We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Weather; Decent Accomodations”
Review of Sea Ranch Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sea Ranch Resort
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Bad Weather; Decent Accomodations”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Of course we would choose a week to stay that had torrential downpours! That's just how we roll. I'll cut right to the chase:
The Good: Check-in was easy. We stayed in the condos, and they were very spacious. The condo had a full size kitchen, island/bar area, dining for 6, sleeper sofa, chair, king bed in one bedroom, twin beds in another bedroom, and 2 bathrooms. The resort is right on the beach, so you get an upfront view of the ocean. The sound is great to fall asleep to, and occasionally in the morning you can see a dolphin or two playing around. The front office staff was very nice and accommodating. There are grocery stores nearby, Avalon fishing pier is right down the road, there is a restaurant on-site, Jeanette's Pier isn't too far away, and there are lots of little stores. The beds were comfortable and everything worked the way it should electronics-wise. The washer/dryer was a bonus! The pool was warm and a nice retreat considering the ocean was rather angry and coming up to the dunes.
The Bad: There have been posts about ants, and we did find some in the kitchen, but it was not overrun with them. I went and bought a little 3 dollar Raid ant bait and it took care of the problem. We also noticed an ottoman with a leg not quite on the right way, and we reported that right after check-in. No biggie either. We're pretty simple people. The rain was enough where the balcony area (glass enclosed) kept getting water in it, but the really nice maintenance man came up very promptly and wet-vacuumed. There was a weird smell one evening upon returning because of the water build-up, but once vacuumed, it went away. Please be forewarned that the condos are self-efficient for the most part. Please check the beds, etc. prior. The front office staff is great when it comes to fixing things. Unfortunately, I did not look close enough and found a couple of nasty stains on the mattress protector and under the comforter upon a chance the night before we left. We made sure to rewash all the dishes prior to using them as well.
Recommendations for property: The balconies either need to have the glass removed, replaced, or caulking redone. The elevators could use some updating, but they serve their purpose. Another suggestion is to have a serious discussion with the housekeeping staff. While we are used to staying in condos and know what it entails, it is just not good for business or appearances when housekeeping is too busy to acknowledge something because they are too busy talking on their cell phones. One of the stains on the bed would've been VERY noticeable during a linen change, which made me wonder if the linen had been changed or if they just didn't bother to do anything about it. That one I just cannot overlook.

All in all, the reason I gave this property an overall very good rating is because of the front office staff, the very nice maintenance man (who was working very hard trying to keep up with the water!), the price was reasonable, and the condos were rather large. I would more than likely stay here again, but would look more carefully at bedding upon check-in next time.

Room Tip: To get the best view, ask for a condo on the 4th or 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CrystalH98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review the Sea Ranch! We certainly appreciate your honesty regarding your stay! We will be sure to address all concerns that you have mentioned with housekeeping and also give recognition to the staff that exceeded your expectations! We hope you will visit us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    271
    76
    35
    27
See reviews for
314
356
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
WILMINGTON
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The accommodations live up to the name resort. Our room was right on the beach...the sound of waves, the ocean spray, the birds...plus it was absolutely beautiful seeing the moon shine on the ocean...the sun rises were beautiful too. Our room was clean, modern and very comfortable. The pool was clean and well cared for. There was also a large amount of parking areas.

We were given vouchers for a free breakfast each day down the road at the Jolly Roger....a complete hot breakfast for free(we had a choice of four different breakfasts). It was a short walk.

We will return! Love this place!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEBORAH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment! I am so happy to hear that we were able to meet all of your expectations and that you had a great time here! We look forward to seeing you back!

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

I love it here. Our room was right on the beach; I could almost reach out and touch the water. The rates were reasonable, and the inclosed pool was nice for taking a dip in the off season. Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ral480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thanks for your review! We hope you will visit the Sea Ranch Resort again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvarado, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Right on the beach! Rooms are very nice. You do not have the musty feel you get with a lot of beachfront property. Our balcony was great with plenty of room to sit and enjoy the view. The Restaurant and bar are very good. We were there during restaurant week. We were sitting on the deck enjoying a cocktail in the afternoon when the chef brought us samples to try from the evening menu. There were excellent. Guess where we had dinner! We have friends in VIrginia Beach we had not seen since they moved from DFW area. They wanted to come spend the evening with us and stay the night, but the property has a 2 night minimum policy. When they explained the situation to the desk clerk they gracefully waived the policy and let them stay one night and with a very good rate. Would absolutely recommend for an Outer Banks vacation or just a couple on nights stay.

Room Tip: Stay in a beachfront room. They are not that much more than an oceanview and are worth the differenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pssprinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your Sea Ranch experience! Sounds like you all were able to enjoy ALL of the great amenities and convenient location! We Hope that you will visit us again!

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

First, Oceanside is not on the Ocean, Oceanview is. We were on the 2nd floor Oceanview with a balcony and it was literally right on the water with spray from the beach. Fall asleep to the sound of the waves and awake to the sound of the waves. It was amazing.
The price included breakfast and it was yummy, the Friday night live musician was the best I have heard, and I kid you not! The place is not fancy, so don't go thinking you are getting 5 star, because you wont be, but for the location its top notch!

Room Tip: Oceanside is NOT on the side the ocean is, GET Oceanview if you want to be on the Ocean!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thanks for such a great review! Sounds like you really enjoyed your stay, meals at the bistro and the entertainment! We have a great amount of local talent here in the Outer Banks and are so pleased to share that with our guests!

Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Really nice hotel. Enjoyed our oceanfront room. Recently renovated. Very clean and comfortable.
Fabulousssssss view from our fourth floor balcony. Views up and down the beach.
Now don't try this, but if you fell off your balcony, you would land on the sand.
You're not close to the beach, you are on the beach.
Leave your balcony door open at night to hear the waves.
Every employee we met there were friendly and helpful.
Only small gripe----bed linens and towels could be better.
Really good Outer Banks hotel.
Thanks!
Cheers! ----- Ken

Room Tip: Room 417----Great ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyBeachcomber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review! We hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was my second visit to the Sea Ranch, the first was in 2003, when I was only there for two nights before Hurricane Isabelle sent us packing. (It's never good when Jim Cantore and the Weather Channel trucks show up at your vacation site) I heard that the Sea Ranch suffered some signicant damage in that storm, and the building has indeed been updated since then. I liked the place then, as it had kind of a cool "retro" vibe to it, (great purple tile bathroom) but wasn't crazy about the enclosed balcony that was encased with aluminum framed windows, of which only two opened, and the place looked a little rundown. Thankfully, the enclosures are now gone and the balconies are now open-air with beautiful, uninhibited views of the ocean. The rooms have also been updated very tastefully and comfortably. I really enjoyed my stay here.
Note: Due to the ocean being so very close, the narrow stretch of sand in front of the hotel makes this better suited for taking walks on the beach than it is for spending time lounging on the beach, as there just isn't much room between the water and the building, and the height of the building blocks the sun by mid afternon.

Room Tip: Note: Due to the ocean being so very close, the narrow stretch of sand in front of the hotel makes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BusterB8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
I am very pleased to have had you back to the Sea Ranch! It's so nice to hear the feedback from our repeat guests regarding the updated oceanfront rooms! From the new decor to the new open-air balconies...they have come a long way since your last visit.

Keep in touch for great off season packages and specials and we look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,144 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
8.8 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,214 reviews
16.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Ranch Resort

Property: Sea Ranch Resort
Address: 1731 N Virginia Dare Trl, PO Box 325, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Ranch Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the room accommodations that reflect a coastal color palette and modern room finishes that will create a relaxing and comfortable space for your stay. Convenient on-site amenities include an enclosed heated pool (seasonal),fitness center, outside picnic area and grill. The Sea Ranch also welcomes you to our oceanfront restaurant, the Beachside Bistro, which offers a delightful menu with a focus on American Coastal Cuisine. Join us in the dining room or on our deck where you can soak in the beautiful ocean view! Beachfront Resort: All rooms on the oceanfront and main building include: microwaves, refrigerators, Cable TV and Internet. Oceanfront Suites: 2 BR / 2 Bath fully equipped, condo style suites. Each suite offers a fully equipped kitchen, washer & dryer and living room with a sleeper sofa! Minimum of a 2 night stay required in season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sea Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Ranch Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Ranch Resort Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing