We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun with friends”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gladys, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Fun with friends”
Reviewed March 27, 2010

I enjoyed this hotel that was practically on the beach! Great pool, relaxing hot tub, NICE suites and some even have a decent view. Decently priced!

Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Starenska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    271
    93
    40
    35
See reviews for
365
284
29
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2010

always get room on beach level. great prices. kitchen saves $ on meals. bring groceries with us. sleeps many. nice bar, lounge. near all stores, restaurants, etc.

Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 09ylg63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2009

I'm kind of easy to please so the cold shower on my last day there wasn't a big deal. The beach behind the hotel warns that it's a no swimming area within 200 feet of the sign because of some sort of runoff. Wish it had a stereo, DVD or CD player -- you can only pack so much. No wireless internet so you are tied to the wall by a short CAT5 cable -- so bring your own wireless router setup if you are so inclined. I'll know all this when I come back to this spacious hotel next October. Oh, the suite would house 3 comfortably hanging out and 6 if you didn't hang out.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelMarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2009

The hotel is an "all suite" hotel, which includes a separate bedroom, small kitchen area, living room and bathroom (with a sink inside and outside). We had an ocean view and pool view. The upgrade to ocean view was worth the extra cost, as these rooms are on the upper floors which enables you to see over the Dunes. The pool rooms look on to the pool area and are at Dunes level, so there is no view of the ocean. Pool and hot tub were clean. Small shower area just outside the walkway gate to get rid of the sand. Parking was very convenient...a short walk to the room.

Decor was not very pretty (example: chairs didn't match couch...etc.) but overall the room was nice and clean. When looking for a place to stay, all hotels looked this way. There was a pull down bed from the "aged" wall unit. The kitchen was equipped with everything you need. We utilized the oven, microwave, fridge and utensils - all were working! This is a nice place to stay with kids! great location - just a hop down the elevator and onto the sand!

The continental breakfast was exceptional! A lot to offer for a "continental" style breakfast. The Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyTwoToodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

We had an ocean view room with a balcony which I'd highly recommend. The room was really a suite. We had a bedroom, living room and small kitchenette. We were only there three days so we didn't take full advantage of the kitchen area but I definitely would if we stayed longer. The location of the hotel is right on the beach unlike many of the hotels in the area which are across the street. Although it was great for a couple, this would be awesome for a small family that wanted to stay up later than their children.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njlj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radford, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2009

I will admit I was skeptical at first because we stayed in Outer Banks for our honeymoon (didn't really want to stay in a hotel) and just so happened earlier in the year something had gotten mixed up with a cottage I had rented in the Duck area...so I had to make plans quickly before everything booked up. I called and they said just so happened they have a penthouse suite available the dates I was looking at. So I reluctantly made the reservation...after coming back I was very pleased. Great sized room for no more that 3 people I would say but good for the 2 of us. Has a bathroom w/jacuzzi, living area, kitchen (w/ stove, microwave, oven, sink), a living area, room w/ king bed and one of the greatest features a PRIVATE sun deck located on the top of the hotel!!! Amazing view from the room and even more amazing view from the sun deck! Very romantic and didn't hear much noise (and it seems there were lots of people staying there). Plus wonderful access to the beach (about 70-80 yards from the hotel).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhamby82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2009

Very nice location - right on the beach. Could see the Wright brothers memorial from hotel. For $200+ a night, I expected more... One of the elevators was broken the entire time we were there. The room while very clean could have used an update. Noise tended to carry from other rooms.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank beaucat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.5 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
18.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Ocean Reef Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ocean Reef Suites

Property: Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Address: 107 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7892
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Ocean Reef Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Ocean Reef Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean Reef Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Best Western Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Best Western
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing