We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice, but under construction” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
tuscaloosa
Level Contributor
150 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nice, but under construction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Nice room, 1 bedroom with two double beds, living room with a cute Murphy pull out bed. Clean, but breakfast bar under construction- extremely annoying noises during the daytime. Desk clerk didn't tell me that they were giving vouchers for free breakfasts because of the construction- another vacationer informed me- therefore I missed out on free breakfast for 2 mornings. I'd stay again, no big deal.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iloveg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    253
    86
    37
    35
See reviews for
340
259
27
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Best Western is a decent choice for a group traveling. There were 4 of us in the room and had plenty of space to spread out. We didn't feel as if we were crammed in over our 3 night stay. While our room was advertised as an "Ocean Side" room, we were on the first floor and had a view of the sand dunes. Not a big deal, but I could see how this may be slightly deceiving when booking, if looking at the ocean was the objective.

The hotel overall is ready for an upgrade. As others have stated, the rooms look like they haven't had a major refresh since the early 90's. I found the pool area nice, and we spent much time there, however the pool could use a bit more attention. A few days, it was noticeably dirty with a visible film over the water. Our kitchen was pretty gross, and could definitely use a refresh as well.

We paid roughly $140 a night, and I feel like that would be the most I would be willing to pay. While the rooms were big, it is time for the place to be cleaned up. A renovation of the rooms to a more modern look would make it a much better value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phidelt435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
317 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We went to BW for a weekend getaway! We had a nice stay, plenty of space, great balcony, beautiful view! We got up early to watch a gorgeous sunrise! The room could use updating, but was clean and well kept. We would def stay here again!

Room Tip: Skip the cont breakfast, not much to it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikeyt62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairlawn, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, offers a fantastic ocean view, and has a wonderful pool area. The suites are a good size, as well. It was the perfect way to comfortably fit multiple people in one room for a week.

Yet, despite all this, I would hesitate before staying here again. Our room was dingy, unclean, and smelled like cigarettes. It provided the constant reminder that thousands of strangers had stayed there before us. The cleaning staff did a poor job (trash wasn't emptied, tissues and towels weren't replaced, etc). If it wasn't for the hastily made beds, we would not have been able to tell if they had been in there or not. The breakfast provided by the hotel was decent, but the room where it is served is very cramped. Getting cell phone reception here was also a major issue.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Missouri, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Great room, clean, comfortable. Even "pool side" room had a view of the ocean off the balcony, Large suite with comfortable sitting area that had a Murphy bed should you need it and a nice kitchenette. We would be happy to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Millie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is in great need of updatating. The rooms are not very clean and smell like smoke and ocean mildew. The rooms are suites that sleep many, but if you are looking for something nice, this isn't the place. The northern part of the outer banks boasts much nicer and newer hotels. Of course, there is a huge price difference, but Kill Devil area is very tacky by comparison.
The breakfast room is barely big enough for a small group of people. The hotel is huge, and the breakfast area is in what looks like a converted hotel room on the 3rd floor.
We check out a day earlier and went back to Raleigh.
You should stay in the outer banks for 3 nights just because of the activities. Staying in the north at the nicer properties is good, but then you are much further away from activities.
Went on the Wild Horse Adventure tour. GREAT.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bbjeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.6 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,292 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
Address: 107 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7892
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean Reef Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Best Western Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Best Western
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing