We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Cypress House!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cypress House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cypress House Inn
South Riding, Virginia
1 review
“Loved the Cypress House!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2006

My husband and I stayed one night at the Cypress House during October.
Bill, one of the owners, was very friendly and attentive. He recommended a wonderful restaurant for our anniversary celebration dinner.
We had a room on the front of the house that was spacious with a wonderful view of the ocean. Spectacular fluffy towels and crisp bed sheets greeted you in the room.
The Inn is very close to the beach (under 2 minute walk) and has a great front porch with rocking chairs to enjoy a sunset.
Breakfast was delicious and so filling!
We will definitely be going back again!

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wine_o_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
78
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2006

Excellent owners (Bill and Veda) who are very friendly and
welcoming and know all the good places to go.
The Inn is very comfortable and very close to the beach (2 min by walk). The breakfasts are really delicious. I, my wife and my mom would highly recommend this place to anybody who is planning to spend vacation on the outer banks in North Caroline (Kill Devils Hills).

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank vit_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2006

This was such a wonderful place to stay. My husband and I spent four nights there and it was so relaxing. The full breakfasts in the morning were always delicious and my husband was a big fan of the fresh cookies every afternoon. Veda and Bill are wonderful hosts. They were a great resource for places to go and places to eat. Public beach access was just across the street and towels and beach chairs were provided. If you are looking for a place in the Nags Head/Kill Devil Hills area that is not a hotel... this is definitly the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank erint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough England
Level Contributor
129 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2006

Bill and Veda Peters are fantastic inn keepers, they have created a warm and friendly inn. The Inn is close to the beach and the Wright Brothers Memorial. There was a great family atmosphere within the house and especially at breakfast. Bill and Veda are around at breakfast and it was good to talk to them and the other guests, this is especially helpful for finding the best places to visit in the day and the best places to eat at night. The breakfasts (that Bill makes!!!!) were excellent and we also enjoyed the tea and cookies put out after 4.00 pm. Many resources were available from beach towels to cycles and plenty of advice on the area. We will return the next time we are in the area (possibly in 2007)

If you have never used a B&B before, try the Cypress Inn, you wont be disappointed.

  • Liked — The owners and the location
  • Tips/Secrets — Two
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GBains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2006

Bill and Veda are outstanding hosts for this relaxing BnB. It's a perfect location across from the beach and a few blocks from Wright Brother's Memorial. The full breakfast each morning was fantastic. They really do think of everything from beach chairs, bikes, towels, umbrellas, travel coffee pitchers to WIFI. The front porch was relaxing, the dinner recommendations were superb and the dog Lexie is a perfect lady to have around the main living room downstairs. We truly hope to return again in the near future. Thanks again for the great conversation and historical tidbits on the local area.

  • Liked — Relaxing lodge style accomodations
  • Tips/Secrets — This is a good find.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sbmiller02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
va
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2006

A great family owned inn with proximity to wright bros memorial and very convenient location in Kill Devil Hills - close to everything.
Excellent owners who are very friendly, resourceful, and
welcoming and know all the good places to go.
The inn is in great condition complete with a large porch with
comfortable atmosphere very close to the beach.
The owners go the extra mile with nice little touches like homemade cookies and tea every afternoon, wine glasses, games and travel guides.
Although not directly on beach, the inn is extremely close and
beach access is across the street.
The breakfasts are fantastic and are the perfect way to start your day on the outer banks.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank hought
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Padre Island, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Cypress House B&B this past August and had a wonderful time. The Cypress House is:
- Very clean
- Very convenient to everything in the outer banks
- The hosts (Bill & Veda) go out of their way to make the stay nice. For example, Veda made my husband's favorite cookies (oatmeal chocolate chip) for their afternoon tea & cookies on day (YUM!), esp. for him. She even put some in a zip lock bag - warm right out of the oven - for us to take to the beach. Hospitality at its best!
- Beach chairs & towels are a plenty
- Beach just 1 block away
- Full bath & TV in every room
- Very quiet
- Their breakfast is out of this world GOOD!
- Hosts are very knowledgeable of the surrounding area and have good recommendations for places for dinner

Finally, for those adventurous ones - def. try hang gliding at the National Park. It was great!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ltbluek2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hamilton Cay at Bermuda Bay
Hamilton Cay at Bermuda Bay
#15 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,372 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
18.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress House Inn

Property: Cypress House Inn
Address: 500 N Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7827
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cypress House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Planning a visit to The Outer Banks? We invite you to come and enjoy our casual but elegant seaside inn, where you can take a stroll on the beach, play in the waves, or just dip your feet in the Atlantic Ocean. Located only 125 yards from the ocean at Mile Post 8 on the Beach Road (1 Lot back from Oceanfront) in Kill Devil Hills, the Cypress House Inn is the closest bed and breakfast to the ocean. A public beach access is directly in front of the inn. We are centrally located to all area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Cypress House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress House Inn Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing