We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for families!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was better than I expected. We came with 6 people, 4 of which were kids, staying in two rooms. It was exactly the space we needed. The beach was a 2 minute walk and when that got too cold we swam at the hotel pool. Very nice staff. The kids loved staying here and we def would return.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cshellrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (942)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

744 - 750 of 942 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

My wife, daughter and I stayed at the Ocean Reef Suites about a month ago for a week. The suite is a large private bedroom with 2 queen beds, and the living room has a pull down murphy bed, and an accordian style room divider which separates the living room from the kitchen and rest of the suite. My 14 year old daughter liked having this feature for her privacy. There is also a sleeper sofa in the living room.

The balcony overlooked the pool and jacuzzi (which sometimes got a little noisy when there were a lot of people in the pool).

From room to ocean is about a 5 minute walk over the dunes.

The hotel is a bit dated, but we found the room to be clean, and the staff very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in July/August. We were put on the first floor in room 107 the first night. It was awful! We were by the pool, vending and ice machine and elevator. It was loud all night long. We ended up asking to move and fortunately were allowed to move to the second floor for the remainder of our stay. In addition to this, room 107 had almost not kitchen supplies. We had planned on cooking some meals and had one small soup pot! When we asked for more, we were told there was nothing else. When we were moved to the second floor, we had a fully equipped kitchen. I would probably not stay here again, unless I only was planning on staying 2 or 3 nights in the off season. The beach was super crowded and there were a lot of cigarette butts in the sand. Not the hotels fault, but also not what I want when I vacation in the OBX. More of what I would expect from Myrtle Beach. It is close to many restaurants and we were close enough to Corolla to do a couple day trips to see the wild horses. Next time, I'd pay a couple hundred more to rent a house over a cramped hotel suite.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Jenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This was my third time staying at Best Western Ocean Reef in Kill Devil Hills, NC in the last 10 years. Last year I tried a different hotel but was not very happy with it so this year I went back to Best Western Ocean Reef in Kill Devil Hills, NC. The rooms are spacious and I love being on the ocean and having a pool. I will be going back there next year for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Funinthesun782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Went there for 3 days at the beach with our little one. The suite is very convenient with a nice bedroom, a small but functional kitchen and a living room. With a 10 months old it was perfect! We booked a room with ocean-view only and it worth it. The only concern we had was it's very dated. The hotel needs serious improvements, from carpet to furniture. With this location and the layout of the room, the stay would be perfect with little updates. Very quiet hotel with a nice breakfast and staff very kind. Hope they will do some updates before we go back for another trip at the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie2803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Excellent hotel for a family. Comfortable, affordable, good breakfast, great staff, close to beach, clean pool, and excellent location to local shops, food and entertainment. hotel could use some basic updating but for the most part was efficient for a family of 5. Will def be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Nichole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel rooms are spacious but out dated. AC units are poorly maintained. Best Western Ocean Reef Suites Kill Devil Hills NC needs help. Hotel ,management do not have the experience or knowledge to understand to root cause of the AC problem.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank srussell6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
6.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
1.5 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
905 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,293 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
493 reviews
18.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Ocean Reef Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ocean Reef Suites

Address: 107 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7892
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: $70 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Ocean Reef Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Ocean Reef Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean Reef Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Best Western Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Best Western
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing