We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    269
    91
    39
    35
See reviews for
362
277
29
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey Shore
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We spent one night here on our way home from South Carolina. The suite was spacious with plenty of bedding. Two queens in the bedroom, a Murphy Bed and Sofa Bed in the living room. The balcony was good sized. The kitchen was typical for an efficiency hotel room. For some reason, the burners are always out of whack in hotels but since we didn't use it, it didn't matter. Bathroom was small but had a 2nd sink outside which would be convienent for larger groups. The TV in the living room was old style but in the bedroom, was flat screened. There were two arm chairs and a table with seating for 4. I imagine in the summer, it would be a great place for a group to stay. Didn't partake in the breakfast but it seemed a little sparse. Ice on each floor (unlike the Myrtle Beach location) was appreciated. Check in was easy and friendly. Would stay again if passing through or for a weekend. Anything longer, would rent a house instead.

Room Tip: I requested and was granted a higher floor so I could enjoy the view. Even saw a whale's spout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Exit105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid-Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

All suites with separate bedroom(s), closets, livingroom, kitchenette, bathroom. Affordable, clean, great customer service. We stayed in a ocean front suite with a personal balcony right on the ocean and was great. Breakfast was ok and we all enjoyed our stay. We will be going back and staying at this great hotel for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean was definately the one for us but coming from Michigan that is what we wanted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol-MIDMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I had a terrible experience after canceling a reservation for 11/29/12 in plenty of time to receive a refund of over $200. They are associated with www.getaroom.com. After many phone conversations with Best Western and getaroom and many faxes of information to getaroom by Best Western, I did not get a refund. I would not recommend using getaroom or Best Western Ocean Reef. This should have been reconciled and shows very poor customer service by both parties.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

I booked through Travelocity, who royally blew mu reservation. I booked ocean front, and when I arrived, hotel staff told me Travelocity booked first floor facing concrete. The staff callled Travelocity, and tried to help out the best she could, even agreed to release our reservation if we desired. Travelocity would not agree to that, they were rude, and unwillig to remedy their error. She ended up getting us a ocean view (which is quite nice view), but we had to pay the difference, and the only thing they had were two doubles. The pro's = good quality, great service,clean rooms, great for an extended stay as the rooms are equipped with a small kitchen. Con's= rooms are dated, lots of outside noise from elevator and through the walls. This is a great area on the beach! Moral of the story, book through the hotel, the rates were the same, and the customer service is great!

Room Tip: stay away from the elevator. dune view is not ocean view. ocean view rooms on the higher floors ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vicky d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We enjoy visiting the obx during off-season. We lived in KDH for many years and returned to Greenville ECU area. This is a excellent hotel to stay for not only the convenience of the area but ocean views! Excellent value!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy_Jill_USMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.5 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
18.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
Address: 107 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7892
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Best Western, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean Reef Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Best Western Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Best Western
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing