We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute booking and couldn't be happier!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
1 review
“Last minute booking and couldn't be happier!”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

I didn't have a room booked for a one night of stay in the OBX but found the Travelodge online. Upon arrival, after a VERY long day of travel, we found we were too early to check in, but Diana made arrangements for us during this wait and went out of her way to call and inform us as soon as our room was ready. She was amazing and I will definitely book again with the TL. The room was comfortable and clean. We enjoyed every minute of our stay here!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    402
    204
    84
    50
See reviews for
494
385
52
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This hotel is very clean at all times. Rooms a little small but for no more time that we spend in the room it is perfect. Diana at front desk is excellent we were there the last 2 weekends in a row and have booked for July. She is very accommodating and very friendly. We enjoy dealing with her she makes your visit very enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Previously stayed in 2013. Enjoyed the hotel so much I called to make reservations for 2014. Spoke with Dianne at the hotel. She was very accommodating AND successful with my special request. I have 2 kids and wanted a pool view room on the north side. Gave her several different dates to work with and she never got frustrated with me. I always receive great customer service from this hotel. They are very eager to accommodate travelers. I look forward to staying with them in the future.

Room Tip: Stay on the north side as the west side rooms get warm in the evenings. First floor rooms are for p...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Satisfied C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights during the last weekend of May.

We opted for this hotel because of the great rates and great location. The lady who checked us in was incredibly kind and reminded us that all guests who stay for 2+ nights receive free access to the YMCA which is three miles down the main road. While we did not take advantage of this offer, it is a great option for those who are more dedicated to their fitness routine or those looking to entertain little ones.

The rooms were modest with slightly outdated appliances, but I was appreciative of the level of cleanliness, especially for a beach hotel. I believe each room also features a balcony, either dune-side or pool-side. Complimentary breakfast is offered every morning in the "lobby." Don't expect an expansive spread of breakfast options, but you will be able to get fueled for a day of adventure. Try to get to breakfast early or late, as seating is cramped and limited.

Location is everything, though. This hotel is nestled one street behind the beach front and one street behind the main street. Don't let the lack of beachfront hang up your decision, however, as there is a public beach access no more than 20 feet away and plenty of others to choose from along Virginia Dare Trail. Additionally, this hotel is in walking or biking distance of the Wright Brothers Memorial, a must for any vacation in Kitty Hawk/ Kill Devil Hills/ Nags Head.

Overall, if you're looking for an affordable option without all the glitz and a comfortable place to lay your head, the Travelodge: Nags Head is a great chocie.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MoogleMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens Ny
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed in a room with a king size bed and a small table and a balcony in the front of the motel with a great view of the beach across the street. We didn't go out on the balcony much , though because of the noise of the traffic and because even though our room was non- smoking, there always seemed to be someone out on their balcony smoking. Still, we enjoyed looking at the view with the sliding glass door closed. The bed was very comfortable and The breakfast in the morning was good. They had cereal and milk, donuts, microwaveable breakfast sandwiches, a juice machine, coffee, tea. The beach was a short walk across the street and was beautiful. Housekeeping could have been a little better, it appeared that they didn't clean the toilet and the tub every day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 523Deedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Had a great time this past weekend in Kill Devil Hills. The hotel was clean and had easy access to the beach. We found this hotel while looking for something pet friendly. I reserved the room with Diana on the phone and she happen to be at the desk when we checked in. She and the other staff were very friendly and accommodating. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. We hope to go back again soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.1 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
857 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,214 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
464 reviews
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
8.7 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills

Property: Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Address: 804 N Virginia Dare Trail, Milepost 8, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7833
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills NC
Travelodge Kill Devil Hills
Travel Lodge Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Travel Lodge
Kill Devil Hills Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing