We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nags Head Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stay at the Nags Head Best Western Ocean Reef Suites for a getaway in the cooler fall months for a weekend or two every year. This hotel has a lot to offer in terms of comfort and ease of getting to all the great attractions of the outer banks. To begin with, you get two rooms, living room with a small kitchen between it and the bedroom. That is a plus if you want to save money on eating out every day and want to cook small meals in the room. The kitchen has a full stove and oven, full size refridgerator, plates and cups and silverware provided. There is a small store across the street or you can go to the larger chain stores which are close by and convienent.
Check in and check out are effortless when you arrive and depart. They also have a small gym to work out if you want to and it has a sauna to sooth tired muscles. The room balconies mostly all look out over the Atlantic ocean with some overlooking the pool as well. Lower floors have views blocked by the sand dunes.
The front desk staff are helpful in directing you to area attractions and things to do. They provide directions to resturants and local tourist sites and are very friendly and accommodating. The maid staff does excellent work cleaning the rooms daily as well.
During the fall and winter months this hotel is a very good bargain for the low price you will paid nightly. They offer discounts for a variety of travel programs as well as for seniors and miliary. A real bargain in terms of the price.
Make sure you go in April because many of the areas eating establishments are closed before that time with most opening the second or third week of the month.

Room Tip: The suites on the upper floors are the best for ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OldUSAFMsgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (937)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

784 - 790 of 937 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here one night off season on our way back home. Was able to upgrade to Penthouse which was very nice. Breakfast was free but a little skimpy. Nice beach front location. Excellent view of the ocean.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEL1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Although this is an older hotel, it was designed very well and we were extremely comfortable. The suite includes private bedrooms for two couples, a kitchen and a bath. We requested ocean view and could not have been happier with the gorgeous view of the atlantic ocean. If you really like a big breakfast, you might want to use the kitchen in your room -- the free breakfast is more continental. It is definitely time to replace the sofa.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytravelernow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Seems that the upgrade of this place has been put on hold for profit's sake. Rusted bath tubs, mold in grout, chipped sinks, very worn furniture, dirty carpets, smelly room, only two baggage carts for the entire hotel (you should have seen all the people struggling with their luggage, coolers, fishing gear, etc.), slow toilets and sinks, etc. But it was a place to stay, quite, convenient, and, by the way, take a flash light the bulbs must have been 20 watt.

Room Tip: CALL THE HOTEL don't us the on line reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MIchele T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I travel to the OBX often, and have been doing that for the past 35 years (or more). This was our first time staying at the Best Western Ocean Reef Suites; and I have to be honest, we were VERY disappointed with the condition. It is very dated, and in much need of an upgrade and some "love". We too killed a roach in our bedroom. The room had a slight musty smell, and the appliances in the kitchen need replacing as well as the bathroom. The rooms are very dark and dingy....WE WILL NOT BE RETURNING TO THIS HOTEL, on our next visit.... The sad point to all of this is... This could be a great place to stay. The size of the rooms are great; it is a suite with an effiency kitchen; the murphy bed could be very handy for families; it is ocean front with great views; the mile post location is great... however, they need to take the opportunity to bring this place out of the 1970's... So sorry for the bad review... but, I feel others need to know... I truly hope they renovate soon...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PPL122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stay at this hotel at least 4 times a year and have never seen a roach. The rooms are big and staff is friendly. The hotel could use some updates but having the view and large living room makes up for not having fresh paint or a swollen door. The breakfast is hot and fresh and the room they serve it in is a little cramped but you can always take it back to your room and eat. I highly recommend the Best Western Ocean Reef.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We arrived at 3am, after driving for 8 hours and the moment we stepped off the elevator, there were NO LESS than 5 or 6 cockroaches over an inch and a half long scurrying around, and LITERALLY COUNTLESS baby cockroaches crawling up from the elevator shaft and into the elevator. You couldn't take a step without stepping on a roach. As if that wasn't enough, they were all over the balcony and we had to walk in place to keep the little ones from crawling onto our feet!!! It was horrifying, almost like something from a sci-fi/horror movie. When we went back downstairs to inform the general manager (who had to be called in because of other issues we had with checking in), she attempted to dismiss the problem by stating that they were not cockroaches, rather they were "water bugs that live inside the dunes and there's nothing that can be done about them". I then explained that the term 'waterbug' is nothing more than a less common name for the American cockroach (google it if you doubt me). Once she realized that I wasn't going to buy what she was trying to sell me, she relented and said, "well, technically they are a form of roach, but they aren't the bad kind that get in your house and stuff". REALLY?? A cockroach is a cockroach PERIOD. I attempted to explain this to her, and it was like speaking to a brick wall. We did cancel our reservation and weren't charged, but this left us with nowhere to stay for the night. We had to scramble to find availability at another hotel, but were unable to get a room until the following evening. This caused us to have to spend the rest of our night in our car in a McDonald's parking lot. I am shocked and disgusted over the experience, and I will NEVER book at another Best Western simply because of the horror of being literally SWARMED with cockroaches at this one. I'm not usually one to complain, and I understand hotels are going to have some bugs, but this was just unbelievable. I am appalled!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank robkaren97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
6.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
1.5 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
903 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
493 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,624 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Ocean Reef Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ocean Reef Suites

Address: 107 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7892
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: $84 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Ocean Reef Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Ocean Reef Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean Reef Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Best Western Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Best Western
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing