We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wilson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is a wonderful oceanfront motel that offers a one bedroom condo for the price of a typical room on the Outer Banks. The accommodations are very comfortable, and they are in the process of remodeling the top two floors. The staff was excellent and met our every need.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank JJB27896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay with us while in the Outerbanks. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay, my staff does try to ensure that everyone has a great experience, and enjoys their time with us.

I will pass on to my staff your kind thoughts and comments, we do hope to see you again soon once our renovations have been completed.

The staff of the Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    229
    75
    31
    33
See reviews for
304
239
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

we always stay at Ocean reef when we visiit Outer Banks area. Always clean, staff freindly. This time they were remodling hotel. Looking forward to going back when throughly remodled. Great Place on Beach! Always clean!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Clorinda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for giving us a great review on trip advisor to share your experiences with others. We appreciate you taking the time.

We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us, and that your visit to the Outerbanks was memorable.

We are in remodeling phase of this great hotel, and can not wait to share the new look with everyone late spring.

Again thank you for your time, and can not wait to welcome you back .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
111 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed here for several days and were for the most part, very satisfied. We knew there was construction going on but since we were gone during the day it didn't bother us. The suite was great! We had a view of the ocean from the room/balcony, overlooking the dunes. The weather started out cold but eventually warmed up. The beach was deserted this time of year which was fantastic for long walks. Breakfast, while free, was unremarkable. And the coffee is really awful :( But the price made it really worth it. The suite has separate living/kitchen, bedroom areas. Lots of space! And there are washer/dryer available for a price. Very convenient. We are looking forward to maybe making this an annual winter getaway. Please-do something about the coffee!

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view. Right now they are working on the 4th and 5th floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gramcracker2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
It is a great pleasure when we receive feedback from our guests, it allows us to know what we are doing correct and what we need to improve upon. We thank you for taking the time, and I always pass on to my staff all reviews, they get equally as excited to see them.

We are excited about our renovations and are on track to completion. The hotel will be spectacular when it is completed. And we hope we get the chance to see you again should your travels find you in the outerbanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wassenberg, Germany
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We loved this suite. Plenty of room in the living area to spread out, and to enjoy the wonderful ocean view. The price was fantastic too! The kitchenette needed some attention, but all the rooms are being renovated. Good breakfast and exceptionally friendly staff.

We will definitely come back here in the off-season.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sbtick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send us a review, we are glad you had a great time at our hotel, and that the renovations did not appear to be a bother to you or other guests. We are trying to keep the guest impact at a minimum .

We are excited about the changes and renovations here, we are on track to completion, and it is going to be a great year here.

We look forward to seeing you again next year when you find your travels bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here before, and had a pleasant experience on my first visit, hence my return trip the following year. I was disappointed in the quality of the room and hotel. Trash littered the floor under the common-area sofa bed and the safety locks were broken (a big concern), amongst other things. By far the worst hotel experience I have had. I travel 25-30 times a year for work/pleasure, and have had nothing but pleasant experiences until this one.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Me L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
I am sorry your stay was not was you expected. I wish you had brought these issues to the attention of any of the staff. These issues would have been addressed. We are under a complete renovation and all furniture walks floors appliances etc are being fixed and replaced.
Unfortunately you had issues this time and so hope that you come back again once renovations are complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kill Devil Hills, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We love the Best Western Ocean Reef Suites in Kill Devil Hills and do love to visit off season when the rates are at least half what the rate rate would be anywhere else in the US for the accommodations. Are walking on the beach at sunrise with no one else, marvelous.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for giving us great feedback on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your taking the time to let us and everyone else know how your stay was.

We value your opinion, and look forward to continuing to improve our services to all our guests.

We are excited about the new renovations, it is covering all aspects of the guest room from furniture to carpets, appliances bathrooms and kitchens. It is going to be awesome when completed.

We do hope to see you back here again, should your travels have you visit the Outerbanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabeth city, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

hotel was very nice. need to update appliances and bath room. but still a nice room and view of beach. they are doing remodeling on upper floors. we were there for our anniversary weekend. the only thing we weren't too pleased with was the rooms on either side of us the guests were noisy. but still had a very nice weekend. the remodeling was mainly updating the appliances but they weren't noisy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on trip advisor. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

Just to clarify we are doing more then just updating appliances, we are doing a complete renovation and modification on the entire suite, new kitchens bath rooms, bedrooms and living rooms. We are excited about the change, and hope you will come back again and see the new Best Western Ocean Reef Suites later this year.

Thank you again.

Cindy Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.6 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 stars 686 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#4 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 946 reviews
18.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#5 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 996 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
1.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 stars 2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
Address: 107 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7892
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean Reef Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Best Western Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Best Western
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing