We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a Pirates Treasure!”

Jolly Roger Restaurant & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This is a Pirates Treasure!”
Reviewed September 3, 2014

We took a impromptu visit to Kitty Hawk, NC and found ourselves at the Jolly Rodger's Door! It was a fun place with truly unique décor. The food was so GOOD! They have something for every palate. I ordered the crab cakes platter, which included seasoned fries and coleslaw. The Crab Cakes were the best, very little filler, just fantastic crab and seasonings. Portions are very generous. Staff were very friendly. Building is a lot of small rooms joined together. Has a full bar with TVs. Does offer lots of parking, it sets block off the main street, find the Kmart at Third Street beach side and you will find it tucked in behind the store. There is a public beach access right across the street and the restaurant Does allow you to park in their lot and walk across the street to the beach after eating. We found the beach to be perfect!!! Not crowded, we arrived on Sept.1 about 12:00 noon. Most vacationers had already headed home. Was such a Perfect day on the beach with our daughter and her family.

  • Visited September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    554
    330
    129
    69
    78
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“An Outer Banks staple”
Reviewed September 2, 2014

My favorite restaurant on the beach, never had a bad experience at the jolly roger in about 10+ years of coming to the outer banks! The food is perfect, the lunch menu is very reasonably priced (roast beef sandwich, yum!) and the prices aren't that steep, they let you combine coupons. The staff is always very friendly and the owner is very hands on. If you DO have a problem with your order, they will jump at the chance to make it right and usually offer you a free replacement meal or a refund. The atmosphere is one-of-a-kind and fun, but beware the gift shop, unless you find something cheap in it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xXBeach-Bum_21Xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Could not peel the shrimp”
Reviewed September 2, 2014

Recently ate here and the shrimp shells were so tough that they could not be peeled. Bartender steamed anther batch and they weren't much easier, finally gave up. Took a while to get the food, ordered from the bar, fried oysters and steamed shrimp. Oysters had to much batter, appeared as tempura type batter. I've read good things about the breakfast, wasn't overly impressed with my dinner experience.

  • Visited September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Avoid the create your own omelet unless you want to pay $22.50 for it!!!”
Reviewed September 1, 2014

My husband & I had breakfast at the Jolly Roger today. On the plus side, the wait was not very long to be seated. Our waitress was attentive & took our drink order quickly. My husband opted to get the "create your own omelet" which he choose seafood, cheese, tomato & mushrooms. On the menu, a seafood omelet was $11.95 but he opted to create his own to include tomato & mushrooms. The menu showed seafood $4.99 (crab, shrimp & scallops).
No mention of $4.99 EACH on the menu or from the waitress.

Imagine the shock of seeing the price of $22.50 for one omelet! At the register checking out, my husband questioned the charge. The gentlemen went to ask "the boss." When he returned, he said "this is correct."

We were not JOLLY after dining at the Jolly Roger!!

  • Visited September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank amy7518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Yummy breakfast homemade bread!”
Reviewed September 1, 2014

Jolly Roger was recommended as THE place to go for breakfast. It is! Wished I was staying in the area to try lunch and dinner too. Our server was in training so the service was great. I had the feta, spinach, mushroom omelet. The toast was made from homemade bread! Ate this big breakfast at 8:30am, it last me until a late lunch at 2:30. Close to the Wright Brothers National Museum which was a big bonus for us since it was our next stop.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lascassaslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jolly Roger Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Jolly Roger Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing