We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great room for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We were looking for a last minute place to stay for just a long weekend and we were very happy with our stay. Our room was on the second floor over looking the pool and we still had a bit of an ocean view from our balcony. We have 4 boys and it is hard to find someplace to sleep us all. The two queens and a true murphy bed worked great for us. We weren't expecting much, it is a bit dated, but we were just happy to have a clean room on the beach.

Don't expect to check in early though. We got here around 10am and the front staff was very friendly but we didn't get a room until the listed 4pm check in time.

The breakfast was good for a free continental breakfast. The staff was very nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizard2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Director of Property Management at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this review, We will begin renovations on the first and second floors the first week of November all renovations will be completed by spring.

We hope you and your family will visit again soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    229
    74
    31
    33
See reviews for
303
239
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Awesome staff, spacious room and perfect view of the ocean in excellent location. Jon, the manager at time if checkin was very helpful and understanding to our needs. Would recommend staying at this hotel

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Director of Property Management at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

The room is spacious but AC does not work. Figured this out a round 10:00 pm after coming from dinner . Front desk informed that maintenance will be attending the issue in couple of hrs. It's 11:30pm now. Kids are awake as it's hot (77 degree) inside. Hope this will fix tonite.

The should be checked before giving the key. This is totally not acceptable.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sunny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Director of Property Management at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
I want to thank you for taking the time to write this review, and sorry your stay was less than expected.

And hope we have an opportunity in future to exceed your lodging expectations.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

It is right on the beach, just walked out the patio and there was the walkway to the beach, wonderful! But, the room was right out of 1945-- the oven did not work, the stove burners were warped, the microwave kept blowing the breaker when we were just popping popcorn! Hair dryer did not work. Needs a lot of updating interior-wise. Hotel staff were nice and the housekeeping staff were diligent at keeping the sand swept in the room. The pool was nice as was the hot tub.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 98cynR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Director of Property Management at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and look forward to your return visit in the near future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Overall great! Clean, comfortable, convenient to all of Outer Banks. Pretty good breakfast. Staff very nice. It would have been better if they were not painting exterior of building during this busy season. Disappointed in the pool that had broken ladder, that my adult son was injured on, and a broken stair rail that led into the pool.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Roberta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Director of Property Management at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you for writing this review and bringing your disappointment to my attention. We are sorry for any inconvenience you and your family encountered during your visit.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Rooms newly remodeled with 2 tvs the Beds were very hard and thin walls. The rooms were clean but ran short of wash cloths 2 days in a row. I had to ask for them the second night. The experience was second rate. I would only return if it was a last option. I did enjoy the ocean view but was disappointed when the air conditioner turned on and the outside vent was extremely loud along with cigarette smoke chocking me out from the bottom floors.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Director of Property Management at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you for bringing your disappointment to our attention, and are disappointed that we were unable to exceed your expectations.

We wish you well, on all future vacations.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived in the outer banks for our first visit. I booked this hotel because it was right on the ocean and I'm so happy I did! We had a newly renovated suite which had a separate bedroom with 2 double beds and a living room with a couch, 2 chairs and a Murphy bed!
Perfect for a family of 4. The kitchen was beautiful and the bathroom was great, it had a sink in the bathroom and another right outside of it. Great when you have 4 people trying to get ready. The room was extremely clean and decorated beautifully. I really felt that I had a beach apt with my balcony overlooking the Ocean. The stay included free breakfast of both hot and cold items and all were good. The staff were so sweet and helpful. My kids didn't want to leave this place and I'm sure we will be back! They also loved the pool and hot tub after a day at the beach.
I highly recommend this place!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dmdc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Director of Property Management at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We look forward to you returning soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.6 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 stars 683 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#4 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 946 reviews
18.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#5 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 996 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
1.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 stars 2,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
Address: 107 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean Reef Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Best Western Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Best Western
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing