We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great customer service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great customer service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

I booked through Travelocity, who royally blew mu reservation. I booked ocean front, and when I arrived, hotel staff told me Travelocity booked first floor facing concrete. The staff callled Travelocity, and tried to help out the best she could, even agreed to release our reservation if we desired. Travelocity would not agree to that, they were rude, and unwillig to remedy their error. She ended up getting us a ocean view (which is quite nice view), but we had to pay the difference, and the only thing they had were two doubles. The pro's = good quality, great service,clean rooms, great for an extended stay as the rooms are equipped with a small kitchen. Con's= rooms are dated, lots of outside noise from elevator and through the walls. This is a great area on the beach! Moral of the story, book through the hotel, the rates were the same, and the customer service is great!

Room Tip: stay away from the elevator. dune view is not ocean view. ocean view rooms on the higher floors ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vicky d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    250
    85
    36
    35
See reviews for
335
254
27
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We enjoy visiting the obx during off-season. We lived in KDH for many years and returned to Greenville ECU area. This is a excellent hotel to stay for not only the convenience of the area but ocean views! Excellent value!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy_Jill_USMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was my 9 stay at Ocean Reefs for the New Year's Holiday and as always the the staff made the stay event free. During the off season, the very reasonable cost of a two room suite (mine was direct ocean front) with a kitchen and separate living room is almost the same as just a room. The front desk staff and the attendent in the breakfast year have excellent customer skills. When I checked in I was selcomed back as a guest, a very nice touch.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank TOM W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldwater, Michigan
Level Contributor
96 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was our 2nd time here. Will probably come again.

Pluses:
Quiet in off season. Don't know about the "on" season.
Right on the ocean. Nice beach.
Nice exercise room with sauna. Saunas are not common.
Large rooms. They are all suites.
Easy to get to.
Separate bedroom, living room, kitchenette, bathroom.
2 closets.
Personal balcony.
Plenty of close shopping.

Minuses:
Ran out of much of the breakfast food for a few days.
Housekeeping personnel should be issued a crevice tool and instructed in its' proper use. (Actually, this applies to most places)

That's about it. Nice place to stay and almost impossible to beat the value during the off season.

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade. At least I didn't get laughed at like at Super 8 a couple of weeks ago.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banjobillk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
1,076 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 523 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

What was a dearer then normal BW turned out to be great choice. We had an Ocean front suite with lovely views and the calming sound of the waves breaking ! A big suite with seperate bedroom , lounge and kitchen. We shared the Hotel with an army of TV news people and their OB vans and energy repairmen finishing up the mop up after Sandy !! It was a quite , clean and tidy place just missing tourists !! The breakfast was great and had views across to the Wright Brothers Memorial. Would be a lovely place when the weather was calmer !!

Room Tip: The Ocean front suites are worth the extra coin !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skeney57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

My family and I stayed here for 2 nights while looking for wedding venues. It was reasonable and comfortable for our stay. We definitely stay in a vacation home when coming for a week, but this is a great option for a short stay. There was a plumbing problem that was fixed 5 min after we called the front desk. The breakfast filled the void. Our room was nicely heated and clean. We would stay here again for a short trip.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank vajmugrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had made a reservation through Best Western's 800 number, securing a room for us on the first floor facing the dunes. When we arrived in the evening after a long drive, the desk clerk, realizing we had traveled a long way, changed our reservation so we could have a suite on an upper floor facing the ocean. We were so thankful for her random act of kindness.
The suite was spotless; the bathroom and kitchen sparkled, and the carpet was clean. The furniture was modern and comfortable.
The continental breakfast was basic, but sufficient. The centerpieces were unique and attractive.
We could not have been more pleased with our stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
1.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,261 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
Address: 107 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7892
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean Reef Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Best Western Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Best Western
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing