We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVED the Sea Ranch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sea Ranch Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sea Ranch Resort
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Mooresville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“LOVED the Sea Ranch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

My family of four stayed in the condos on the 4th floor. The view of the ocean was amazing. The condo was very spacious and for the first time ever on a family vacation I did not feel cramped. I definitely appreciated the two full bathrooms and large kitchen and living area. It is great being just steps from the beach and having an indoor pool. But what really sets the Sea Ranch apart from other resorts are their staff and the variety of activities that they offer. The staff are exceptional: John, the chef, prepared wonderful meals at the restaurant and even cut us some steaks so we could cook out one night. Chris at the Bistro was always friendly and we enjoyed her service while listening to live music on the beachside deck. Diana, at the Cabana, was always helpful in bringing us skimboards, surfboards and even a kayak to keep my teenagers busy and happy. There was even a magic show one night for the younger kids. I have never taken the time to write a review of a hotel before...I highly recommend the Sea Ranch! Stacey-Mooresville, NC

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    249
    71
    31
    27
See reviews for
293
328
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Petersburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed in room 219 using the honeymoon package in celebration of our 10th honeymoon 6/27-6/29. The views are marvelous. We had a very pleasant stay the room was clean and comfortable and all of the staff was very courteous. The Beachside Bistro has excellent food and our waitress Chris took excellent care of us and live music by Kim Kalman made for a wonderful beach dining experience out on the deck.The next time we travel to the OBX we will stay here!

Room Tip: Ocean front is the only way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedHorse87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights recently. I selected an "oceanside" room during a 72 hour sale online and got an excellent rate for a room with two double beds. The room looked as it was portrayed online, but it was in a separate building from the "oceanfront" rooms. We had a very small view of the ocean, but that was acceptable since we planned to spend most of our time on the beach. After checking in, we found that the bathroom in our room had been damaged by a prior guest and the hostess at the front desk moved us to another room with no questions. It was actually better since it had a balcony. Both the original and new rooms both had a damp odor throughout our stay - probably common at the beach. But overall, the property was quiet, clean, and conveniently located. It was a good value for our tight budget.

Room Tip: If you select an oceanside room, be sure to ask for one with a balcony. They seem larger and bright...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 50orchids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Roads
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Sea Ranch for 2 nights recently. Overall it was a pleasant experience. Our room was an ocean front king. The room was average as far as amenities, but it was large and spacious for a standard room. The room was also very clean, which carries a lot of weight with us. The best part of our stay was the view. These rooms have some of the best ocean views we have seen, and you get a very full view through the large glass that spans the entire wall. I would recommend this hotel and will probably stay again in the future. The only small issue we had was that the ac unit is louder than average, but it is by no means a deal breaker.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krafty757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We arrived in Kill Devil Hills on July 4th with no reservations. After numerous calls to hotels, realties, etc. we stopped @ the Sea Ranch Resort. They had 1 condo available & after looking @ the room, we took it! The room was very clean & had everything you might need. The staff was so professional & helpful. There is a Bistro, concierge, covered pool, beach service & so much more! The prices were very reasonable also! I highly recommend Sea Ranch Resort if you are ever @ the Outer Banks area!

Room Tip: We were on the 5th (top) floor almost @ the end of the walkway. Very little traffic noise, away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsh0319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review! I will be sure to give the staff your positive feedback, from front desk & housekeeping to the restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

I love the sea ranch resort north Carolina. we walked in and got a room for the time we wanted without reservations. the restaurant had delicious food for breakfast and dinner. the rooms and pool very clean and all the staff was super nice to us. on our next trip to obx if we can't stay at the sea ranch resort we won't go. would i recommend this place ABSOLUTELY....

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptatarock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thanks for all of your comments. I will make sure that the front desk staff hear the positive feedback as well as the restaurant. Give us a call if we can assist you in planning your next trip to the OBX!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We rented a condo here in early May, just before the summer season started, was great timing. Sure, there was a lot of work going around on the grounds to get ready, but we had the indoor pool to ourselves whenever we wanted, and there is nowhere on the OBX that is closer to the ocean. Nice location near Wright Bros. memorial, grocery, Lowe's, etc. Condo was well-stocked, not the most modern decor but certainly functional and clean. We picked this property because of the screened-in porches (for young children) and in-unit laundry, both came in very handy. The indoor pool was a plus since it was cold for the first couple days of our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kcarollo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your review! I am glad that the pool got you through those first couple days and that you enjoyed the enclosed balcony. We hope to have you back to the resort soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
16.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
8.8 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Ranch Resort

Property: Sea Ranch Resort
Address: 1731 N Virginia Dare Trl, PO Box 325, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Ranch Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the room accommodations that reflect a coastal color palette and modern room finishes that will create a relaxing and comfortable space for your stay. Convenient on-site amenities include an enclosed heated pool (seasonal),fitness center, outside picnic area and grill. The Sea Ranch also welcomes you to our oceanfront restaurant, the Beachside Bistro, which offers a delightful menu with a focus on American Coastal Cuisine. Join us in the dining room or on our deck where you can soak in the beautiful ocean view! Beachfront Resort: All rooms on the oceanfront and main building include: microwaves, refrigerators, Cable TV and Internet. Oceanfront Suites: 2 BR / 2 Bath fully equipped, condo style suites. Each suite offers a fully equipped kitchen, washer & dryer and living room with a sleeper sofa! Minimum of a 2 night stay required in season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Groupon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Ranch Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Ranch Resort Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing