We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre Accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fairlawn, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mediocre Accommodations”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, offers a fantastic ocean view, and has a wonderful pool area. The suites are a good size, as well. It was the perfect way to comfortably fit multiple people in one room for a week.

Yet, despite all this, I would hesitate before staying here again. Our room was dingy, unclean, and smelled like cigarettes. It provided the constant reminder that thousands of strangers had stayed there before us. The cleaning staff did a poor job (trash wasn't emptied, tissues and towels weren't replaced, etc). If it wasn't for the hastily made beds, we would not have been able to tell if they had been in there or not. The breakfast provided by the hotel was decent, but the room where it is served is very cramped. Getting cell phone reception here was also a major issue.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    275
    95
    40
    35
See reviews for
374
292
30
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro, Missouri, Usa
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Great room, clean, comfortable. Even "pool side" room had a view of the ocean off the balcony, Large suite with comfortable sitting area that had a Murphy bed should you need it and a nice kitchenette. We would be happy to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Millie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is in great need of updatating. The rooms are not very clean and smell like smoke and ocean mildew. The rooms are suites that sleep many, but if you are looking for something nice, this isn't the place. The northern part of the outer banks boasts much nicer and newer hotels. Of course, there is a huge price difference, but Kill Devil area is very tacky by comparison.
The breakfast room is barely big enough for a small group of people. The hotel is huge, and the breakfast area is in what looks like a converted hotel room on the 3rd floor.
We check out a day earlier and went back to Raleigh.
You should stay in the outer banks for 3 nights just because of the activities. Staying in the north at the nicer properties is good, but then you are much further away from activities.
Went on the Wild Horse Adventure tour. GREAT.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbjeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern Nc
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

I want to make review after staying at best western. Was worried when I read other reviews. It is older and needs updated but it was VERY clean, perfect location, people were friendly and helpful. We were ocean front on 4th floor, perfect. Our room was ready at 1 when we got there early and was able to check in no problem, thanks. I am very picky about hotels but it was great. Glad we decided to pick it ....

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
2 Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Way overpriced for a hotel that should have been updated 10 to 15 years ago. Warped doors, Analog TV--looked like a historical piece. Toilet dirty. I would almost rather sleep in my car, and take a shower in public facility--at least I would have met expectations. Reception kept disappearing from the front desk, when I had two questions and had to wait around to ask her simple questions. No cell reception from the room--AT&T or T-Mobile. Had to go to the car to get reception.

Perhaps okay hotel if you are in college and there are 10 of you staying in the room and you are going to be intoxicated most of the time and out of the room or passed out....

Room Tip: Take a chance on any other hotel and you will probably be better served and happier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The front desk clerk evening manager( WE) was so rude and acted as if our time did not matter .It took us about 20 minutes to get checked in.the person in question was one the phone the whole checking in period. The rest of the employees were very nice and he ruined it for everyone. The building was old and the handicapped room we were in was difficult to move around in and Wheel Chair resident could not even get into bath room. We could have managed and not complained because of the rest of the staff but (WE) was just so ugly with us. Sad the experience at this hotel it was our first trip to the area.

Room Tip: Do not get first floor and swimming pool needs help. Lopsided deck and ramp
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

A great location fronting the beach and just a few blocks from the Wright Brothers Memorial & museum. Everything works OK and the place is very quiet but this is an old hotel that really needs renovating. Not only was the decor outdated (by several generations) but the beds were sagging and the water pressure anemic. We had a suite which was roomy and had a passable, but old kinchenette. The breakfast is chain-hotel adequate but the dining room is tiny and this is a fair sized hotel so it could be a real crush in season or on weekends. We would only come back if there was nothing else available nearby.

Room Tip: Oceanview rooms need to be on level 2 or above otherwise you will be looking into the back of a sand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tedstravelblogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.5 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
838 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,432 reviews
18.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Ocean Reef Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ocean Reef Suites

Property: Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Address: 107 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7892
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Ocean Reef Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Ocean Reef Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean Reef Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Best Western Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Best Western
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing