We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Expectations exceeded!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expectations exceeded!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

After a very frustrating time and attempt after attempt to make a reservation using my Best Western rewards program's free night I earned, the hotel manager worked with me to make this visit possible. Upon arrival we checked in to a very clean and recently renovated room on the 5th floor. The hotel does show signs of its age if you look around but the renovated areas look great! The pool is nice but the hot tub is showing it's age. The location is amazing! We opened our front door to the Wright Brother's memorial and out the back was a beautiful ocean view.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Director of Property Managment at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at Best Western Ocean Reef.

Customer service is our top priority and we strive to only improve.

The Outer Banks is a great getaway any season, and hope you will return soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    235
    79
    34
    33
See reviews for
321
242
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
binghamton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

we stayed 7 days with 3 young boys,we were on the beach,clean and comfortable pool and hot tub! rooms were clean and comfortable, having kichen really helped keep our food cost down.store directly across street provided anything we needed or wanted (including wines from cheap to cristal!)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Director of Property Managmenet at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are happy you and your family enjoyed your vacation and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

The room was very comfortable and big. Very close to the beach and nice views. Close to lot of restaurants and attractions.Highly recommend. Excellent service. Enjoyed the SPA and swimming pool. Family friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Aravinthan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Director of Property Management at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, and happy you enjoyed your stay at our establishment.

Customer service is our priority and we strive to only improve.

The Outer Banks is a great getaway any season! We hope you will return soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamsburg, va
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

I read the reviews well after making our reservation, so we were expecting the worst when we arrived. We were pleasantly surprised. My guess is the people who wrote the bad reviews either visited prior to the renovation, or were put in a room that had not yet been done.

We were given a room immediately, even though it was well before the 4pm check-in time. The manager gave us a better rate than the reservation amount, and he gave us a towel to wipe down our motorcycle.

Our oceanfront room was on the 4th floor, with an excellent view of the beach. The room was clean and nicely decorated.

To describe the room: When you enter, the bedroom is off to the side (a door separates it from the rest of the hotel room). The kitchen is straight ahead, with the bathroom off to the side of it. And all the way to the back is the living room (with a Murphy bed).

The kitchen has a medium sized refrigerator (with freezer), a small microwave, and a sink. The bathroom has a shower/tub, toilet and sink. There is another bathroom sink just outside of the bathroom. Both the kitchen and bathroom have granite countertops and modern fixtures.

The living room has a sofa, two armchairs, a very large ottoman, two side tables, and a small, round dining table with four chairs. The balcony has two plastic chairs and a small plastic table.

There are two plasma TVs- one in the bedroom and the other in the living room. Modern artwork throughout, and plenty of lamps and light fixtures.

I was expecting a dumpy hotel with nasty employees, and we got the exact opposite. We will definitely come back to this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank cksteger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Director of Property Management at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your vacation and your stay at our hotel.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

A great hotel away from all the noise.staff excellent as was everything about it.Took a evening stroll down to the beach via the board walk lovely. Kids loved the pool and everything thing hotel had to offer.The Right brothers museum is 5 mins away as are lots of nice little restaurants that really welcomed us they said not many English people visit this part of USA. Went to the drive through donuts shop and played golf .This hotel is great as is the price.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank CSB1864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Director of Property Management at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and happy you enjoyed your holiday in the United States, and excited you enjoyed our location and our establishment.

We hope that you will return in the near future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

I was a little nervous about staying here b/c of some of the mixed reviews but I've found the BW chain to be reliable. My family and I stayed for 7 nights and were really pleased with it. The staff was friendly, efficient, and responsive (one of our TVs didn't work and it was fixed right away)Be sure to stay in a renovated room. We had not one but two balconies, a view of the ocean from one and a view of the Wright Memorial from the other. The location was great -- there's a great deli across the street for sandwiches, a lot of fab restaurants nearby, and close enough to the gorgeous National Seashore. It was our first trip to the Outer Banks and won't be our last -- and we will stay here again next time.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Terpin51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Director of Property Management at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review, we are happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Best Western Ocean Reef.

Customer service is our top priority and strive to only improve.

We look forward to seeing you and your family on your next visit.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Wonderful, pleasant staff. Clean, clean rooms that were a bit outdated, but the location was so much more important.Breakfast was a pleasant surprise with everything kept full and a great variety.Bathroom and kitchenette recently remodeled and very nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank rebeccamV2688XS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Director of Property Management at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we are happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Best Western Ocean Reef Suites and hope you will return soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.6 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 stars 708 reviews
18.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#4 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#5 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 1,029 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
1.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 stars 2,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
Address: 107 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7892
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean Reef Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Best Western Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Best Western
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing