We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sea Ranch Resort
Nearby Hotels
$199
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$262
$237
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Outer Banks Inn(Kill Devil Hills)(Great Value!)
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn(Kill Devil Hills)
$190
$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$247
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn On The Ocean(Kill Devil Hills)
$239
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shutters On the Banks(Kill Devil Hills)
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (926)
Filter reviews
926 results
Traveler rating
488
291
78
38
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
488
291
78
38
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeachside bistroocean frontoceanfront roomthe jolly rogerroom was cleanthe outer banksindoor poolon site restaurantoff seasonhigh tidemain buildingking bedbeach sidestaff was friendlysecond floormini fridgefull kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
779 - 784 of 926 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We rented a condo here in early May, just before the summer season started, was great timing. Sure, there was a lot of work going around on the grounds to get ready, but we had the indoor pool to ourselves whenever we wanted, and there is nowhere on the OBX that is closer to the ocean. Nice location near Wright Bros. memorial, grocery, Lowe's, etc. Condo was well-stocked, not the most modern decor but certainly functional and clean. We picked this property because of the screened-in porches (for young children) and in-unit laundry, both came in very handy. The indoor pool was a plus since it was cold for the first couple days of our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kcarollo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for your review! I am glad that the pool got you through those first couple days and that you enjoyed the enclosed balcony. We hope to have you back to the resort soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was our first visit to Kill Devil hills, where we had a small family get together. This hotel has the beach right in back of it. We got to see dolphins and could fish and just have fun walking down the beach. There was a pier a little ways down the beach but it was a nice walk to it. This place has everything close that you could need or want the stores are close even walmart, and it has a restaurant on property and the food was great. The rooms are spacious and some have balconies with screen enclosures to keep the bugs out. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We watched the sun set and rise and it was beautiful. We look forward to going again.

Room Tip: It has suites and regular rooms. The suites have separate bedrooms.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConnieK331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

We look forward to having you back too! If we can help assist you with your return visit, don't hesitate to call!

Thanks for taking the time to leave your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We booked the Sea Ranch Resort based solely on other reviews, and had high expectations. When we arrived, it looked like your typical 'old' beach hotel - not run-down, but not new, either. We had asked for a room on an upper floor when we made our reservation, as we enjoy sitting on the balcony watching the ocean. When we checked in, we were told there were no 'upper floor' rooms available, and we were on the second floor (floor one has no rooms, just workout, laundry, etc.). We were concerned about our view, but were assured that it would be fine. We went to the room, and realized that it was right next to the ice machine, stairs, elevator, and the walkway to the beach - all noisemakers! With 12+ years in the hotel business, I knew this was not a 'prime' room, and was becoming very apprehensive about our stay.

Fortunately, our first impressions were completely wrong!

The view from the room was great. Yes, we weren't 'up high', but there was nothing blocking the ocean from our balcony. (And, had we wanted/needed to, a quick jump over the railing and we'd be on the beach - can't get any closer than that!) Sounds from the ice machine, stairs, and elevator were non-existent. And, the only noise we heard from people walking through to get to the beach was an occasional light 'thud' as the door closed behind them if it was late at night or early (as they propped open the door during the day). Since the A/C unit was one that allowed us to turn the fan on manually (yes!), we just turned that on and it drowned out what little noise there might have been.

So, we would definitely go back, and even stay in that room again (#219, for those interested), even though it was probably the 'worst' one. :-)

We never got to try the restaurant, or any other amenities, so I can't speak to them. We were there to relax, do nothing, and enjoy the beach. And that, we did!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarlC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

I am so glad that you had such a wonderful stay with us this summer and that the resort was a true reflection of the reviews that you had based your decision on! I hope that during your next visit you are able to try the restaurant! Stay in touch for upcoming specials and packages!

We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here while visiting OBX for a week. The room was very clean and spacious! The staff was very friendly. There was a nice bistro on the lower level of the resort. And it was jist steps from the beach! Will be back for another visit!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niks289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thanks for your review! Keep in touch for great fall travel options & packages!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed in a a one bedroom ocean front room for 2 nights and what a view we had. We were on the 2nd floor( there is no 1st floor because of the design of the hotel) and had to go down a small set of stairs to get to the beach. The ocean was really cold to us Texas folks, so we never got in, but we had a beautiful balcony that overlooked the ocean. The room was very nice and clean. I got a great summer special deal on their website and it included vouchers for breakfast both mornings. We also ate at the Bistro one of the nights for dinner. The food was really good and they even had live music each night to listen to. One of the mornings they got slammed with everyone coming in at the same time to eat, and the order took quite a while, but they brought in help from the front desk, etc. and they kept apologizing about the wait. It was worth the wait! The pancakes are amazing and you get 3 large ones in an order. The resort is very close to everything. I would stay there again if I ever return to that area.

Room Tip: get an ocean front room for a little extra money. When can you see a view like this from your room?
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Watchb4go.com
Thank 1HoneyInez_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to leave your review! We appreciate your understanding during an unexpected rush at breakfast during your stay. All of our staff is eager to work as a team to ensure the best guest experience possible.

Although I know that you came a long way, I hope that your future travel plans will bring you back to the Outer Banks and you return to the Sea Ranch!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews