We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay As Always”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shutters On the Banks
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Newport News, VA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Stay As Always”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We always go to Shutters when we visit the OBX. The staff is always polite, friendly and helpful. This visit was no exception. I had trouble finding a vacancy anywhere for this particular reason, but luckily one opened up at Shutters last minute. Our room was comfy, clean & ocean front which was awesome. You can't beat the price either. :-) Definately give them a shot!

Room Tip: Choose the tower room, in an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emily51402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theggie, Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Thanks for your kind words and vote of confidence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    337
    116
    43
    19
See reviews for
428
352
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
McDermott, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

My wife and I just left Shutters on the Banks yesterday where we spent the 13th through the 18th on our honeymoon. I was the one who booked the room and the reason I chose shutters was researching reviews on all the hotels in the area and comparing the details. Shutters reviews were all very good so I decided to go with them. The first night we spent there was enough to make me a life long Shutters fan! They put on their main sign "Congratulations Mr. and Mrs. Green" which made my wife thrilled and made me feel special too. The staff is fantastic, always smiling and always ready to help you in whatever way they can. The rooms are super clean! Most hotels you have to keep your shoes on when walking inside the rooms to keep from getting your socks to turn black from dirt but with Shutters you didn't have to worry. The hotel maids cleaned the rooms daily and by clean I mean clean. They scrubbed the bathtub every day, changed the sheets daily, vacuumed daily, washed the coffee pot daily and replaced all the toiletries daily that the hotel provides... trust me, I checked every day! We stayed on the 2nd level and still had a good view of the ocean over the dunes. If you prefer the whole view of the ocean I would recommend getting a higher level room but either way I assure you that you will not leave Shutters with disappointment of staying there but with disappointment of leaving there!

Room Tip: Ocean front with private balcony is the way to go! On the second level you can see the ocean over th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theggie, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Thanks for that wonderful review and congratulations on your marriage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

Like the last few reviews this place is a hidden hotel that most people don't know about. It's great value, location and views are amazing especially on the 4th floor of the tower. We got there early about 3pm and they checked us in right away no problems as our room was read. The staff was very friendly every time we talked to them. It was an excellent stay and I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone and would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cck02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theggie, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Thanks, we look forward to your return visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

This is one of the best hotels on the beach. Only steps away from the ocean! Our room was very clean. We booked a room with a kitchen and the fridge and kitchen area was spotless. Clean, updated, fresh looking hotel rooms. The staff is very helpful and friendly.

No complaints. Great value...they could get away with charging more!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank englandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, VA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I agree with a prior review that I almost hate to give away my secret about this GREAT hotel! My wife, Mother, Father and myself arrived on Saturday morning well in advance of the scheduled check in time of 4pm. We were greeted at the front counter by two very nice staff members who told us we could change into our suits in any of their available restrooms and take full advantage of the property's amenities. The staff at the desk even told us if we returned to check with them around 1pm that the room should be ready. So we made our way to the beach after a quick change and enjoyed our day. We checked back with the desk around 2pm and were happy to find out our rooms were ready for check in. We were given the keys to room #435 (king bed) and room #434 (2 queens). All rooms were on the top floor at the northern most part of the building and offered a GREAT view of the ocean and the beach. I can't recommend this hotel enough to anyone for a weekend trip or maybe even longer. There is probably no better deal on the beach and we will be returning for years to come.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor offer the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OBXtoSXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theggie, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Thanks for spending Mother's Day with us and for the great review. We don't mind you sharing the Shutters secret so please continue to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Clean, good prices, friendly staff. Unlike most affordable beach hotels, it isn't moldy smelling or loud. Staff are really friendly, too.

Room Tip: Worth it to pay a bit more for the beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjsweitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Weekend get away. Searched all OBX locations and this offered best value. We were totally satisfied.

Room Tip: Room 217 had an ocean view at no extra charge. Checking was easy and friendly. Beach access is outst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valorentz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
863 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#3 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
889 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
1.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shutters On the Banks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters On the Banks

Property: Shutters On the Banks
Address: 405 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shutters On the Banks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront location, each room is equipped with two queen beds or one king and a sleep sofa and include a refrigerator,in-room phone, TV with HBO, AM-FM radio and highspeed internet. All efficiencies are equipped with full kitchens. We also have a limited number of King Studio Suites available. Complimentary continental breakfast. complimentary passes to the YMCA. Newly renovated rooms and efficiencies for 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Shutters On the Banks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Banks Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Colony Iv
Shutters On The Banks Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing