We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shutters On the Banks
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
VA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice motel”
Reviewed September 27, 2007

We just stayed at Colony IV this past weekend. The motel is very clean with great customer service. I debated a bit about whether to rate it a 3 or 4 but decided on a 3. The rooms were very nice and clean with plenty of towels, lotions, soaps ect.. The breakfast was average-muffins,cereal, toaster waffles, and bagels. The seating in the breakfast area is limited yet there are signs up requesting you don't take breakfast to your room. ( a little frustrating when there isn't a place to sit with a 6 yr old). The pool was nice outside, a liitle chilly, but nice when the sun is hot. The inside pool was COLD and appeared a liitle cloudy. I asked if the inside pool could be a little warmer our first day there but no change on day 2. Because we really like to spend some down time at the pool with our little girl, it really puts a kink in the fun when the inside pool is that cold. There is a hot tub in the inside pool area that is nice.

The motel is on the beach with well maintained walkways that have outside showers.

I would stay at Colony IV again, but would check out some other places first.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TBaby1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    333
    114
    43
    19
See reviews for
421
349
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2007

Stayed here for 2 nights August 31st and September 1st.

Nice updated accomodations. great value, will not dissapoint. Only problem was that the "gym" was not really a "gym" - 1 treadmill that was not working and an eliptical. Pool not on the beach, it's between buildings.

  • Liked — Location, price and updates
  • Disliked — Basic services ie not wifi, no extras
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Phillagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2007

We went for a long weekend stay just recently and was a little concerned that a lot of the reviews from the hotels in the Nags Head area were very average to say the least, even for the hotel that we stayed at last year. So I was quite relieved to find this hotel with great reviews. I was a little dubious as another hotel we stayed at recently in another state was absolutely filthy and with a little one you have to be a little more cautious. I'm glad to say that everything written in the previous reviews are spot on. We arrived at 1:00am and found the staff very friendly and welcoming, which is really nice when you are exhausted. The room was very clean with 2 very comfortable queen size beds and the price was very affordable. We stayed on the ground floor in the 'tower' building so our room did not have a balcony but you could walk right out the back door onto the path to the beach. We and our little boy loved it there. Will definitely be returning to this hotel next year.

  • Liked — customer service & cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Luv2travel025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye Brook, New York
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2007

Colony IV was an okay hotel with a great location. The room was just steps from the beach, and there was a small pool, so the kids had a blast between the two.

The room was sufficient-- clean and maintained, but not luxurious. The breakfast was unimpressive, and there is practically no seating, so that was a bit logistically complicated.

There aren't too many good hotel options in the area (at least according to other Trip Advisor reviews), so we would probably stay there again because it met all our basic needs and the convenience of staying on the beach is priceless.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank robyn14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2007

As others have stated, this motel was updated and very clean. Our room had two queen beds, with a table for four. Also, fridge and microwave, which is nice for libations and snacks for the beach. The bathroom was fine and the shower worked great. We will definitely stay here again. The motel is located right on the beach with a lifeguard nearby. The continental breakfast was fine and typical of what you see everywhere these days: pastries, bagels, waffles, fruit, cereal and coffee. I scored it a "5" because it is a "5" for this type of motel - a little older, but nicely updated and lovingly maintained!

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — We didn't have a king bed
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DanieJo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2007

My family and I made a quick 2 day trip to the OBX and we stayed at the Colony IV...we loved it. The rooms were very clean and spacious and the staff was very friendly. We stayed in the tower building on the 1st floor, we had our own little sitting area ourside our back door that led right out the walk to the beach. It was great and even though we didn't stay long...we found the perfect place!!!!

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Continental Breakfast
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank hatteras4806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2007

Stayed at the Colony IV for a few days in August 2007. Very nice experience overall. Very clean and well maintained facility, close to all amenities. Very good continental breakfast, pool facilities, and very nice access area to the beach (that includes dunes, gazebo for relaxation). The beach was excellent with good surf for body surfing. Local attractions I strongly recommend include the Wright Brothers monument and museum, and Jockey's Ridge park, where you can scale enormous sand hills and visit their information centre. Finally I must comment on the very pleasant staff at the Hotel -- they went out of their way to ensure guests needs were addressed. Pleased to answer questions at ejodoin2@cogeco.ca

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chucky2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
857 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
857 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,214 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shutters On the Banks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters On the Banks

Property: Shutters On the Banks
Address: 405 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shutters On the Banks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront location, each room is equipped with two queen beds or one king and a sleep sofa and include a refrigerator,in-room phone, TV with HBO, AM-FM radio and highspeed internet. All efficiencies are equipped with full kitchens. We also have a limited number of King Studio Suites available. Complimentary continental breakfast. complimentary passes to the YMCA. Newly renovated rooms and efficiencies for 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shutters On the Banks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Banks Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Colony Iv
Shutters On The Banks Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing