We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast, lunch and Dinner”

Jolly Roger Restaurant & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breakfast, lunch and Dinner”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My wife and I ate all three during our recent vacation stay on the outer banks of NC. The food was excellent and the staff very, very friendly. The cost was low and the food plentiful.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EBowry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    545
    322
    124
    66
    76
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
kdh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Love coming here, food is great and they have a great happy hour, love the way it is decorated, staff is excellent

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nancy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
589 reviews
431 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“WE ALWAYS COME HERE ON OUR ANNUAL TRIP TO OBX”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

As in the past couple years, we visited the Jolly Roger three times in one week. We always go to the bar for their daily specials of chicken wings for .49, ribs for .79, and steamed shrimp for .20. Add a house salad and you have a meal. They also offer domestic bottled beers for $2.25. The wings and ribs are very meaty and tender. The meat falls off the ribs. The locals all give you a warm feeling when you walk into the area. Service was prompt and the bartenders were very attentive to your needs. Most definitely will return when in the area. Hubby and I are bargain hunters, and this place works for us!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

They have a $9.95 prime rib special on friday night. Big portion and it was delicious.They also have music at the bar every night.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sparkle008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
249 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“OK, but there are better places in OBX to eat”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The food, suroundings, and service were average. If I were to compare the food, surroundings, and service to only those of the Outer Banks the Jolly Roger would have gotten a poor. This is not one of the better restaurants in the area and if time is limited, I would suggest going somewhere else. The outside decorations are fun and get your attention, but the food won't give you a lasting impression. We understand later in the night it's a fun place for the younger crowd and that might be what keeps them in business.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pitt_twins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jolly Roger Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Jolly Roger Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing