We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CLEAN! & Comfy!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Ranch Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sea Ranch Resort
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Bumpass, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“CLEAN! & Comfy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

I found this hotel due to the reviews and ratings on trip advisor. This hotel was wonderful. The people were very helpful and wonderful. We had used the sizzler package and the beach tote was full of awesome goodies. More than what I expected. We also got to enjoy the breakfast at the bistro included with the package. We didn't have any problems getting to the beach as well as the shopping. It was in a very nice area and was off the road. The pool was also clean and wonderful. They keep the windows open in the pool area so you still get the feel of being outside. The weather was good but it did rain but wasn't a big downfall to our stay. Ocean was VERY cold. We weren't able to get an ocean front room because they were full but our room was very clean and just right. All in all this hotel is fantastic and we plan to return!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thanks for sharing your review with the trip advisor community! I am so glad to hear how much you enjoyed the Sizzler Package & Welcome Tote! It was a pretty sweet deal! Keep in touch for upcoming specials and promotions! We hope you can make it back this way soon!

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    238
    70
    31
    26
See reviews for
279
323
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Murray, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed here for a week on our first trip to the Outer Banks. The rates were extremely reasonable and the rooms were clean and well-maintained. The ocean-front rooms are amazing, putting you so close to the water that you have to go out on the balcony to see the sand if you're on one of the higher floors. The beach here didn't seem to be overly crowded, and the kids loved playing in the indoor pool out front.

We had a bit of trouble with our A/C midweek, but Chris and Gregory from maintenance helped to get that sorted quickly, even though it was rather late at night when we had the problem. They were professional and courteous, and even asked us later in our stay how things were going. I can't compliment them enough.

The location was ideal for us, as we had activities planned in various places from Manteo to Corolla. The drive to either of those places wasn't bad at all, so I'd highly recommend this area to anyone who plans to bounce around to different locations during their stay.

Room Tip: Definitely get an ocean-front room/suite. The view is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thanks for taking time to review!

I wanted to first extend a special THANKS for your patience and understanding for mechanical issues we had with your A/C unit. Those issues are unforeseen and we do work hard to remedy them as quickly as possible! I will be certain to pass your kind words on to the staff too!

Looks like you all were able to take full advantage of all our amenities and found our location to be the perfect home base for all of the travelling between local area attractions! We definitely are lucky to have a great central location!

We hope that you will make the Sea Ranch Resort a part of a new Outer Banks tradition!

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeway, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

If found the hotel to be very clean and the staff very friendly. I was a little disappointed that the pool was not bigger but it was still nice. The restaurant was good, a little pricey but then all of the food was pricey down there. I would recommend this hotel as a place to stay. But the ocean was freezing. They said it depended on which way the wind was blowing as to whether the warm water from the south was coming up or down from the north. The best part about the stay was seeing the dolphins swim by every morning. Beds were very hard/firm. Did not really hear from the neighbors unless you were out on the balcony. We were on the 3rd floor.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review! We hope you will return to the Sea Ranch when travels bring you back to the OBX!

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed in the sea ranch for three nights last week. The staff were v helpful and knowledgeable. Our room was clean and spacious and the beds comfortable. We had a balcony which sadly overlooked the car park but was fine. The bistro serves good food both breakfast and dinner with live music in the evenings. Terrific location right on the beach and great value. Was v sorry to leave.

Room Tip: Try for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marypendine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
We're sorry you had to leave too!

Let us know if we can help you plan your next visit!! Thanks for taking the time to review!

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Got the room for cheap cheap through expedia. Service was blah and room needed vacuumed but I am very pleased nonetheless.

Got a non-ocean view and my side on building by the road did not have an elevator.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review. I am in hopes that you brought these issues to the attention to the front desk regarding cleanliness so we could address is at that time. It is not acceptable to have a room checked into when it is not clean. Feel free to contact me if you'd like to discuss this. info@searanchresort.com

Thanks again for your review.

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Just returned home from our third annual sisters week. Once again Sea Ranch was wonderful. Had a great time and enjoyed our stay and the delicious food at the Beachside Bistro. Looking forward to next years trip.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynch216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are excited to hear that you all had a great THIRD ANNUAL Sister's Week and honored that you have chosen the Sea Ranch for your destination each year! That's great! We Hope to see you all back this way soon!

Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

The condo was wonderful, we just had a horrible time getting our bags to the 4th floor and back again. When we got there, we got one of the 3-wheeled carts (get rid of these immediately). We ended up spilling all our luggage twice just wheeling across the lot to the elevator. Luckily, the sales reps and maintenance crew rushed to help us and got us up to our room (they helped us make two trips up). When we checked out, we couldn't find a cart anywhere and concluded that some folks got crafty and took a cart in the night before (you know who you are). Other than the loading and unloading, it was great. We have stayed here many times, in the oceanside rooms, in the oceanfront unit, but this was our first in a condo. Very nice and spacious for just us three. Love the closeness to the beach and the bistro is very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thanks for your review! I am glad you enjoyed your stay! We value you as a loyal repeat guest and we will definately look into the luggage carts! I am glad that the staff recognized your struggle and were fast acting in helping get you all settled in with your luggage so you could continue with your vacation!

Please let me know if I can assist you planning your next visit!

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
16.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Ranch Resort

Property: Sea Ranch Resort
Address: 1731 N Virginia Dare Trl, PO Box 325, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Ranch Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the room accommodations that reflect a coastal color palette and modern room finishes that will create a relaxing and comfortable space for your stay. Convenient on-site amenities include an enclosed heated pool (seasonal),fitness center, outside picnic area and grill. The Sea Ranch also welcomes you to our oceanfront restaurant, the Beachside Bistro, which offers a delightful menu with a focus on American Coastal Cuisine. Join us in the dining room or on our deck where you can soak in the beautiful ocean view! Beachfront Resort: All rooms on the oceanfront and main building include: microwaves, refrigerators, Cable TV and Internet. Oceanfront Suites: 2 BR / 2 Bath fully equipped, condo style suites. Each suite offers a fully equipped kitchen, washer & dryer and living room with a sleeper sofa! Minimum of a 2 night stay required in season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sea Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Ranch Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Ranch Resort Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing