We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extended vacation 2013” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Ranch Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sea Ranch Resort
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Extended vacation 2013”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

After two weeks' vacay last year, we wanted more than one week this year. We chose Sea Ranch for three extra days prior to our beach rental. We had an ocean balcony room for four people, which was nice since Ma Nature decided to rain on our vacay for those three days. There was a wedding same time, but the hotel seemed to have no problems handling everyone else's stay as well. Our housekeeper Cindy was totally above and beyond her job filling our every request and keeping our room tidy and clean throughout our stay. Our only negative was availability of bottled water daily which we thought was not out of line for what we paid for our room. Everyone was super nice, very helpful and we will stay again.

Room Tip: Do your homework because offers come over the internet, use your senior/AAA or other discounts. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pamisue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. We will definitely take your suggestion of offering bottled water in the rooms into consideration. It's feed back like yours that helps us improve customer satisfaction and a quality stay.

We hope that you will return to the Sea Ranch and make us a part of your Outer Banks tradition!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    238
    70
    31
    26
See reviews for
279
323
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Harwinton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Sea Ranch was very enjoyable. Our balcony room was perfect. The ocean felt so close. Stunning views both day and night. A lightning storm was amazing to watch over the ocean from our balcony. Clean, fresh towels everyday. Checkin and Checkout was a breeze.

Room Tip: Miller's Restaurant is a must!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

I booked this place at the last minute because of the good reviews online. Our room was on the first floor facing the parking lot, which was OK because we were just passing through. But our room was very musty and we had to leave the air conditioner on because of the smell. What made things worse is I ended up on the side of the bed two feet away from the air conditioning unit. The AC vent is situated by the bed in such a way it blows directly into your face when you lay down. HELLO SEA RANCH!?! MAKE THE AC VENT ADJUSTABLE SO IT DOESN"T WAKE YOUR GUESTS UP EVERY 10 MINUTES WHEN THE AC FAN KICKS ON!!! I finally was able to sleep after putting a pillow on top of the vent.
The bathroom was old and tired. The shower tiles had been painted over and were starting to peel exposing the pink tile underneath. The grout lines had mildew in them and the no slip strip in the tub was half way peeled off.

Room Tip: Apparently if you want a decent room, get one that faces the ocean. Otherwise, find somewhere else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DenaliAKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
I am sorry that the guest room at the Sea Ranch was not up to your standard, and that we were unable to remedy the situation to your satisfaction during your visit. We will be going though a renovation this fall/winter in the main building and addressing the concern with the AC unit. many other updates are to be baths, carpet etc.

August can be a very hot and humid month and it's very hard to eliminate all humidity, especially with outside entry/exit from the room.

We value your honest feedback and plan to address the concerns that you have mentioned. I would also like for you to contact info@searanchresort.com so I can personally address you regarding your recent visit.

Best regards.
Please feel free to contact us at info@searanchresort.com if you would like to discuss your experience in further detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Spent three nights at the Sea Ranch. The view from the fifth story balcony was great. Easy access to the beach.

Room was very clean and the king bed comfortable. The cleanliness extended to the balcony and the two chairs and table.

Front desk employee was genuinely friendly as well other employees we encountered.

The one negative was the elevator not reaching the fifth floor. Not a major issue until you are bogged down with luggage. Had to walk to the fourth floor and ride it to the fifth in order to bring the luggage down.

Overall a great experience and would stay again. Keep an eye out on their Facebook page for discounts. We saved 50% for a oceanfront room.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank historydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathews, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Sea Ranch in July and it was wonderful as usual. Love the updated rooms, especially the open balcony. Glad they got rid of the enclosed balconies. Accommodations were clean and serviced regularly and desk personnel very friendly and helpful. Great specials for repeat guests. Looking forward to going back soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowe470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Location, location, location....It's all about the view. I've been coming to the Outer Banks since I was in diapers. I've stayed in cottages ( on &off the beach), I've stayed in chain hotels and ma&pa places but this is the WAY TO GO! The place actually sits on the beach about a hundred yards from the shore! We brought a canopy and chairs but we didn't need them! The balcony is spacious and the railing does not obstruct the ocean view. Since there is central air, there is no back end of an AC unit to annoy you while you're siting out on the balcony. We only went to the downstairs Bistro for breakfast but the food was fantastic! the indoor pool is temp controlled and has a deep end (8ft). The staff was nice and very helpful and on some days they have scheduled activities to enjoy. Worth every penny!

Room Tip: The fifth floor has fantastic ocean views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luvmycoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

You never know what you'll get from a beach hotel, but the Sea Ranch Resort was fabulous. We had a king oceanfront room and the view was fantastic, a balcony looking right over the ocean.
The room was large and basic. It was quiet even though it was July 4 weekend.
The restaurant has service on the beach so you don't even have to get up from your towel and the food was good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fundog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
16.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Ranch Resort

Property: Sea Ranch Resort
Address: 1731 N Virginia Dare Trl, PO Box 325, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Ranch Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the room accommodations that reflect a coastal color palette and modern room finishes that will create a relaxing and comfortable space for your stay. Convenient on-site amenities include an enclosed heated pool (seasonal),fitness center, outside picnic area and grill. The Sea Ranch also welcomes you to our oceanfront restaurant, the Beachside Bistro, which offers a delightful menu with a focus on American Coastal Cuisine. Join us in the dining room or on our deck where you can soak in the beautiful ocean view! Beachfront Resort: All rooms on the oceanfront and main building include: microwaves, refrigerators, Cable TV and Internet. Oceanfront Suites: 2 BR / 2 Bath fully equipped, condo style suites. Each suite offers a fully equipped kitchen, washer & dryer and living room with a sleeper sofa! Minimum of a 2 night stay required in season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Ranch Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Ranch Resort Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing