We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We had a great oceanfront room”
Review of Sea Ranch Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sea Ranch Resort
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We had a great oceanfront room”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were on the fourth floor and had a full ocean view from our oceanfront room. The room was updated, clean and well air conditioned. The special reduced daily rate offer we had received just prior to booking made it a great value as well as a great place to stay. We enjoyed the beach and would recommend the Sea Ranch Resort to anyone wanting an easy and enjoyable stay in the Outer Banks.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manuelgbma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    257
    73
    33
    27
See reviews for
298
342
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bee, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our oceanside suite was one of the best we have ever rented! The suite was CLEAN and the ocean view was spectacular. The balcony was glass enclosed with a couple of screen inserts to get the breeze from the ocean. Sitting on the balcony felt like being right on the beach!

Room Tip: Washer and Dryer inside the suite, so take laundry detergent to wash the resort towels....and your o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here for a couple of nights. I have allergies and specifically requested a room with no smoking or pets and was told neither was allowed. Unfornately, there had definitely been an animal in that room prioir to our arrival. Barbara, the manager, said no animals were allowed and that there was no animal in that room. She was very rude and unaccommodating. We had to stay out of the room most of the time and ended up leaving early due to the smell. There were some kind of black bugs in the bathroom that I have never seen before. The linens on the bed were thin and so were the towels. Upon asking for clean towels on the second day, the desk clerk, Jen, acted very put out put did eventually get us some clean ones.
Too bad this place is run down and the service so unfriendly because it is a great location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VacayDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant stay and as you can see from past reviews, this is not a typical guest experience. All staff members, from management to housekeeping, are committed to providing our guests with top customer service and clean rooms. All rooms and condo style suites at the Sea Ranch Resort are NON-SMOKING and we do not allow pets.

As with any hotel or home dwelling - we can not totally avoid all contact with insects. We do take preventive measures in all guestrooms but this does not always eliminate all entry such as open doors through open doors or windows.

We will contact you directly to address all of your concerns regarding your stay.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Yesterday I took a cooking class at the Sea Ranch presented by Chef John Romm. The food prepared was excellent and Chef John is a natural instructor. I came away with lots of ideas and recipes. The Bistro has outstanding food for a good price. This is my favorite breakfast, but lunches and dinners there have been outstanding, too. The Bistro is open to the public, and the dining room is right on the beach with outside accommodations to enjoy the surf and ocean breeze. I highly recommend!

Room Tip: I did not stay at the Sea Ranch, only took the cooking class and have eaten at the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etters
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at the Sea Ranch Resort July 12-19, 2013. We rented a condo style suite with 2 full bath's for two couples. Our favorite spot was the oceanfront porch, with great views from sunrise to sunset. Kitchen was fully equipped, so the few nights we cooked in had everything we needed. Our suite was clean and well maintained. The location was perfect, and within walking distance to the groc store, restaurants and bagel shop. While we were away most of the days, it was nice to come back in the evening and hear live music every night we were there.
Nicely maintained resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I so wanted to get away for a few days and just stare at the surf. It was a last-minute trip, and we were able to piece together a few rooms for our week-long vacation. Cindy, at the front desk, was immensely patient and helpful. In fact, everyone we ran into who worked there was very helpful and intelligent. If you are planning to stay there, be sure to reserve a room in the renovated section, where all the rooms are oceanfront. The view is spectacular! We were on the fourth floor for three days, and the ocean view just fills your field of vision. The beach is right below. Unfortunately, the only room available for our first night was in the building with NO ocean views, and it hasn't been renovated in some time. So that was sort of grim. It feels like a different hotel. Even the towels are thin!

SEA RANCH PROS:
Reasonable price.
Remarkably good appetizers and cocktails at the adjoining bistro. And you can enjoy them out on the deck, looking at the ocean. I didn't care for the breakfast, but that's just me. I was looking for fresh fruits (they did have a small fruit bowl available) and green juices. (I discovered Seaside Bistro To Go in Kitty Hawk for fantastic juices, salads, etc.) But the coffee was very good.
Very clean hotel.
Very helpful and knowledgeable staff.
Knock-your-socks off views from the big windows in the oceanfront rooms.
Lots of room on the vanity surrounding the bathroom sink for toiletries and paraphernalia.
Our oceanfront room had a small fridge, microwave, sink, and cabinet.
A sign proclaimed that repeat visitors get a 15% discount.
We attended a 7 a.m. yoga class on the beach that was great. The woman teaching it is very knowledgeable. It was free to Sea Ranch guests.
Free wifi. Free exercise room with two treadmills, a stationary bike, an elliptical, a big mat, a set of weights, plus individu-TVs, cold water to drink, sweat towels, and a bathroom. All was clean and in good working order.

SEA RANCH RESORT CONS:
The main building has nothing but non-ocean-view rooms, and they are shabby. (But I'm told they plan to refurbish those in 2014. There still won't be ocean views, though!)
Towels in the main building (well, in our room, anyway) are thin.
No elevator in the older main building.
There are no towels provided for the pool (at least none that I saw there) and none for the beach, so bring your own, as we did. You can rent chairs and umbrellas on the beach.
A "con" for any hotel with balconies, including this one, is that people sit out on their balconies and smoke. Of course, the smoke wafts into other rooms, and ruins the pleasure of sitting on YOUR balcony, and of enjoying the sea air in your room. This is a non-smoking hotel, so people shouldn't be smoking on balconies, or in the rooms. I'm not sure how to handle this. Should we have called the front desk? I don't know.

I would return to the Sea Ranch Resort in a heartbeat. I'll be sure to reserve far enough in advance to ensure an oceanfront room. They also have two-bedroom suites available, with a glassed-in (with a couple of small windows that open) balcony. That would be great for people with little kids, if you worry they might fall off a balcony. Also good for off-season, I should think.

Room Tip: With a higher room (we were on the fourth floor) the ocean occupies a larger part of your field of v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreeUnion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary with a weekend stay at the Sea Ranch Resort. We booked based on the Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. The hotel is clean and fresh and easy to navigate as it is just the right size. Our room on the second floor was on the ocean with large windows (not sliding doors) and gave a beautiful view from in the room or on the balcony. We ate all our meals at the Bistro and every one was unique and delicious. The staff is friendly, engaging and ready to help with any request. The hotel was fully booked but no problem finding a parking spot.

One thing we really liked was that there was no dune to climb to get to the beach: easy walk out and you are right there.

We look forward to our next visit there and will bring more people to one of the condo rooms.

Room Tip: The whole hotel is quiet but we thought that paying the difference for the ocean side room was worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Budbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review! We hope that you will make the Sea Ranch a part of your anniversary tradition!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
16.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
8.8 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Ranch Resort

Property: Sea Ranch Resort
Address: 1731 N Virginia Dare Trl, PO Box 325, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Ranch Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the room accommodations that reflect a coastal color palette and modern room finishes that will create a relaxing and comfortable space for your stay. Convenient on-site amenities include an enclosed heated pool (seasonal),fitness center, outside picnic area and grill. The Sea Ranch also welcomes you to our oceanfront restaurant, the Beachside Bistro, which offers a delightful menu with a focus on American Coastal Cuisine. Join us in the dining room or on our deck where you can soak in the beautiful ocean view! Beachfront Resort: All rooms on the oceanfront and main building include: microwaves, refrigerators, Cable TV and Internet. Oceanfront Suites: 2 BR / 2 Bath fully equipped, condo style suites. Each suite offers a fully equipped kitchen, washer & dryer and living room with a sleeper sofa! Minimum of a 2 night stay required in season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sea Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Ranch Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Ranch Resort Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing