We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outer Banks stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Taneytown
2 reviews
“Outer Banks stay”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Everything was really great.The only thing that could be a little nicer is if the breakfast area was a bit larger or @ a different location than right there with the check -in/check-out desk, too crowded. The king size bed was excellent. Over all had a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nagsheadbeachhotel, Manager at Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We appreciate your taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We too wish we could have a larger breakfast area. We actually had plans to expand this past winter. However, when it came time to get approval from the town they refused to allow us to do anything. Without their permission our hands are tied. We have remodeled the breakfast area adding a larger counter area as well as more table and chairs.

We do have Simmons Beauty rest beds and we often hear how comfortable they are. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and slept well. We do hope you will come stay with us again soon. If I can assist you with a future stay please

Sincerely,
Sherrie Cahoon
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    386
    197
    79
    48
See reviews for
469
371
49
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mineral
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We arrived at 1:00 PM with our dog. Our room was not ready and we were told we had a guaranteed 4:00 PM check in. There were people showing up later than us and getting their rooms. There seemed to be no adjustment for having shown up early, nor were they receptive to calling when the room was available. Well the guarantee was accurate. We got in at 4:00. The rooms are small, the lighting was very poor, no sitting area, old CRT TVs, and 80's carpeting. The location is good, across the street from public access, the frig was cold and the maid service was good. The only reason we would stay there again is because they are pet friendly. Otherwise there are nicer places in the area for about the same money on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank outerbks55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nagsheadbeachhotel, Manager at Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
I am sorry that you arrived earlier than our designated check in time of 4 pm. We stress to all of our guest that check in time begins at 4 pm. This is posted on our website and also written on your confirmation sheet that you received via email after booking. This is the statement that you received with your confirmation in regards to check in time. (Check in time does not begin until 4 pm. We do not have an early check in. Please remember when making travel plans that the rooms are not available until 4 pm.) There is no way we can guarantee anyone that they can check in prior to this time frame. Each room takes time to prepare from the 11 am check out time until the 4 pm arrival of the new guest. We have 97 rooms to service every day in season. This process includes housekeepers cleaning the rooms, maintenance may have to make repairs, carpets may be being cleaned, and an inspector must check the rooms after these employees to make sure it is ready for you stay. We do work very hard to provide each guest with a clean and well maintained room. We do from time to time have a few rooms ready around 2 pm. Keep in mind the housekeepers also do their stay overs between 10 and 2. Check out is not until 11 am. And it takes us all day to get everything done. We do offer anyone arriving prior to check in the use of our pool and rest rooms as well as parking here and going to the beach.

We do have a table and two chairs in each room and we also have a table and two chairs on the patio or balconies of all of our rooms. There are multiple lamps in each rooms as well as ceiling lighting. The carpet in the pet rooms is actually new as well as the carpet in the hall way. We also have new bedding in all of our pet friendly rooms.

I am glad you enjoyed our location and that our housekeeping staff took good care of you. It is always our goal to provide great accommodations and service for each of our guest. We do hope you and your pet will consider staying with us again should you have the opportunity to visit our area. Please feel free to contact me if I can be of further assistance to you in the future.

Sincerely,
Sherrie Cahoon
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
227 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 414 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My family and I just spent three nights at this Travelodge this summer. We would rate it a solid 3.5 for the following reasons:

PROS:
Though the hotel isn't right on the beach, it has very easy and close access to the beach. We could go to the beach and zip back to our room without a problem.

The staff are all very friendly and helpful.

The pool was very clean and refreshing. They turn the waterfall at night to cut down on the noise level.

The hotel is well maintained for the most part and the rooms are clean. *

There's a bike rental one block away that rents for the day or week. Easy to grab a bike and drop it off afterwards. This was a bonus for us.

It was very quiet, though it was completely filled when we were there. The only time we heard a peep was when the people above us would close their sliding glass door to their balcony.

Each room has its own balcony either overlooking the pool or the surrounding area. We got a room on the second floor overlooking the pool based upon reviews. I actually think a room overlooking the surrounding area would be fine too and certainly more private. If you can land a poolside room on the two upper levels, you'll have the same view as those rooms considered "Ocean view" with a lower price tag.

Plenty of parking and it appears that most people don't use their cars because when we used ours, we always got the same parking spot each time. Really nice!

We like the folks who stay at this facility. They were respectful and friendly. A nice mixture of couples and families.

Like that the beach has lifeguards from 10am until 5:30 each night during the summer months.

CONS:

Breakfast needs some more variety. A LOT of starches! Adding yogurt would be a great addition! Of course it's free, so you take what you get. Also, it doesn't appear that they restock after 9am (at least the doughnuts) so get there early.

The rooms are small! We got a room with two double beds and rented a cot for our two adults and three children. The only place the cot would fit was right in front of the bathroom! We literally had to crawl over the person sleeping there to get to the bathroom. Not cool! I'm wondering if all of the hotel rooms in the OBX are on the smaller size since another hotel we were considering wouldn't allow more than four people in their rooms.

The cot that we rented was HORRIBLE! Springs sticking in your from all directions. Sadly, the springs were in the mattress so there was no escaping it. To make it sleepable, we put some folded towels down and it helped. They should have paid US the $10/night to sleep on it. I would suggest that you bring your own. Not only would it be more comfortable, but it might just fit between the two double beds.

Though the rates were reasonable, we thought they were a tad high compared to some of the other hotels in the KDH area which were right on the beach and appeared just as nice, if not nicer.

* Our bathroom had a huge water stain from the room above us and though we contacted the front desk to let them know, it doesn't appear that anything was done about it. Throughout our stay, it just kept getting wetter and the stain kept getting larger.

I realize that perhaps based upon my negative points, you may be wondering why I'm giving this place a 3.5. It's because Econolodges aren't known for their frills. They're known to be more on the more basic side. With that said, this is above the normal Econolodge. It's a good clean place for someone wanting to visiting the OBX on a budget, but with all the services that the larger facilities offer, just on a smaller scale.

SUGGESTED ACTIVITY FOR THE KIDS: Visit the beach after dark with a flashlight to find the little crabs that come out. Some folks catch them with a net while others simply view them. You can't eat them, but they are cute!

FYI: The ocean seemed to be the most calm during the mornings and proceeded to get rougher as the day went on.

Room Tip: Request the top floor pool-side room for the same view of the ocean as the oceanview rooms, but at a...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank GwenP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nagsheadbeachhotel, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for taking time to let us know of your stay. We do feel we offer the best possible experience as well as a clean and comfortable room, and priced at an affordable price. As well as a great staff that is knows the area well an is always ready to assist you with any questions or suggestions. We are mandated thru the Nation chain on what we can offer for breakfast and actually offer more than recommended. We do also have along with your breakfast items , fresh fruit as well as juices. We would love to offer yogurt and are attempting to add that to what we already have, but must await approval. In regards to the size of the rooms they are standard size rooms and can comfortably host a group of 4 or less. This is the average size room for the Outer Banks. We do try to keep rooms staged in a way that is easy to access and when needing a rolloway bed they can fit in a room with 2 full size beds but should be kept folded up for easier access until needed. As of this past winter we have replaced all rolloway beds with new and more comfortable ones. We are always in a constant state of renovating and do offer this for guest who need them. I believe guest will find the new ones to quite nice. If you are a larger group we do recommend additional rooms or perhaps the suite room. It does have 2 queen beds and a very nice new queen hideaway, pullout couch, it is a larger room and can easily hold groups comfortably up to 6. Please feel free to ask us about this room when calling for reservations or questions on what will be best for your group. We strive to be a 5 star hotel and appreciate your comments. We can be reached directly any hour at 252-441-0411.
Sincerely,
Tabitha Filer
Front Desk'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.1 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Outer Banks Inn
Outer Banks Inn
#9 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills

Property: Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Address: 804 N Virginia Dare Trail, Milepost 8, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7833
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills NC
Travelodge Kill Devil Hills
Travel Lodge Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Travel Lodge
Kill Devil Hills Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing