We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Hospitality at its very very best”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kill Devil Hills
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colington Creek Inn
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Southern Hospitality at its very very best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2010

If you want to be at the center of it all in the Outer Banks, but don't really want to be in the middle of everything, this is the place. Minutes from the main drag, Colington Creek Inn is a quiet private place on the Sound side (as opposed to the ocean). The rooms are lovely, the porch peaceful. But what really makes this place are innkeepers Bob and Mae. They are so gracious and friendly, and they've got all the right touches.

Every morning when we stepped onto the porch, there was coffee and juice waiting, and shortly one of our hosts would appear with a delicious breakfast. When we returned from our evening outings, there was a plate of cake, cookies or some other tasty treat--we quickly learned not to bother ordering dessert at dinner because something delicious would be waiting for us back at the Inn.

A wonderful retreat, I can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fnord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
66
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Watchung, NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2009

My sig other and I went to this B&B along with two other couples to celebrate a girlfriend of mine getting married on the Outer Banks. This B&B has a total of four rooms, each room being very comfortably apart from each other for privacy purposes. In fact, according to the owners Bob & Mae, this house was specifically built with a B&B in mind. It's only about 4 years old and is in immaculate condition. I challenge anyone to find another B&B OR hotel that keeps their house as clean as Mae does. The beds are super comfortable, has it's own private (large) bathroom, and every room has a water (bay, not ocean) view. It is not within walking distance to the beach, but the beach is less than a 5min drive time away from that location. The breakfasts were WONDERFUL! We had omelets one day, french toast the next, and whole grain cinnamon pancakes the next - all with fresh fruit and bread and unlimited coffee and/or tea and juice in the morning. There are snacks in the room waiting for you, there is a swimming pool on the premises for your use and they also offer an evening boat ride around the bay each night (although b/c of the wedding we were there for, we were unable to take part in this unfortunately). Mae's hospitality could not be beat. There was another couple that was supposed to stay there the weekend the rest of us stayed and they decided at the last minute that they wanted to stay at the hotel where the wedding was so that they would be closer to the festivities. BIG MISTAKE!!! I hesitated to write such a good review b/c all of us who went to the B&B liked it so much that we are planning a return trip there next year and we hope that it will not be booked up at the time that we want to go. :) I really cannot think of anything negative to say about this place. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing time away from kids with great breakfasts, and cozy and clean bedrooms, then this is definitely the place for you!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vhjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2009

My husband and I were married in OBX on Memorial Day weekend 2009. We booked this B&B for the Fri., Sat and Sun (we were married on Sat in Manteo) so that we would secure a beautiful place for us to spend our wedding night and it was perfect! We live 10 hrs away and I did everything online….combine that with a wedding and I was understandably nervous. Stepping into this amazing B&B instantly calmed me. Mae and Bob are wonderful and made us feel like family. My husband and I “eloped” (just the two of us) but we wanted a small reception with cake and champagne. Mae set up a beautiful table on the balcony overlooking the water and her and Bob joined us along with two of the other couples for a “mini reception” that we will always remember. The grounds are so beautiful that my husband had to take some pictures and they were some of my favorite ones from our 9 day stay in OBX. The breakfasts all 3 days were different and equally delicious. The snacks and wine in the afternoon were perfect. Our room was tastefully furnished with a wonderful view of the Creek. I would HIGHLY recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a peaceful, relaxing and romantic getaway. Count this as a glowing recommendation for a satisfied bride. Mae is an amazing hostess that is truly a treasure. We came as strangers but left as friends!! We will be back!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dixyprinxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2009

We went down for a one night stay just for a quick get away. We had no agenda but to relax and that is what we did. We loved just sitting on the porches enjoying the views.
Mae is quite the hostess and is there to meet whatever needs you may have that she can offer. All the extra small touches, glass of wine with a snack in the afternoon, cookies in the evening. Southern Hospitality at its best.
We were not able to go on the boat, weather didn't permit. But another time.
We look forward to returning and maybe bring another couple with us.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2009

We just got back from a birthday and anniversary celebration at the Colington Creek Inn.
We loved everything about it. We had a beautiful room, great views, and cozy screened porches for relaxing. We received refreshments upon arrival, before dinner, and after dinner, in addition to breakfast. We enjoyed our breakfasts on the porch with fresh flowers and china.
I selected it because the rates were a little cheaper than other places in the area, and after being there, I consider it quite a bargain for the level of service. Mae, the innkeeper, is a lovely lady who truly treats you like a favored guest in her home. If you are looking for a comfortable, clean, quiet place to relax on the waterfront, Colington Creek is perfect for you.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nextdrhood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2008

My husband and I spent four nights in this lovely inn to celebrate our 2nd anniversary. I have to say that this bed and breakfast is beautiful and the hosts delightful. It is definately not the typical flowery comforters and antiques everywhere. Mae and Bob have made it feel homey with gorgeous bedroom suites, wood floors, chip and dale sinks in the bathrooms, sunporches with daybeds, rocking chairs on the front porch, tea or coffee brewing, etc. Everything was immaculate too. The inn is completely surrounded by water which was the best. They have benches, picnic tables and hammocks all waiting for you to lounge and watch the boats go by. There is a pool, a wonderful boat ride around the island in the evening. Mae cooks up a wonderful breakfast each morning and an evening snack waiting on you when you get home from dinner, and it was different everyday we were there. On top of that, she also served a lite afternoon snack with wine before the boat ride.

Would definately recommend this inn to anyone and would love to go back for another visit sometime.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank seyana27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2008

We really loved the Colington Creek Inn. Mae and Bob were
excellent hosts. The Inn sits on the Colington Creek and affords lovely water views. The boat ride, the snack baskets in the rooms,
the nightly dessert that is set out when you return from dinner, and the wine and cheese before the boat ride make this a very nice place to stay. The Inn is tastefully decorated and the beds were so comfortable.
Mae will suggest restaurants or help with any questions you might have. We liked the location which was about a mile from the beach and activities but was away from congestion. We hope to return next year.

  • Liked — the southern hospitality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coneflowerPgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
1.6 mi away
Cypress House Inn
Cypress House Inn
#1 of 5 in Kill Devil Hills
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colington Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colington Creek Inn

Property: Colington Creek Inn
Address: 1293 Colington Rd, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-8024
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Colington Creek Inn Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing