We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Right on the water...I mean steps away!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Ranch Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Ranch Resort
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Tilghman, Maryland
Level Contributor
423 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Right on the water...I mean steps away!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

Now I was on vacation with my daughter's family, so I am not sure how much they paid to stay in the two bedroom suite, but I can tell you that we literally walked out the door and were in the sand. The sunrise was unbelievable and the beach is not very crowded in the morning.
We stayed in one of the rooms that had not been renovated and while it needed updating and some TLC, it was very clean and well supplied. The room darkening drapes allowed us to lengthen the children's morning so we could have some time before they awakened. The sunroom made a noise barrier that snuffed out loud ocean waves, so I had a great nights sleep. We cooked in for most meals, which kept our budget under control and when we did go out there were many restaurants within walking distance or a short drive. There are attractions such as the Wright Brother's museum very close by.
The best thing was the family friendly atmosphere. What a great little piece of beach this place has.

Room Tip: For the kids ask for a room close to the stairs to the beach so you can get all the beach toys there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Born_to_go61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed the view from the condo-style suite during your recent stay and that it met your expectations and added all of the home like conveniences! We are beginning a renovation to those units this coming off season that will bring many upgrades to the suites. Keep in touch with our website and social media for updates! . We look forward to having you back soon!

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    232
    66
    32
    24
See reviews for
273
317
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Farmville, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

This was our first time staying in the OBX and we couldn't have picked a better place to spend the weekend. From the moment we checked in, it was a great experience. Our dining experience was fantastic but our room was the icing on the cake. The view was spectacular! Room was clean, appliances all up to date and the environment was just right. This will definitely be a place we return to in the near future. Thanks so much for making our stay so wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful five-star review! We hope you will make the Sea Ranch Resort a new vacation tradition! WE look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

The sea ranch has newly renovated rooms. The room service was good and they always came by to supply clean linen. The room was clean upon arrival and we even had a small fridge, sink and microwave for our food. We really enjoyed our stay at the Sea Ranch Resort! We would definitely visit again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ksmith0158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay and compliments to our rooms and views. We look forward to having you all back out for another stay!!

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

The Sea Ranch Resort is the closest you can get in oceanfront for amazingly low prices. The place is so close to the beach high tide almost hits the hotel. I've been coming here 4 yrs in a row now and its always been fantastic. The staff are from the old school of hospitality "where you take care of ur guests as family".For awesome views of the beach and the ocean at your feet.. check out the Sea Ranch ..

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Constantine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for your all your kind comments. We love to hear that you feel at home each time you visit. We strive to make everything as comfortable as possible for you. Thank you for choosing the Sea Ranch Resort. We can't wait to have you back!

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

For the cost of the condo and the partial stay option this place can not be beat! The furnishing were contemporary. The floors and bathrooms were clean. Beds are very comfortable. Hotel is dated, but reflected in the price. Just being right on the beach is awesome. We opened the screened windows on the glass sunroom and sliding glass door (leaving the black out curtain closed) to be lulled into sleep by the ocean. The food in the Bistro is typical hotel fare, but the discount and the proximity is great. The staff was kind and helpful even with a wedding there Saturday night!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeegganS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed so much about your stay at the Sea Ranch Resort! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

My family visited OBX for the first time ever this year and had a great time. The staff was very polite, rooms were the cleanest we have ever stayed in for a beach resort. You can't beat the breakfast at the Bistro. We will be coming back next year.

Room Tip: The oceanfront suites are the best. We bought fresh seafood from Billy's Seafood and made all o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachbum142099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Sea Ranch Resort! We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay! I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your suite so much and considered this to be one of your 'Best vacations ever'! We hope this is the beginning of a new tradition!

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

We reserved one BDRM suite, but wanted an ocean view. We upgraded for an extra 100.00 or so and I loved it. It was ON the ocean and a 2 bedrm condo was more than large enough for all 4 of us. Con: one of the toilets didn't work.We got clean towels but you have to clean the rm yourself.Overall, I would rate it a 5.5
out of 10.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for your recent review. I am glad to hear that we were able to upgrade your group and the accommodations worked out so well! We apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced and hope that you will consider returning when you visit the Outer Banks in the future.

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
16.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Ranch Resort

Property: Sea Ranch Resort
Address: 1731 N Virginia Dare Trl, PO Box 325, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Ranch Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the room accommodations that reflect a coastal color palette and modern room finishes that will create a relaxing and comfortable space for your stay. Convenient on-site amenities include an enclosed heated pool (seasonal),fitness center, outside picnic area and grill. The Sea Ranch also welcomes you to our oceanfront restaurant, the Beachside Bistro, which offers a delightful menu with a focus on American Coastal Cuisine. Join us in the dining room or on our deck where you can soak in the beautiful ocean view! Beachfront Resort: All rooms on the oceanfront and main building include: microwaves, refrigerators, Cable TV and Internet. Oceanfront Suites: 2 BR / 2 Bath fully equipped, condo style suites. Each suite offers a fully equipped kitchen, washer & dryer and living room with a sleeper sofa! Minimum of a 2 night stay required in season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Sea Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Ranch Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Ranch Resort Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing