We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Getaway Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 31, 2008

This was my first visit to the Outer Banks and the Atlantic Ocean. My daughter is going to the University of North Carolina so I took her for a night at the ocean. We were delighted with this hotel! We had the second floor duneside and had a great view of the ocean. We watched the full moon come up at night and the sun come up over the ocean in the morning. The breakfast room had a great view of the Wright Brother's Monument. It was just a few steps outside to the beach. There was a separate bedroom, kitchen and a murphy bed in the livingroom. I plan on bringing the whole family next time for several days or maybe even for a week long retreat.

One thing to note: We went during the off-season so we got a great deal on the hotel, plus the beaches were very empty, the stores had some great sales. The weather was great, about 80 degrees the first day then cooled down to the 60's the next day.

Please check this place out! I hope you like it.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Momokidsncats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (937)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

898 - 904 of 937 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2008

We are a family of 4 and really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were very clean and perfect set up for a small family on a long-weekend vacation. The staff was always helpful and pleasant. We would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAS12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2008

This hotel has wonderful beachfront views as well as great views of the Wright Memorial. The room was clean and spacious. We loved having a bedroom separate from the living area. Service was great and we are staying there again this year (2008).

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Blusiamese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2008

My wife, my four kids, and I loved the place. We were there last week and we stayed in room 306, which has beautiful Ocean view. The suite has very nice and clean rooms. Nice kitchen equipped with kitchen ware, knife, and dining set oven stove and everything else that you need to cook, which saved me a lot money on food. Nice swing pool, Jacuzzi and sauna. The best of all is the excellent customer service. They have a very friendly stuff with nice smile on their faces. In our last day there, and after we checked out, my kids still wanted to go to the beach. After we came back from the ocean, The receptionist provided us with place to shower at the 4th floor in the gym. They made sure that we got fresh towels for the entire family. I certainly go back and highly recommend them.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank agabsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2008

The ocan view paid for the room itself. Everyone was nice at the check-in/out. The only bad thing was they didn't change our sheets, but they weren't filthy. Other than that it was wonderful. You couldn't hear your neighbors or anything. We stayed 2 nights and had no real problems. The room is very huge espcially for a family of 5. We have more than enough room for everyone. Would stay there again.
We were worried that it could have been run-down cause of the ocean mist, but that was a huge suprise.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank smiley12face16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2008

What a find! We only booked two nights and wish we'd booked a lot more. Got a suite that has views of both ocean and pool. Suite was large, recently decorated (no worn carpets or upholstery, etc.), spotlessly clean and very quiet at night. The kitchenette was far better equipped then any we have run into at other hotels in the past. It is right on the ocean and and also has a pool large enough to even do laps! It is literally walking distance to half a dozen terrific restaurants. The staff was accomodating (let us check in at 11AM instead of 4PM!!!!), friendly and bent over backwards to make sure we were comfortable. We had absolutely no complaints whatsoever. I guess the quality of Best Westerns varies tremendously, but this one is a gem.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank keil38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2008

This was our first stay at the Best Western--Ocean Reef. What a wonderful surprise it was too. We booked king-non-smoking suites. The suites were super with a balcony overlooking the beach on one side and a balcony overlooking the island and Wright Brothers Monument on the other side! Our stay was fantastic! The front desk people were very friendly and helpful in locating places to find some "down home" cooking too.

Be sure to check their off season rates as they are a steal, in my opinion. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

This property has easy access to the beach and is about the closest motel to the Wright Brothers Monument.

They also had an amazing workout room and breakfast room. Even they had nice views! We were there in the off season so their pool and hot tub were closed.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GreeleyJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
6.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
1.5 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
903 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
493 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,624 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Ocean Reef Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ocean Reef Suites

Address: 107 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7892
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: $84 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Ocean Reef Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Ocean Reef Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean Reef Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Best Western Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Best Western
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing