We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“rt on the beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Ranch Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sea Ranch Resort
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“rt on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

We bought a groupon that included daily bkfst which for several days was served in the hotel dinner and several days served from the Pirate restaurant across the street. OUr room did not face the ocean but was located in a building perpendicular to the ocean rooms. All rooms have a small balcony but ours just faced the parking lot. The hotel staff were nice but the young hotel clerk that was there evenings was really kind and friendly. Overall the room was ok and the beds comfy but not luxurious. We did not spend much time in the room so it was fine for us. Every morning I went to the beach behind the hotel and got great sun rise photos with sea gulls and dolphins as well. One night i had the restaurants crab cakes which were all crab and also had the conch fritters. The french fries and crab were good but the conch was not worth it.Overall for the groupon price of $55/night w/ bkfst i say we would stay again.

Room Tip: If you want ocean views from the balcony make sure you stay in the right building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cchamelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review! I am glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of the great package offered through GROUPON. It's also nice to see that you were not only pleased with the off-season value, but your overall expectations were met with regards to your room, customer service, and convenience to everything!

We hope that you will return when travel leads you back to the Outer Banks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    238
    70
    31
    26
See reviews for
279
323
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ocracoke, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

The Sea Ranch resort is lovely, great location and caring, friendly staff.
The room was clean; the bed very comfortable.
All the hoped for amenities are included - bottled water, popcorn, coffee, toiletries, wifi, TV.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for your recent review! We are happy to hear we were able to meet all of your expectations for your stay and hope that you will be back to visit the Sea Ranch again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, North Carolina
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed in Room 223. The unit is large and spacious, allowing us to truly "sit back and relax". The unit has two bedrooms with an attached bathroom. The unit has a full kitchen and dining room, washer and dryer. We enjoyed the enclosed balcony overlooking the ocean.

The decor and furnishings were out dated, however the room was so clean that it did not matter.

Front Desk was helpful at check-in.

I did want to mention that the tub stopper did not seem to work in the second bedroom.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maleta07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review the Sea Ranch on Trip Advisor! I am glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our condo-style suites. I would like to let you know that our ownership has a 'refresh' for all of these suites planned that will include updating furnishings, bedding, some flooring and kitchens ( just to mention a few things). Right now we are looking for this to begin 2015.

We hope that if you are in the area that you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Sea Ranch Resort over Thanksgiving weekend. The staff was exceptionally friendly. We took advantage of a Groupon and were very pleased with our stay. The room was new and clean, including the bathroom. The restaurant was wonderful and we had the same waitress every morning for three mornings.

Althought the pool was heated, we were there over a very cold weekend, and we didn't think the pool was warm enough to use. That's our only "complaint" and I use that term loosely. I would recommend this resort to everyone!

Room Tip: You'd be missing out if you did not book an Oceanview Room, the views are spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suescarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share about your recent visit to the Sea Ranch. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the staff made you all feel so at home! I will pass along your kind words! As far as the pool, there has been some confusion with GROUPON purchasers that we offer an indoor heated pool rather than an enclosed atrium around our pool. Although the pool is heated to 81 degrees, the temperature inside is very close to the actual outside temperature and if we have colder wintry temps, it's not usually ideal for swimming. We do however offer our guest passes to our local YMCA that does offer an indoor heated pool for those looking to swim.

We hope that you will return to Sea Ranch your next trip to the Outer Banks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

I read other reviews before booking the Sea Ranch Resort through Groupon. We went during Thanksgiving week and even on the sunny days, the wind was gusting and it was quite cold. Our oceanfront room had a wall of windows and even at low tide it seemed as if the ocean was rolling right up to our balcony, so we were able to enjoy the beach without actually freezing on it! The hotel was clean and the rooms were beautifully decorated and quite comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The front desk provided us great directions on several occasions and the cleaning staff was quick to attend to our needs. We did not get a chance to try the indoor pool, but every afternoon there were families enjoying it. As part of our Groupon package, we received a few breakfast vouchers to the Jolly Roger and to the Beach Bistro (breakfast only on Sat & Sun during the winter).The food at both restaurants was very good, although both restaurants were quite busy toward the weekend and service was slow, not surprisingly. We really enjoyed our stay at Sea Ranch Resort at OBX and we will return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vinom8ker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review the Sea Ranch! I am glad to hear your room provided you with such a great home base since the weather was windy and cold during your visit. We hope that you will return as it warms up a little and you can explore more of the Outer Banks! It's a beautiful place!

Feel free to contact us if we can assist you in planning your next trip and stay in touch for upcoming events and special offers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Sea Ranch Resort. It was the week of Thanksgiving. It was very cold outside. The room was warm and cozy. The restaurant was a great place to view the ocean without freezing. The food was great too! We've never been to the Outer Banks before. We had a great time and plan on going back when the weather is a little warmer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your off season stay at the Sea Ranch! Warmer weather will be back before we know it! We'd love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
408 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

I have reviewed The Sea Ranch before and would like to provide an update. My wife and I are frequent visitors, as the property is one of the few located right on the beach. Barbara Gusler, the general manager and her delightful staff extend themselves to make each stay memorable. We especially like their specials and try to take advantage of them whenever possible. These usually include vouchers to their first class bar and grill located on premises as well as to The Jolly Roger, one of our favorite restaurants in the vicinity. The Sea Ranch recently installed a fine exercise room which reduces the need to work out at the local YMCA (which, incidentally includes a free pass). In the past, I have had a problem with their Wi-Fi delivery; however, that has since been corrected. Great experience, very well managed property and an overall great value.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tfig218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thanks for being such a loyal guest and part of our Sea Ranch Family! We appreciate your reviews that reflect the attention that we give to guest suggestions, etc! We will see you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
16.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Ranch Resort

Property: Sea Ranch Resort
Address: 1731 N Virginia Dare Trl, PO Box 325, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Ranch Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the room accommodations that reflect a coastal color palette and modern room finishes that will create a relaxing and comfortable space for your stay. Convenient on-site amenities include an enclosed heated pool (seasonal),fitness center, outside picnic area and grill. The Sea Ranch also welcomes you to our oceanfront restaurant, the Beachside Bistro, which offers a delightful menu with a focus on American Coastal Cuisine. Join us in the dining room or on our deck where you can soak in the beautiful ocean view! Beachfront Resort: All rooms on the oceanfront and main building include: microwaves, refrigerators, Cable TV and Internet. Oceanfront Suites: 2 BR / 2 Bath fully equipped, condo style suites. Each suite offers a fully equipped kitchen, washer & dryer and living room with a sleeper sofa! Minimum of a 2 night stay required in season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sea Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Ranch Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Ranch Resort Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing