We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second Time Around” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Second Time Around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

My family and I stayed in August 2013 for the second time. The first time we stayed in 2010. We had such a great experience the first time around we had a family friend come with us. Once again we were very satisfied with the room , staff, and great location. I was very impressed with the housekeeping and how they cleaned out the pool during the 5 day stay. The breakfast was a great savings for us. I think this is a great place to save money and very family oriented. The location was very good with great restaurants in the area. We have already decided to return again next Summer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsmaltz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nagsheadbeachhotel, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We always love our guest to come back and see us again. We work hard to provide a clean and comfortable stay. Our complementary breakfast is a great savings for our guest and there family. With a great cup of coffee available anytime day or night. The pool (which was recently refurbished) is a great place to unwind and is kid friendly as well. Our location is close to all the Outer Banks has to offer from great restaurant's to museums, parks,shops and of course our beautiful beaches and landmark lighthouses..We will look forward to seeing you again next summer and you can call us anytime with questions or to reserve your stay at 252-441-0411.
Sincerely,
Tabitha Jewell
Front Desk'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    377
    192
    76
    48
See reviews for
457
359
48
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Staff were friendly and the hotel is right across the street from the public beach access which was great. Our room was on the third floor, facing the ocean, so we did have an ocean view although I'm not sure lower floors on that same side would have the view. The AC unit in our room was very loud... we visited in October so we just turned it off and had no issues, but in the summer it might be a bit of a pain to try and sleep with the loud humming in the background. Although I wouldn't go so far as to say the hotel was dirty, the overall condition of the hotel is a bit older and definitely in need of an overhaul. Overall though, we had a pretty comfortable stay given the very reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fountaindrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nagsheadbeachhotel, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to let us know how your visit was. We work hard to provide a good night rest for our guest and strive to provide great customer service as well. All ocean view rooms are 3rd and 4th floor and must be requested if you would like a ocean view room. We are always in a state of maintenance and upkeep to keep our hotel updated. We are happy you had a comfortable stay and we are economically priced as well. If we can assist you with a future stay feel free to call us anytime at 252-441-0411.
Sincerely,
Tabitha Jewell
Front Desk'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

It was a last minute reservation.
When calling the hotel the reservation was $135 a night but online was $95 on another reservation site.
Place looks clean. I got 2 rooms and they gave us connected rooms which is nice. Smells like someone might have smoked in the rooms before. It is a no thrill room but is clean, has fridge and microwave (nice to warm up baby bottle)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigben974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nagsheadbeachhotel, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments on your stay with us. We do strive to provide affordable rates. We have a great housekeeping staff that works hard to provide you a clean room for our guest. Occasionally we have a guest that will smoke in a non-smoking room and we will air out and freshen room before it is rented again. We are sorry you had that issue and any future stays please let us know so we can prevent that from occurring again. We rely on our guest input to help us provide better service and a great quality stay.
252-441-0411
Sincerely,
Tabitha Jewell
Front Desk'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were here during a tropical depression/low. The people were very nice. Our room had a funny smell and they offered to move us.

Room was a good size, clean and had everything in it you could want. The mattress was incredible--the best I've slept on in a long time.

All-in-all it was a wonderful pet-friendly establishment. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tlshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nagsheadbeachhotel, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We always strive to provide our guest with the best customer service and our staff works hard to keep your room fresh, clean and maintained. We're glad even with the weather you could enjoy your stay. The beds are great and we get a lot of complements on how comfortable they are. We have the Simmons Beauty Rest Beds for that good nights sleep. We are pet friendly and want our guest with pets to always have the ability to bring there pets with them. With all pet rooms on the 1st floor we feel that makes access to the outdoors and the beach easy for you and your pets. If we can assist you with any future stays please feel free to call us at 252-441-0411 we are available 24/7 to take your calls.
Sincerely'
Tabitha Jewell
Front Desk'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.1 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Outer Banks Inn
Outer Banks Inn
#10 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills

Property: Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Address: 804 N Virginia Dare Trail, Milepost 8, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7833
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills NC
Travelodge Kill Devil Hills
Travel Lodge Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Travelodge
Kill Devil Hills Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing