We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at Sea Ranch!”
Review of Sea Ranch Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sea Ranch Resort
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Wonderful stay at Sea Ranch!”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The staff was very friendly and helpful (we arrived late in the evening and were exhausted) with a quick check in. The room and bathroom were very clean and the carpet throughout the part we stayed in was brand new. The room was equiped with a larger than dorm-sized fridge, a microwave which came in handy and a single cup coffee pot which I enjoyed because I got a freshly brewed cup every time! Even though the parking lot was nearly full to capacity, there was no noise once we got in our room like places. The beds were extremely comfortable with nice pillows unlike a lot of hotels I've stayed in. I would certainly stay here again and would recommend the Sea Ranch to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! I am so happy to hear that the staff took such good care of you and will be sure to share this with them! I am also excited to hear that the accommodations exceeded your expectations! We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    265
    74
    33
    27
See reviews for
305
350
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We booked a quick family getaway in the two bedroom - two bathroom condos. The ocean view and enclosed balcony were perfect. We brought items to cook in our fully equiped kitchen, and enjoyed being close to all of the best spots in the outer banks area. The bedrooms were comfy and the entire condo was very clean. The whole family enjoyed using the enclosed balcony and I loved waking up each day to that amazing view. We will definately return for another stay in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyZablanGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and found our location to be a great home base for all of the Outer Banks attractions you visited during your trip! We appreciate you taking the time to post this great review and look forward to seeing you in the future very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
192 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We had a 2 bedroom condo that was an oceanfront room. The enclosed balcony was great because the weather was in the 50's at night. The kitchen was well equipped (bring your own salt, pepper and coffee). Bed was comfortable and the ocean view was faboulous. The on site restaurant had good food reasonably priced. Will stay here again if we come back to the area. The Wright Brothers National Memorial was about a mile away. There are many attractions within a short drive. Beach access great. - didn't use the pool.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeB730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
I am glad to hear that you all enjoyed your stay! Many of our guest comment on how much they enjoy the the enclosed oceanfront balconies in the suites when the weather is cooler and/or rainy!

There are so many things to do with in minutes of our location! We hope that you are able to get back out this way and do a little more exploring! We look forward to having you back!

Thanks for taking the time to share your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Granted we booked online and might have not hit all the right buttons, but our room was nothing like all the wonderful reviews. No ocean views, not even an indoor community sitting area to look at the ocean. Our room was in the smaller street side building (no elevator). We stayed 3 nights midweek. They did not seem fully booked. We had to wait for the desk clerk to have a phone conversation for quite a while before the desk clerk acknowledged us. Finally my husband got out his credit card and driver's license and laid it on the counter to start the procedure. We were acknowledged and continued the phone conversation during the process. The clerk was nice, just clueless. We did check in late the first night, and were very tired from driving, and did not want to go through the hassle again, so we did not asked to be moved to another room. We stayed out of the room as much as possible so the benefit was that we saw lots of the area. The room was dark, musty smelling, the bedspread smelled like wet dogs. The bed was a basic king. The room was large, with a couch, table and chairs and a TV (did not watch). The internet was not strong enough in our room to load pages before timing out. The desk clerk suggested I call the internet service provider and have it fixed. The internet only worked in the check in/front desk area (with the television blaring). The on-site restaurant was closed, which was not mentioned when we booked. I might not have been so disappointed had we not picked this place specifically from photos and reviews in anticipation for a great first visit to the area for my husband.

Room Tip: There is a smaller building next to the road, that is not shown which has no elevator or views (buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moondance274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reidsville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed here this past weekend, and it was very nice. Not fancy, but clean and pleasant. The staff was so sweet! I would definitely recommend it to anyone lucky enough to go Kill Devil Hills. They have a nice pool (indoor, heated), so you can swim even when the weather isn't accommodating. They have a nice café and had music there on the weekend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed so much about your recent stay with us! I will be sure to pass your kind words along to our staff, and we all look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The ocean front room we had with floor to ceiling glass windows and a door had a spectacular view of the ocean and given the fact the beach is quite short in this area the ocean seems to almost come into your room. The front desk was very professional and friendly. We had breakfast included in our package and again ate with great views of the ocean. In spite of bad weather we had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay! We hope that you can make it back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed for a week at the Sea Ranch Resort in April, and we were quite pleased with our stay. The price was good; we wouldn't have found a house ON the beach for what we paid here, and we really wanted to stay ocean-front. For that reason, we decided to give it a shot, and that was a great decision. We had a condo on the third floor, and the view was awesome! We enjoyed numerous beautiful sunrises, and on one morning, we watched the dolphins in the water for quite some time. Being able to see them without leaving the room was great!

The rooms were not overly fancy, but it's clean and the beds are comfortable. The rooms could use a makeover (things are a bit dated); we were told a remodel is coming soon. There were two flat-screen TVs, and there was even a cable to hook up a DVD player (which we did to watch a movie one night). The kitchen was adequate, but would have been better if there was a larger baking sheet (at least pizza sized). We were quite happy with the condo.

There is a restaurant on site, but it was only open for breakfast on the weekend during the off-season. We had a couple of breakfast sandwiches, though, and they were fantastic. The prices were good, and the staff was very nice. I wish we'd have been able to try more at the restaurant, but understand why they aren't open all week. They had live music on Saturday night, which was nice, too.

The beach wasn't huge, but it wasn't crowded, either (in April). It was perfect. The kids enjoyed playing in the surf/sand and picking up shells that washed ashore. We also were able to walk down to the Avalon Fishing Pier, which provided nice views of the beach. We never did make it to the pool, so we can't comment on that.

The location couldn't be better. You're right in the heart of everything. There are tons of attractions nearby; the Wright Brothers monument is VERY close, as are numerous restaurants, shops, & other activities. It's a quick drive to the attractions in Manteo and not too far up to the wild horses in Corolla. We couldn't have been happier with the location!

The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They answered questions and took care of every issue we had quickly. Something was left in our fridge, but they were very apologetic & took care of it. They also recommended local restaurants when we asked, which turned out to be great.

We would definitely stay at the Sea Ranch Resort again, and we will recommend it to friends going to the Outer Banks!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing such a detailed review! I am glad to hear that you all enjoyed the in-room and on-site amenities as well as the convenient location to local attractions and dining! I will aslo be sure to pass along all of your kind words on to our staff!

We look forward to seeing you back this way soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
16.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,190 reviews
8.8 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,496 reviews
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Ranch Resort

Property: Sea Ranch Resort
Address: 1731 N Virginia Dare Trl, PO Box 325, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Ranch Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the room accommodations that reflect a coastal color palette and modern room finishes that will create a relaxing and comfortable space for your stay. Convenient on-site amenities include an enclosed heated pool (seasonal),fitness center, outside picnic area and grill. The Sea Ranch also welcomes you to our oceanfront restaurant, the Beachside Bistro, which offers a delightful menu with a focus on American Coastal Cuisine. Join us in the dining room or on our deck where you can soak in the beautiful ocean view! Beachfront Resort: All rooms on the oceanfront and main building include: microwaves, refrigerators, Cable TV and Internet. Oceanfront Suites: 2 BR / 2 Bath fully equipped, condo style suites. Each suite offers a fully equipped kitchen, washer & dryer and living room with a sleeper sofa! Minimum of a 2 night stay required in season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sea Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Ranch Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Ranch Resort Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing