We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Bistro Restaurant @ Sea Ranch Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sea Ranch Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sea Ranch Resort
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Bistro Restaurant @ Sea Ranch Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

The Bistro Restaurant @ Sea Ranch Resort is one of my favorite restaurants in the Outer Banks.
The food is well prepared and not overpriced. My last meal there was Sunday brunch. Really good! Thanksgiving is coming and my family has decided that we will be going there for dinner. Can't wait to see what Chef John will have on the menu!

Room Tip: We only ate at the restaurant as we live in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thanks for your review of our Beachside Bistro! We look forward to seeing you at Thanksgiving!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    249
    71
    31
    27
See reviews for
293
329
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

My wife and I ran the 5k and stayed two nights at Sea Ranch. We stayed one night ocean front and one night street side. Both rooms were nice and clean. The staff was also VERY friendly and helpful, especially Supervisor Mary! The hotel is located close to everything and they have a nice Bistro on premises, which has a good ocean view and really good grits. The Bistro has live music during the weekends. Would recommend checking out Jockey's Ridge and Wright Brother's State Park. My wife and I would stay here again and loved our first trip to the Outer Banks.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Mike R,

Thanks you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor! I am glad to hear that you all had a lovely stay and I will also make sure the staff and Mary Anne know that you appreciated their quality customer service. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to assist you in making future plans to visit!

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

My sister and her fiancé had never been to the Outer Banks and, since I'd been going there every year for the past 15 years, I was excited to take them there for their birthday's. This hotel looked good because it was right on the beach. They advertised their rooms as Oceanview and Oceanside, with a picture of a balcony overlooking the ocean as Oceanside, so we booked an Oceanside room. We called when we were on our way down, an 8 hour drive, and told them we were probably going to be early. They told us that it was no problem, just come in and they would try to have the room ready. We got there at 1:30, check in isn't until 4, and they told us the room wasn't ready, but they would call us as soon as it was. No big deal, we just went to get something to eat and waited for their call. When 4:00 came around and there was still no call, we decided to just go check in. They put us in this small 2-story building that didn't have an elevator ( my sister's fiancé has a back injury and couldn't carry anything up the stairs), in a room that smelled of mildew and overlooked the parking lot! When we told them that we had booked an Oceanside room and showed them the picture, they said that was the Oceanside room, the picture was wrong. We asked if we could move to a room with a view of the ocean. They told us they had a wedding and there were no other rooms available that day, but that they had only one room that they could move us to the next day for an additional $60 a night. We said fine. The next day they they told us our room was ready, so we lugged all of our luggage back down the steps and up to the 6th floor of the other building. When we got to our room, it was a complete mess! The woman at the desk said she thought it was a different room and moved us to a room on the 3rd floor (so much for only having one room available!). That room was beautiful and we had a great time the rest of the stay, the pool, which is advertised as heated, was not heated and dirty. The front desk staff is rude and unorganized. I was very upset that my sister's birthday and first experience in the Outer Banks, which I love, was ruined because of this experience.

Room Tip: Don't be fooled by the word Oceanside, you can't even see the ocean from those rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jecm44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Hello Jecm44!

Thank you for taking the time to review and I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your recent stay. We typically receive very positive feedback from our guests and make certain to address any concerns during the time of your visit. I will make a point to look over the room descriptions and images with our third party vendor that you had booked your trip with and make necessary changes. I would like for you to contact me by email at info@searanchresort.com or 252-441-7126 to discuss the details of your experience with the front desk and getting you all situated into your upgraded room.

Again, we apologize for any misconception.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We had such a good time on this trip and could not ask for a better Resort. Our room was the best will always ask for the oceanview on the second floor! The employees were very courteous and willing to go above and beyond to make our stay the best. The room was very clean and right on the beach. Very convienant to shopping and eateries. A wonderful surprise our room was cleaned on our day out. Unfortunately we were not able to enjoy the free breakfast but maybe next time!

Room Tip: Second floor ocean view cannot get any closer to the ocean without being in it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRNMBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your review! The views from our oceanfront are truly amazing and there are not many places that you can experience a totally unobstructed view of the ocean like you can here! Please keep your eye out for special offers and great off season getaway deals!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak City
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Me and my husband would like to thank Mary Anne and the rest of the staff for such a wonderful greeting in this lovely resort. The rooms were very, very clean and large and there was not a whole lot of noise in the resort. Thanks again to Mary Anne and her staff.

Room Tip: I believe that any room you chose you will be very happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fannie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your review! I am always happy to see guests make a special mention of the staff that helped make their trip such a great experience! I will be sure to pass all of you comments along and we hope that you will come back and visit the Sea Ranch your next trip to the OBX!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked a room on the fall special they were running. The hotel was beautiful and clean and it was extremely close to the ocean. Our room was large and the bed comfy and nice balcony to listen to the ocean from. The last day we were there, we lingered around because we really didn't want to leave. We returned to eat at the bistro resturant, what a wonderful experience!!! The food was fabulous,I had the crab cake hoagie and the hatteras clam chowder. The chowder was different than any I have ever had. It was s broth bassed and it was lovely.they have a lovely pool, BBQ pit to cook on if you wanted to and the beach was literally steps from the hotel. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjk101214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
I am happy to hear that you all were "pleasantly surprised"! Keep your eye on great off season getaway rates! Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Though we travelled off season, the resort was spotless. We were treated like welcome invited guests. Our room was very clean. The beds even had an extra mattress pad for comfort! Though there wasn't a continental breakfast, we were provided with breakfast vouchers for a restaurant near by. I was pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at the Sea Ranch! We hope that you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
16.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
8.8 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Ranch Resort

Property: Sea Ranch Resort
Address: 1731 N Virginia Dare Trl, PO Box 325, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Ranch Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the room accommodations that reflect a coastal color palette and modern room finishes that will create a relaxing and comfortable space for your stay. Convenient on-site amenities include an enclosed heated pool (seasonal),fitness center, outside picnic area and grill. The Sea Ranch also welcomes you to our oceanfront restaurant, the Beachside Bistro, which offers a delightful menu with a focus on American Coastal Cuisine. Join us in the dining room or on our deck where you can soak in the beautiful ocean view! Beachfront Resort: All rooms on the oceanfront and main building include: microwaves, refrigerators, Cable TV and Internet. Oceanfront Suites: 2 BR / 2 Bath fully equipped, condo style suites. Each suite offers a fully equipped kitchen, washer & dryer and living room with a sleeper sofa! Minimum of a 2 night stay required in season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Ranch Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Ranch Resort Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing