is NOT Myrtle Beach. The pace is slower. The people seem friendlier but many things are worn down and weathered. There were numerous businesses falling in and abandoned this trip. possibly from the last hurricane. The one reliable for us is this hotel. The rooms are always clean and the staff is always accommodating and friendly.

They have an indoor heated pool that was a tad on the chilly side but felt wonderful since it rained EVERY day we were there. There is an outdoor pool that received a lot of visits since the ocean was frigid. The continental breakfast was perfect for us with waffles, fruit, donuts, coffee all the time and cereals. You have to be on a very high floor to get a true ocean view because the hotel must be sheltered behind the dunes for protection.

They have a gazebo that is lovely for sitting and reading or looking at the sea. It is conveniently located with several stores and restaurants within walking distance you can even see the Wright Brothers Memorial from the parking lot! The rooms do need a facelift with the linens and it needs some paint on the sidewalks but it is still a great place to stay. We have stayed here many times and hope to return again soon.

Room Tip: The rooms with an ocean view are in the newer tower and on the highest floor since the hotel is situ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harleygirl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Made a reservation in late February for a fourth floor room in tower two with an ocean view for a weekend in late June. Upon arrival I was given a second floor "dune view" room key. Despite having a reservation for four months in advance, there were no rooms available and I was originally charged the full amount for a fourth floor room. I took the room and was told that I could move to the fourth floor the next day. Not long after getting into my now second floor room I received a call and was told that for my inconvenience that they would give me a discount. This was basically the difference in room price for the first night.

The next day I was driving around visiting the tourist areas around the area (was on a weekend vacation) and received a call, after they called my parents house for some reason, wanting to know why I hadn't checked out yet and was wanting me to drive back (over an hour drive) and check out of one room and later come back and check into the other. I told them to forget it, that I would stay in the room I was in just to avoid all of the extra trouble. When I got back my key cards didn't work so I had to go get another one set up. Upon leaving and wanting to know if I had over paid for my room (I did despite being told on the first day that I hadn't) I had to wait for the staff to try to figure out what had been refunded and what had been charged and recharged. In the end they owed me over $50 and I can say the best part of this weekend vacation was leaving this place. The entire ordeal pretty much ruined my weekend.

I stayed here 2 years ago and had no complaints aside from the tiny bathroom where the door actually makes contact with the toilet. I saw another commenter complaining of a large cock roach inside their room and I almost had the same issue with one just outside of my room. While in the office checking out, someone called wanting someone to remove a "large spider" from their room.

But all of my troubles could've easily been avoided if they could've competently performed the most basic function of a hotel, taking and keeping a reservation. I'm not the kind of person that would ask for a discount over such things, and I didn't, but it's surprising that one wasn't even offered outside of one that was used as a veil for a typical refund, or anything else for that matter. I didn't even get so much as an apology on my way out. There are plenty of other hotels on the beaches of OBX. If you're looking for even the most basic customer service you may want to find somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank K-Dero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MKellySmith, Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
I am very sorry to read your comment, I am glad that you have taken the time to give us the feedback that you have. If you would call the hotel directly I would like to speak to you regarding your stay and your dissatisfaction. I can be reached at 252-441-5518.

Again thank you for your feedback it will only be able to prevent issues like this from happening again.

Sincerely,

M. Kelly Smith
Manager
Shutters on The Banks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
857 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
855 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,214 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shutters On the Banks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters On the Banks

Property: Shutters On the Banks
Address: 405 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shutters On the Banks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront location, each room is equipped with two queen beds or one king and a sleep sofa and include a refrigerator,in-room phone, TV with HBO, AM-FM radio and highspeed internet. All efficiencies are equipped with full kitchens. We also have a limited number of King Studio Suites available. Complimentary continental breakfast. complimentary passes to the YMCA. Newly renovated rooms and efficiencies for 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shutters On the Banks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Banks Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Colony Iv
Shutters On The Banks Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing