We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome B & B, the best deal in the OBX”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kill Devil Hills
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colington Creek Inn
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome B & B, the best deal in the OBX”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We come here every year, Bob & Mae are great, bring your spouse here for a nice romantic getaway & be sure to dine at the Colington Cafe also!
They offer a boat ride in the bay as well as wine upon your arrival.
All & all it's a great place!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinHarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
69
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hammonton, NJ
Level Contributor
136 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband and I just got back from the OBX early last week and what can I say...we're ready to go back. We spent four nights with Mae & Bob (the innkeepers) at Colington Creek Inn. Originally we were set to stay for only 3 nights, but within minutes of our arrival we booked a 4th night. We stayed in the Island Room which was beautifully decorated and had great water views. It's incredibly peaceful and quiet...not to mention that the entire place is unbelievably clean and impeccably maintained. Mae and Bob are so friendly and did everything they could to make our stay a relaxing one. The delicious breakfast each morning was served on the enclosed porch overlooking the water. In the late afternoon you were treated to red or white wine, along with some cheese and fruit to hold you over till your dinner plans. When we'd come "home" in the evening, there'd be a tasty treat waiting for us. Sometimes it would be cake, other times it was cookies. Again, all delicious. My husband enjoyed fishing off of the private pier there and I loved relaxing in the hammock, listening to the water and occasionally getting a visit from the resident cat, Sylvester. No worries if you have cat allergies though, the cat does not roam the inn. Both innkeepers were knowledgeable of the area and answered any questions that we had. The charge for the rooms and all that you get with it, is more than reasonable!!!! Each day our room was made up. The bed was comfortable and the sheets and towels always smelled clean and fresh. I also loved the location. We were within minutes of restaurants, bars, shopping and the beach. However, we were just far enough off the main road to have peace & quiet. I cannot say enough about the Colington Creek Inn and Mae & Bob. I would never dream of staying anywhere else. I've been to numerous B&B's over the years and none will measure up to this one. SUPERB!

Room Tip: First, I have to say that ll of the rooms are nice. The rooms at the front of the inn do face a road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinhump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baraboo, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife and I spent four nights in the Garden Room last week and had a wonderful experience. We've stayed in many B&B's, but never one as nice and modern as this one. Upon our arrival, Mae suggested the Collington Cafe for dinner. It was superb. Each night Mae had a little treat waiting for us when we returned. The room was quiet, clean and it felt like we were at home. We used the pool once and enjoyed that. The room was air conditioned since the temps outside were in the low 90's most days. Both Mae and Taylor presented a beautiful breakfast each day to get us started. We had the whole place to ourselves for one night. This B&B is run beautifully and is not something they do as a hobby. Sorry we did not meet Bob, but maybe next time. We loved our time on the outer banks, and if we can return, we will be staying at Collington Creek Inn. We miss you already Mae.
Tom and Holly

Room Tip: Garden room faces the water and has a king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our 4-day visit couldn't have been better! Mae and Bob are warm, gracious, and eager to make your stay the best it can be. We stayed in the Boat Room, with boat decor, large dresser, refrigerator, large bathroom, and screened-in porch where Taylor served us breakfast every morning. All rooms have the same amenities, so select yours depending on whether you like early morning sun or not. Mae had wine for us the first day at 5pm, warm molasses cookies, chocolate brownies, and chocolate chip cookies on other days. Mae's recommendation of the Colington Cafe 1/4 mile up the road led us to the best dinner imaginable (you'll need her to make reservations a day in advance). We took advantage of the outdoor pool twice; it was the perfect temperature. Bob's a stitch; be sure to get him telling tales about soft-shelled crab fishing, or boat repair, or running his mower up their telephone pole guy wire.

Room Tip: You can't miss. One corner of our Boat Room didn't get wireless but I understand they are wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Astrobot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I went the OBX to celebrate our third wedding anniversary. We read great reviews about the Colington Creek Inn, and decided to give it a try. We wanted a place that was charming and comfortable, had a friendly host, and served delicious breakfast-- and we definitely got all of the above! It is a beautiful home right on the water, nicely decorated and immaculately clean. It was nice to be off the main busy road in Kill Devil Hills in a quieter area, but was a quick drive to the beach and everything else.

We were welcomed by Mae who was very kind and willing to answer any questions or offer recommendations about the area (we used her advice quite a few times!). We were in the Shell room, and loved our comfy bed, beautiful view, and spacious bathroom! We were on the road side of the house, so you do hear a little traffic, but it's not too prominent. The adorable sitting room and view of the water make up for it! We enjoyed breakfast of quiche and sweet potato pancakes (yum!) while we were there. One note - if there is a couple staying in the room across from you, you will sit at a table with them (table of 4) for breakfast. The first morning we ate with another couple, but enjoyed chatting with them. The second morning we had a table to ourselves. Just an FYI. Also, there were cookies or brownies waiting for us in the main room when we could come in after dinner! This place was just what we were looking for---the atmosphere and service were just lovely. While it certainly wasn't a "budget" place to stay, the quality experience made it worth every penny, perfect for a special occasion. We would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a charming B&B experience at the OBX!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Letsgosomewherecool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Fantastic!!!! We visited on our honeymoon and had a perfect taste of southern hospitality. We felt like family members rather than guests at a B&B. Bob and Mae were both absolutely wonderful and we couldn't have felt more comfortable on our honeymoon. Please make sure do yourself a favor and put this place on your next "To Visit" list, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heatherwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay! I stayed for the Flying Pirate Half Marathon, and was met by great owners who treated me as part of their family. Not only did they go out of their way to help out in any way, I left a pair of running gloves there(unbeknownst to me), and they mailed them to me! Talk about going above and beyond the call of duty! I greatly appreciate the simple kindnesses that happened while I was there. This is a gem I would stay at again! Thanks so much!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
836 reviews
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,186 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,492 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,433 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colington Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colington Creek Inn

Property: Colington Creek Inn
Address: 1293 Colington Rd, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-8024
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Colington Creek Inn Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing