We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent and Wonderfully Comfy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cypress House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cypress House Inn
Gloucester Virginia, USA
1 review
“Excellent and Wonderfully Comfy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary in September and we plan on going back!
This was our first experience with a bed and breakfast and it was super great. We are hooked now!

The house has an old-timey comfy feel to it, Bill and Veda were very warm and welcoming. They know the area well and told us about great places to see and hang out, as well as the best places to eat. The food was awesome. The whole experience was just fantastic.

We recommend the Cypress House Inn to everyone!

Room Tip: The room on the top left of the house was bright and looked straight out to the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Possumjoce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
77
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at the Cypress House Bed and Breakfast. It is a great place to relax and get away. The owners, Bill and Veda are super Inn owners. Everything is very clean and the breakfasts are great. Coffee at 7:00AM hits the spot. The Inn is just across a parking lot to the beach. Bill and Veda are at your service for whatever you need. They are helpful with dinner ideas and places to see. If you want to meet southern hospitality, try the Cypress House B and B.

Room Tip: Room 8 has a great bathroom with plenty of space. It is recently remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enjoytravel0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

Just got back from my stay and had to make sure that I reviewed the place. The innkeepers were great. Great breakfast, wonderful room. They were also very helpful with dining options. Highly recommend the Cypress House.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siglar34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

We booked the Inn based on other reviews and weren't disappointed. Without trying to duplicate other reviews, I'd like to point out that the innkeepers were flexible with payments, parking was ample, and the rooms were immaculate, bathrooms in particular. Bill and Veda were helpful hosts without being pushy and offered a home away from home experience.

No complaints at all, though some notations: walls were thin. A mid day nap was tough because one could hear every coming and going, and we felt guilty having the tv on at night for fear of disturbing others. Also, breakfast was very often a quiche-like entree; not exciting for a simple waffles and pancakes guy like my husband...but others might really it!

All in all, though, a lovely stay at a charming b&b.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PassportHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

I have never written a B and B or hotel review. But this was too nice not to share. I could go on and on …. Spotless clean room and bathroom (I am crazy picky). We awoke to the smell of coffee and tea placed in the hallway so you don’t even have to walk downstairs for your first cup. Breakfast was served one time at 8:30 am. You sit around a beautiful table with the other guests eagerly anticipating the delicious breakfast you are about to be served.
The Cypress House is steps away from the beach access. And it is a beautiful, wide portion of the beach.
The proprietors took care of little extras during the stay, aside from providing us our beach chairs and towels they gave us a small hand cooler to use for an evening walk on the beach.
My husband and I love to “talk food” and local restaurants and Bill was full of fun and interesting information.
Bill and Veda were neat tidy and efficient without being picky or snooty. But don’t get me wrong a weekend (or week) at the Cypress House will make you feel special. But you can also feel at home, all at a price comparable to some of the mid-range hotels in the area. Please note this is an adult vacation. The house is not really set up for you to bring children under- 12.
Take my advice and book this B and B. You will not be sorry.

Room Tip: Call to book your room. Some have newly renovated bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B_Simas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

The Cypress House is a cozy B&B on the Outer Banks. The Innkeepers, Veda and Bill, are great people and do everything to make you feel comfortable. Bill knows many things about KDH and the OBX and has always an advice for an excursion or a restaurant. The delicious breakfast at the large table together with all other guests gives always the opportunity to meet interesting people and to have a perfect start into the day. No lunch needed after that breakfast. The afternoon, you find ice tea and homemade cookies. You can sit in a rocking chair on the porch and just enjoy the warm wind coming over from the beach. The house is located just in front of a public beach access and you only have to do a few steps to reach it. Beach chairs umbrellas and beach towels are available too. You also have enough parking places in front of the house. If you are looking for a quiet and perfect holiday with an excellent service just make your reservation in this B&B.

Room Tip: All rooms are gorgeous and decorated with love.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank floh65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, SC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

Won't repeat all the great things everyone has said about the Cypress House Inn and Veda and Bill, except to say that they are all true. If you are looking to stay in this part of the Outer Banks and you want the perfect place with exceptional hosts, this is it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hamilton Cay at Bermuda Bay
Hamilton Cay at Bermuda Bay
#15 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
18.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress House Inn

Property: Cypress House Inn
Address: 500 N Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7827
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cypress House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Planning a visit to The Outer Banks? We invite you to come and enjoy our casual but elegant seaside inn, where you can take a stroll on the beach, play in the waves, or just dip your feet in the Atlantic Ocean. Located only 125 yards from the ocean at Mile Post 8 on the Beach Road (1 Lot back from Oceanfront) in Kill Devil Hills, the Cypress House Inn is the closest bed and breakfast to the ocean. A public beach access is directly in front of the inn. We are centrally located to all area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Cypress House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress House Inn Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing