We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sit back and Relax!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sea Ranch Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sea Ranch Resort
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Buxton, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Sit back and Relax!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed in Room 223. The unit is large and spacious, allowing us to truly "sit back and relax". The unit has two bedrooms with an attached bathroom. The unit has a full kitchen and dining room, washer and dryer. We enjoyed the enclosed balcony overlooking the ocean.

The decor and furnishings were out dated, however the room was so clean that it did not matter.

Front Desk was helpful at check-in.

I did want to mention that the tub stopper did not seem to work in the second bedroom.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maleta07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review the Sea Ranch on Trip Advisor! I am glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our condo-style suites. I would like to let you know that our ownership has a 'refresh' for all of these suites planned that will include updating furnishings, bedding, some flooring and kitchens ( just to mention a few things). Right now we are looking for this to begin 2015.

We hope that if you are in the area that you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    247
    71
    31
    27
See reviews for
291
328
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Sea Ranch Resort over Thanksgiving weekend. The staff was exceptionally friendly. We took advantage of a Groupon and were very pleased with our stay. The room was new and clean, including the bathroom. The restaurant was wonderful and we had the same waitress every morning for three mornings.

Althought the pool was heated, we were there over a very cold weekend, and we didn't think the pool was warm enough to use. That's our only "complaint" and I use that term loosely. I would recommend this resort to everyone!

Room Tip: You'd be missing out if you did not book an Oceanview Room, the views are spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suescarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share about your recent visit to the Sea Ranch. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the staff made you all feel so at home! I will pass along your kind words! As far as the pool, there has been some confusion with GROUPON purchasers that we offer an indoor heated pool rather than an enclosed atrium around our pool. Although the pool is heated to 81 degrees, the temperature inside is very close to the actual outside temperature and if we have colder wintry temps, it's not usually ideal for swimming. We do however offer our guest passes to our local YMCA that does offer an indoor heated pool for those looking to swim.

We hope that you will return to Sea Ranch your next trip to the Outer Banks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

I read other reviews before booking the Sea Ranch Resort through Groupon. We went during Thanksgiving week and even on the sunny days, the wind was gusting and it was quite cold. Our oceanfront room had a wall of windows and even at low tide it seemed as if the ocean was rolling right up to our balcony, so we were able to enjoy the beach without actually freezing on it! The hotel was clean and the rooms were beautifully decorated and quite comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The front desk provided us great directions on several occasions and the cleaning staff was quick to attend to our needs. We did not get a chance to try the indoor pool, but every afternoon there were families enjoying it. As part of our Groupon package, we received a few breakfast vouchers to the Jolly Roger and to the Beach Bistro (breakfast only on Sat & Sun during the winter).The food at both restaurants was very good, although both restaurants were quite busy toward the weekend and service was slow, not surprisingly. We really enjoyed our stay at Sea Ranch Resort at OBX and we will return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vinom8ker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review the Sea Ranch! I am glad to hear your room provided you with such a great home base since the weather was windy and cold during your visit. We hope that you will return as it warms up a little and you can explore more of the Outer Banks! It's a beautiful place!

Feel free to contact us if we can assist you in planning your next trip and stay in touch for upcoming events and special offers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Sea Ranch Resort. It was the week of Thanksgiving. It was very cold outside. The room was warm and cozy. The restaurant was a great place to view the ocean without freezing. The food was great too! We've never been to the Outer Banks before. We had a great time and plan on going back when the weather is a little warmer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your off season stay at the Sea Ranch! Warmer weather will be back before we know it! We'd love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
429 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

I have reviewed The Sea Ranch before and would like to provide an update. My wife and I are frequent visitors, as the property is one of the few located right on the beach. Barbara Gusler, the general manager and her delightful staff extend themselves to make each stay memorable. We especially like their specials and try to take advantage of them whenever possible. These usually include vouchers to their first class bar and grill located on premises as well as to The Jolly Roger, one of our favorite restaurants in the vicinity. The Sea Ranch recently installed a fine exercise room which reduces the need to work out at the local YMCA (which, incidentally includes a free pass). In the past, I have had a problem with their Wi-Fi delivery; however, that has since been corrected. Great experience, very well managed property and an overall great value.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tfig218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thanks for being such a loyal guest and part of our Sea Ranch Family! We appreciate your reviews that reflect the attention that we give to guest suggestions, etc! We will see you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We bought a Groupon for the Sea Ranch Resort. Since the weather (Nov.) was too cold for outdoor swimming, we chose the SR for the indoor heated pool. Turns out the pool is indoor, but in a totally separate building, which was NOT heated. When I inquired, I was informed the pool is heated, but the building is not. There is also an exhaust fan pulling what little warm air out. I swam one or two laps; my daughter didn't get in past her waist. We were very disappointed that the "resort" had a pool that was virtually unusable, since we had planned to swim and read and relax by the pool.
That being said, the suite was great. Housekeeping takes pride in their jobs, as everything was spic and span. The carpet had a few stains, but beds, baths, linens, kitchen were all clean. The waves come so close to the porch I felt I was sitting on the sand while I was actually in a very comfortable chair in a warm sunroom, reading that afore-mentioned book.
I'd recommend the Sea Ranch, but not if you are looking for a pool to get the kinks out on a cold day.

Room Tip: The view and sounds from the suite was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thanks for reviewing the Sea Ranch Resort. I am glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay! I am sorry that you all weren't able to enjoy the pool as expected. Our pool is enclosed (not indoor) and heated to 81 degrees. The air temperature inside the enclosure is very close to the actual outside temperature. We do offer passes to our local YMCA that offers an indoor heated pool as another option for our guests on days that may be to cold for swimming in our pool. We will take a look at the GROUPON description and make any necessary changes.

We hope that you will return to the Sea Ranch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed at Sea Ranch last week, not to enjoy it as a resort (cold Nov. days in Nags Head) but as a good place to use as our home base for a vacation house hunting trip. We requested the Fall Special rate and asked for a complimentary upgrade, which was nicely provided, since the hotel was not busy during the week. That was the beginning of the excellent service provided by the staff. The manager, front desk, restaurant staff, and housekeeping were outstanding, making for a wonderful stay. Of particular note was Cindy who kept our room clean. We travel a lot and this was one of the cleanest rooms we have ever had.

We needed to make some copies from Google Maps and the manager offered to let us use their computer and printer. The resort has an excellent WiFi but not a business office for guests; however, they said it was being looked into.

We were in room 217 and the ocean and beach view from the balcony was outstanding. We could even hear the muffled roar of the surf with the door closed at night. What a wonderful way to fall asleep at the beach.

Net: Great job! We will return the next visit to Nags Head.

Room Tip: Room 217 has great ocean views and Cindy keeps it spotless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed_and_Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
I am so pleased to hear that you all thoroughly enjoyed everything about your recent stay at the Sea Ranch! We are very proud of our staff's dedication to consistently providing outstanding customer service. I will be sure to let them know all your kind comments, from the front desk to housekeeping!

Don't hesitate to call us for any assistance we can offer in planning your next trip to the Outer Banks!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
16.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
8.8 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Ranch Resort

Property: Sea Ranch Resort
Address: 1731 N Virginia Dare Trl, PO Box 325, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Ranch Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the room accommodations that reflect a coastal color palette and modern room finishes that will create a relaxing and comfortable space for your stay. Convenient on-site amenities include an enclosed heated pool (seasonal),fitness center, outside picnic area and grill. The Sea Ranch also welcomes you to our oceanfront restaurant, the Beachside Bistro, which offers a delightful menu with a focus on American Coastal Cuisine. Join us in the dining room or on our deck where you can soak in the beautiful ocean view! Beachfront Resort: All rooms on the oceanfront and main building include: microwaves, refrigerators, Cable TV and Internet. Oceanfront Suites: 2 BR / 2 Bath fully equipped, condo style suites. Each suite offers a fully equipped kitchen, washer & dryer and living room with a sleeper sofa! Minimum of a 2 night stay required in season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Ranch Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Ranch Resort Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing