We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, not-so-great rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shutters On the Banks
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great location, not-so-great rooms”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend in early September. We chose it because of the location, and the indoor pool. It had been promoted as a bed and breakfast, but was just an old hotel (formerly the Colony IV) which has been partly renovated, with a continental breakfast. Coffee & tea are available 24/7. The room had a strong smell of room freshener, and our luggage and all clothing had this smell by the time we left. The beds were not very comfortable, and the room (2 queens) did not have a chair or anywhere to sit besides the beds. We were in the main building, behind the check-in area. The lobby is really nice, and has a nice room with comfortable furniture and a fireplace, where we spent a lot of time sitting and reading in the evenings. They also have a great gazebo with a sea view, which was very enjoyable. We actually ended up not using the pool or hot tub, though they looked nice and clean. We probably will not stay here again, although other reviewers say the "tower rooms" are nicer and that might be worth a try, because the price is right.

Room Tip: Avoid the main building, stay in the Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nice_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your review. I would appreciate knowing where you saw us promoted as a bed and breakfast so I can get that corrected, my direct email is tom@shuttersonthebanks.com. The tower rooms are larger and the private balcony makes it more enjoyable if you plan on spending a of time in the room. We are replacing the bedding over the winter so I hope you will give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    325
    113
    42
    18
See reviews for
403
342
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Haledon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I had a great stay this week at this hotel. The room we had was clean, roomy and spacious. Our room had a balcony facing the beach. We could see dolphins in the ocean! The staff was friendly and accommodating. The bathroom was a bit on the small side. The beach was accessible from right behind the hotel. Breakfast was served daily, nothing exciting, bagels, muffins, cereal, etc. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "tower" area on the 4th floor, the balcony faced the ocean. This is a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinB328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a wonderful visit to the outer banks. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stayed one night (only one night planned) and was not impressed.When I arrived the sign with the hotel name had been removed and made it hard to identify. My room was not ready ,no problem, the lady at the counter said she would call me when it was ready. No call. When I came back a couple of hours later it was ready. The hotel has excellent beach access with showers to rinse off the sand. The room and building were in need of a little updating. My room was by the pool and the walls are very thin. I could hear conversations at normal speaking levels. The room was clean and tidy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry about the mix-up and your not getting a call when your room was ready.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We just returned from staying two nights at this cozy hotel. The beach access was just what my husband and I wanted. The room was nice with the amenities we needed. The only downside was the bathroom area is a little tight, but really not a problem with only two people in a room. The continental breakfast was typical. I would definitely return here in the future.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank buckeyeblazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thanks for the review, we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
va
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in August. Had a parking lot double room on the first floor. Nice and clean with bath& body works toiletries. Breakfast was the usual carbs plus hard boiled eggs. Ok for me since I'm not a big breakfast eater. The only negative thing I can say is there must have been a very large person staying on the floor above us because we could hear him stomping around at night. Thankfully he did not stay up late.
The staff was wonderful and eager to please. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thanks for the review, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I spent a lot of time trying to find a place to stay at the OBX. I decided to go with Shutters because of the reviews and mainly because they said they had a heated pool. Good things: Staff is friendly, very close to the beach and the cont breakfast was just enough to start the morning. Bad: I got to OBX early and asked if my room was ready. They took my number and said they would call me. Never called and room was ready at 3:55. No biggie. The heated pool did not feel heated to me at all. The code to get into the swimming pool was nothing but a hassle. Tried to call front desk 4 times but no answer. So I had to walk to the office to be told, "it should work". Well it didnt. And when I was checking out, the people in front of me was voicing the same concern. If its a constant problem why hasnt it been fixed. And one day I tried again and I was told the code changed, but was never told. Got woken up one morning at 7am to a kid screaming in the hallway. Its an ok place, would i return????? Not to sure!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annarebecca107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thanks for the review. I am sorry we did not live up to your expectations. New pool door locks were installed in August and have required service once since then, I am not sure if that was before or after your visit. We hope you will consider a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We have always loved staying here! This was our 5th year staying at (formerly Colony IV by the sea) Shutters on the Banks. We arrive on Labor Day afternoon and we always get a tower room.
We've been lucky and have been able to stay on the 4th floor looking over the ocean. As soon as we walk in they are very friendly and will do what they can for you.
They had, had a lot of people checking out that day so our room wasn't ready yet. No problem! We went and gassed up and rode around and when we got back the room was just about ready. We unloaded and had help with taking the luggage carrier up the elevator and to the room.
The office staff to the house keeping staff are very friendly! Love the new upgrades!
Breakfast is just enough for us as we like to get out on the beach early. Love having the Port of Call across the street. This is one of our first night places we walk over too and enjoy the bar.
We had great weather except a little rain storm on Thurs afternoon but didn't last long.
Looking out over the ocean and seeing the sunrise is a must. Or just getting up and walking the beach is very relaxing.
Meet a lot of nice vacationers while we were there.
Thank you and see you next year! :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for the review and your return visits to Shutters. See you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
0.1 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shutters On the Banks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters On the Banks

Property: Shutters On the Banks
Address: 405 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shutters On the Banks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront location, each room is equipped with two queen beds or one king and a sleep sofa and include a refrigerator,in-room phone, TV with HBO, AM-FM radio and highspeed internet. All efficiencies are equipped with full kitchens. We also have a limited number of King Studio Suites available. Complimentary continental breakfast. complimentary passes to the YMCA. Newly renovated rooms and efficiencies for 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Shutters On the Banks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Banks Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Colony Iv
Shutters On The Banks Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing