We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At the beach”
Review of Sea Ranch Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sea Ranch Resort
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Coconut Creek, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“At the beach”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

My wanted a room with an ocean view.Well this place was perfect for it.We had a balcony that was about as close as we could get.Looks like our room had been remodeled.It was clean,beds were comfy.The on site restaurant was great,food was good and it had outdoor seating.Staff was good also,plus someone is at the front desk 24/7.Will go back again when i visit the outer banks.

Room Tip: Had 5th floor room so the view was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachpops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at the Sea Ranch Resort and we are excited to hear that we will see you again!

The oceanfront building was recently updated as well as many other features on the property! ...And we have allot more in store for our guests! Keep in touch!

If we can assist you in planning your next Outer Banks getaway, please give us a call! 800.334.4737!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    272
    76
    36
    27
See reviews for
317
356
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have been vacationing on the OBX since 2000 but this year is the first I have stayed @ the Sea Ranch. The ocean front building was extensively renovated several years ago after storm damage. The ocean side rooms are where I have stayed for 4 long weekends this summer. The king rooms are spacious with a comfortable bed. AC is quiet and WIFI works fine in the room. Bath is basic but clean. On site restaurant serves breakfast, lunch & dinner and the food is quite good and reasonably priced. Outdoor patio seating on the beach w/ full service is available all day. Live entertainment on the patio every afternoon into dinner hours. Covered outdoor pool on site and an exercise room w/ cardio equipment also on site. The best part of the Sea Ranch is that the beach access is on the property, a few steps from your room. The staff is very helpful and there is 24 hr front desk service. Mid week prices are reasonable for the location and the amenities offered. I have enjoyed my time @ the Sea Ranch this summer & plan to continue to stay there when I am on the Outer Banks.

Room Tip: Ocean side rooms very reasonably priced. Views from ocean front upper floor balconies are spectacula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDish804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us and thank you for the great review! I am pleased to hear that you were able to experience the amenities to the fullest, including the on-site oceanfront restaurant, and found our staff to be so accommodating and friendly! We hope that you will come back and visit as soon as this fall! We have some great upcoming local area events and specials!

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were able to book a last-minute 4 night stay at the Sea Ranch in August... just 10 days before our arrival! It was exactly what we were looking for. Our ocean front room was very clean, and the staff was tremendous including the waitresses and bar tender in the on-site restaurant. Evening entertaiment on the deck was great too!

One tiny concern is that although the hotel is non-smoking, guests did smoke on their balcony and it was noticable, so if you are very sensitive to smoke....just be aware.

Overall a great trip, and even better that it was possible to do it last-minute!

Room Tip: Ocean front is the only way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed in the main building, ocean view. Ocean view was limited but it was not an issue for us since we spent little time in the room. There were a few ants present around the window but considering the venue (lots of sand outside) that was not a surprise. This was not bothersome to my family at all. Although the building we were in was somewhat dated, it had everything we needed. All facilities worked well, water pressure in the shower was great, the toilet flushed, the air conditioning kept the room very comfortable. Now for the very good stuff, the staff is exceptional. I felt like I was staying with family. They were very accommodating and friendly. The onsite bistro had exceptional food and the nightly music was very good. We will book again.

Room Tip: Choose ocean front balcony if you like to relax by the sea in privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
I am so happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay and the entire staff demonstrated the excellent service we strive for. Please let us know when you are ready to return, we look forward to seeing you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My experience at the Sea Ranch was incredibly disappointing and ruined my long weekend. I take it that there is a drastic difference between the oceanfront rooms, which have been renovated, and the standard rooms, which clearly have not. As soon as we opened the door, we were confronted by a dank, musty smell. We asked to be moved to another room, but were told none were available, and were offered an air freshener. We decided to tough it out for the night and make the best of it, but things only got worse. Upon taking our shoes off, we found that the carpet was similarly damp, and the air conditioner was blowing out musty smelling air. My partner was unable to sleep through the night because of the air quality, and we decided to leave in the morning. Although the hotel was willing to refund us for the following two nights, the process of getting a refund from Travelocity, who had contracted for this room from a third party called Leisure Link, was very frustrating and involved 1.5 hours on the phone. I would strongly advise anyone from booking a standard room, and although I haven't seen one myself, I wouldn't be surprised if an oceanfront room had similar problems.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
In response to your recent review, we are sorry that we were unable to remedy the situation for you during your stay! Being the end of summer and a holiday weekend we were unable to move your room. We hope that we can invite you back to enjoy a quality oceanfront experience.

I would like you to contact me at your convenience so I can have the opportunity to speak with you personally regarding your recent visit. Please contact info@searanchresort.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulaski, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We booked an efficiency suite several months in advance. On the second day we were informed by the staff that no house keeping was provided with the suite...we were told the suites are "self-sufficient". We booked the efficiency suite because we would be staying 8 days and wanted the availability of being able to cook and to do our own personal laundry. We expected room service of fresh towels, toilet paper, having the beds made, vacuuming, and possibly getting the sheets changed at least once while we were there. When we booked we were NOT told there was no room service. This is the first hotel I have ever stayed at that does not provide some form of room service for and efficiency suite. We did not expect to have the dishes washed or anything out of the ordinary for standard room service. On our second day there, the kitchen area became infested with ants. We would call the front desk and someone would come up and spray. Within a few hours the ants were back and slowly increased in numbers until the next day when we would call the front desk and someone would again come and spray. The ant ordeal went on for the remainder of the vacation. It was not until our next to last night that the staff offered to move us to another room. By that time there was no use in packing our room to move to another and then do it again the next day to go home. The balcony had a good view, however, it was a glass encasement. Within the glass encasement was four small windows. Only one of the four windows would remain open while the other three closed immediately after opening. Our roomed faced the parking lot and was near a trash room. Every time you would exit the room you could smell trash. I am not sure if the smell came from the trash room or the dumpsters in the parking lot. The house keeping staff was friendly in passing. The front desk staff was not as friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
In response to your recent review, each of our Condo Style Suites provide 'home like' amenities. The beds are made on arrival as well as bath towels, hand towels & washcloths are provided for 6. A starter kit including 2 rolls of toilet tissue, 1 roll of paper towels, 3 dishwasher pods, 1 sponge and liquid dish detergent are also provided upon check in. Each suite comes equipped with a vacuum and a stack washer and dryer. I am sorry that this wasn't explained at the time of your reservation and I will be sure to make I address this with the front desk staff.

With regards to the ants, I want to first let you know that each guest room and suite are on a regular, monthly preventative pest control. This does not guarantee that we will not ever come in contact with ants, but we do take these measures to control these situations.

As you can see from the majority of our reviews, this is not a typical guest experience .It is our goal to provide not only quality accommodations but superior customer service. I encourage you to contact me at info@searanchresort.com and allow me to speak with you about the details of your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We recently booked a last minute weekend getaway at the Sea Ranch. Typically, we reserve a house for a week in OBX with family and friends. This year it didn't work out, but we had to visit and took a chance on the Sea Ranch.
I am so glad we did. We were in a King Room with a balcony that appeared to be updated last year. Great views of the ocean, the mini-fridge and sink/coffee area were perfect; Bathroom was awesome - not too cramped and plenty of counter space. No complaints on the furniture (sofa and table to seat 2) and King bed was firm.
We did not use the indoor pool, but saw several families enjoying it.
Because we were content with everything, we only had to deal with the hotel staff at check in and check out and passing a few in the hallways but everyone was very pleasant.
You must eat at the onsite restaurant. We only had breakfast there, but it was delicious, fast and a pretty good bargain.

We will be back. :)

Room Tip: 3rd floor or higher and request balcony side unless you want a glass enclosed balcony. Also, their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return!

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,166 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,521 reviews
8.8 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,540 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Ranch Resort

Property: Sea Ranch Resort
Address: 1731 N Virginia Dare Trl, PO Box 325, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Ranch Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the room accommodations that reflect a coastal color palette and modern room finishes that will create a relaxing and comfortable space for your stay. Convenient on-site amenities include an enclosed heated pool (seasonal),fitness center, outside picnic area and grill. The Sea Ranch also welcomes you to our oceanfront restaurant, the Beachside Bistro, which offers a delightful menu with a focus on American Coastal Cuisine. Join us in the dining room or on our deck where you can soak in the beautiful ocean view! Beachfront Resort: All rooms on the oceanfront and main building include: microwaves, refrigerators, Cable TV and Internet. Oceanfront Suites: 2 BR / 2 Bath fully equipped, condo style suites. Each suite offers a fully equipped kitchen, washer & dryer and living room with a sleeper sofa! Minimum of a 2 night stay required in season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Sea Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Ranch Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Ranch Resort Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing