We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Sea Ranch Resort: Hits the Spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Ranch Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sea Ranch Resort
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Collingswood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sea Ranch Resort: Hits the Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had a great time at the Sea Ranch Resort and we recommend it highly.

Since most reviews require a lot of reading between the lines, I’ll try to keep this simple:

Background

Budget focused, we found Sea Ranch through an online aggregator; the room was significantly less expensive than others in the area and the hotel is on the beach and centrally located. While our initial concern was cost, we simply wanted an affordable place to enjoy our 4 day vacation in mid September.

Hotel Location

Although we were somewhat familiar with the area, we found that Sea Ranch was only steps away from the sand and reasonable walking distance (1/2 mile) of a food market, movie theater, restaurants, bars, fishing pier as well as other attractions. It’s also a good jumping off spot for day trips.

Hotel Amenities

Overall, the amenities at the Sea Ranch were adequate for what we needed. Beach access and the indoor pool were both really nice to have. And the seaside restaurant was an especially pleasant surprise. Great for early morning coffee, a meal or even drinks, it’s a good fallback if you don’t want to venture out into the surrounding area. Furthermore, the food was tasty and not overly expensive.

Our Room

Keeping in mind that our primary focus was on budget, our room was fine. It was spacious, clean and equipped with all the basics (small refrigerator, microwave oven, TV). We received an ocean side room (versus an ocean front room – which faces the ocean) and it’s what we expected. While we found that it was somewhat musty, turning off the AC and opening the windows made a world of difference. Overall, we got what we paid for and more.

Past Reviews

In researching Sea Ranch we found that some customer reviews were less than glowing, but after our experience we feel that we have an understanding of why. First, all the negative reviews for the ocean side rooms appear to have been submitted in 2012; the management stated that the rooms were to be renovated during the Winter & Spring of 2013. As I noted before, our room was perfectly acceptable. Second, some reviews stated that the in-hotel restaurant was substandard, but we found the food delicious and the staff friendly. Finally it’s tough to please everyone, but the manager responded to each issue which says a lot.

Overall Experience

We had a good experience at the Sea Ranch Resort. Not only is it well located, but the staff was friendly, the rooms were clean and amenities were spot on (for us). If you’re looking for an affordable getaway on the Outer Banks, the Sea Ranch Resort is certainly worth a look.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms with a balcony are a great option for those with the budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We are glad to hear you had such and enjoyable stay at the Sea Ranch Resort! Not only is it a great place to relax but there are tons of options when your up for being apart of the local area attractions. Thank you for taking time to review, we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    225
    64
    30
    24
See reviews for
266
297
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Accomodations: Clean, roomy, great view, but broken down mattress

Price: Excellent off-season rate

Restarant: Good value, convenient

Pool: in-door and not enticing in summer

Inter-net, cable: Both were unreliable, subject to periodic and inconvenient outages.

Facilities: Infra structure remains problematic--only one luggage elevator, one ice machine, many obstacles to navigate from parking lot to room, too few luggage carts,
many steps, curbs, ramps, uneven footings that make walking around unpleasant if not downright dangerous. All of which make moving in and out unnecessarily laborious and time-consuming.
Definitely not user-friendly, starting with the lobby entrance.

Major improvements would have to be made in this area before this facility could move up in class.

Room Tip: In the hotel, ask for a "14" room on any floor. Killer view. 214 gets you on second floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PSHayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
I am sorry to hear that this visit didn't meet your expectations. While we have made many improvements to our property, but we are still in the process of making additional changes/upgrades/renovations, etc. Your honest feedback certainly helps us in improving the overall guest stay.

We hope that you will visit again in the future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

In terms of resort status, this place is severely lacking. There's a cute little indoor pool, but no jacuzzi and something bit me on the eye which ended up swollen for 2 days. The rooms are entered from an outside door, making it more like a motel than a nice hotel. Our dorr didn't close properly and you could still see daylight once it was shut. There were months and ants in the room as well. The bed and pillows were hard too. The only things this place had going for them was the spectacular view if your lucky enough to have an ocean side room, good beach access, and the Beachside Bistro (bartender Garett is amazing).

Room Tip: Book early if you want a room with a king bed and/or and ocean side view. Beach access is from the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
I am sorry to hear that you we not completely satisfied with the amenities and we appreciate all of your honest feedback. We would have been more than happy to address the possible maintenance issue with your door, and any insects in a prompt manner if it was reported during your stay. If you'd like to discuss your stay in more detail, please feel free to contact me at info@searanchresort.com or call 800.334.4737.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My wanted a room with an ocean view.Well this place was perfect for it.We had a balcony that was about as close as we could get.Looks like our room had been remodeled.It was clean,beds were comfy.The on site restaurant was great,food was good and it had outdoor seating.Staff was good also,plus someone is at the front desk 24/7.Will go back again when i visit the outer banks.

Room Tip: Had 5th floor room so the view was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachpops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at the Sea Ranch Resort and we are excited to hear that we will see you again!

The oceanfront building was recently updated as well as many other features on the property! ...And we have allot more in store for our guests! Keep in touch!

If we can assist you in planning your next Outer Banks getaway, please give us a call! 800.334.4737!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have been vacationing on the OBX since 2000 but this year is the first I have stayed @ the Sea Ranch. The ocean front building was extensively renovated several years ago after storm damage. The ocean side rooms are where I have stayed for 4 long weekends this summer. The king rooms are spacious with a comfortable bed. AC is quiet and WIFI works fine in the room. Bath is basic but clean. On site restaurant serves breakfast, lunch & dinner and the food is quite good and reasonably priced. Outdoor patio seating on the beach w/ full service is available all day. Live entertainment on the patio every afternoon into dinner hours. Covered outdoor pool on site and an exercise room w/ cardio equipment also on site. The best part of the Sea Ranch is that the beach access is on the property, a few steps from your room. The staff is very helpful and there is 24 hr front desk service. Mid week prices are reasonable for the location and the amenities offered. I have enjoyed my time @ the Sea Ranch this summer & plan to continue to stay there when I am on the Outer Banks.

Room Tip: Ocean side rooms very reasonably priced. Views from ocean front upper floor balconies are spectacula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDish804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us and thank you for the great review! I am pleased to hear that you were able to experience the amenities to the fullest, including the on-site oceanfront restaurant, and found our staff to be so accommodating and friendly! We hope that you will come back and visit as soon as this fall! We have some great upcoming local area events and specials!

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were able to book a last-minute 4 night stay at the Sea Ranch in August... just 10 days before our arrival! It was exactly what we were looking for. Our ocean front room was very clean, and the staff was tremendous including the waitresses and bar tender in the on-site restaurant. Evening entertaiment on the deck was great too!

One tiny concern is that although the hotel is non-smoking, guests did smoke on their balcony and it was noticable, so if you are very sensitive to smoke....just be aware.

Overall a great trip, and even better that it was possible to do it last-minute!

Room Tip: Ocean front is the only way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed in the main building, ocean view. Ocean view was limited but it was not an issue for us since we spent little time in the room. There were a few ants present around the window but considering the venue (lots of sand outside) that was not a surprise. This was not bothersome to my family at all. Although the building we were in was somewhat dated, it had everything we needed. All facilities worked well, water pressure in the shower was great, the toilet flushed, the air conditioning kept the room very comfortable. Now for the very good stuff, the staff is exceptional. I felt like I was staying with family. They were very accommodating and friendly. The onsite bistro had exceptional food and the nightly music was very good. We will book again.

Room Tip: Choose ocean front balcony if you like to relax by the sea in privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
I am so happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay and the entire staff demonstrated the excellent service we strive for. Please let us know when you are ready to return, we look forward to seeing you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 1,020 reviews
8.8 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#2 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 stars 1,287 reviews
16.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Ranch Resort

Property: Sea Ranch Resort
Address: 1731 N Virginia Dare Trl, PO Box 325, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Ranch Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the recently renovated room accommodations that reflect a coastal color palette and modern room finishes that will create a relaxing and comfortable space for your stay. Convenient on-site amenities include an enclosed heated pool, new fitness center and game room, outside picnic area and grill. The Sea Ranch also welcomes you to our oceanfront restaurant, the Beachside Bistro, which offers a delightful menu with a focus on American Coastal Cuisine. Join us for in the dining room or on our deck where you can soak in the beautiful ocean view! Beachfront Resort: All rooms in the beachfront resort and oceanside lodge offer: microwaves, refrigerators, Cable TV and Internet. Oceanfront Suites: We now offer 2 BR / 2 Bath fully equipped, condo style suites. Each suite offers a full kitchen, washer & dryer and living room with a sleeper sofa! Minimum of a 3 night stay required in season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Sea Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Ranch Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Ranch Resort Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing