We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and Beautiful”
Review of Sea Ranch Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sea Ranch Resort
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Wow! So glad I looked at Tripadvisor for this stay. We stayed here for the Flying Pirate half marathon. First let me say that the front desk was so friendly and welcoming. My mother and two sister flew in from out of state and we all drove down to the Outer Banks together. It was so nice to all be able to stay in the same room. The master suite was so spacious with it's own bathroom, king size bed, flat screen tv and private access to the ocean front patio/sunroom. The second bedroom with two twin beds was just as roomy and also had it's own bathroom. The livingroom was large enough for the pull out couch and still plenty of walk around room. The washer and dryer in the room was a nice touch though we did not use it as we were only there for the weekend. The hotel resturaunt was fabulous with a variety of menu options. The enclosed pool was clean and so inviting after running our races. I definately would recommend this for large groups traveling together. Book early because it does sell out. It was definately cheaper than renting two rooms at the Hilton plus the fully stocked kitchen was a major convenience and helped save on eating out for every meal.

Room Tip: Mention that you want an ocean view room. It is definately worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank o311mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (901)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

792 - 798 of 902 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Arriving 2days before the start of the spring season was great we got excellent rates! Also the hotel had been remodeled last spring everything was fresh and up to date...and the ocean front 5thof floor balcony had a million dollar view!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barnett19777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay--and our Oceanfront rooms DO have amazing views! We hope to see you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The resort itself is a little bit run down but is clean and a great value. What really blew us away was the food and the staff. The crab cakes and the coconut shrimp are amazing! The waitstaff/bartenders Garret and Steve really made the trip for us. The beach was right out the back window and the view was spectacular!! I would most certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: 517 is a nice condo suit on the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We love the Sea Ranch and stay there exclusively when on the Outer Banks. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. I enjoy coffee every morning on the balcony watching the sun rise over the ocean and a glass of wine in the evening watching it set - amazing view for the price! The staff is extremely professional and helpful. I highly recommend the Sea Ranch if you're looking for an affordable and relaxing place to stay on the Outer Banks!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janie1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

After reading other reviews, we chose this hotel for our "base" as we explored the Outer Banks. The room was clean and spacious. We were shocked to walk on the balcony and find the water almost directly below us with a very thin area of beach. No problem...as we love listening to the surf as we relax or sleep! We even had a beautiful sunrise complete with two groups of dolphins passing by! We had a "get-away" deal which made it quite affordable. Chose to bring food back to eat since there was a nice table with the ocean just out the window!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My husband and I were looking for our first relaxing vaction since having our four children, we have 4 under 4. This was the perfect place and the perfect price. We booked their Romance Package and it was wonderful. From the moment we walked in and saw the view we relaxed fully. Clean rooms, extremely helpful and friendly staff and amazing views! We even had our own private balcony with Telescope patio furniture. The room included microwave and mini fridge making our stay most enjoyable. We had access to the pool, and being off season had it to ourselves. Our package also included one dinner which was fantastic and 2 breakfasts at a local hangout VERY close to the hotel which was really great too. Our package also included a couples massage and it was arranged for the massage therapist to come right to our room. It was just perfect.

The rooms were very nicely remodeled and we didn't want to leave. Thank you for giving us back our sanity! We intend to do this again next year with the hopes of making it our annual get away!

Room Tip: 5th floor of ocean side rooms are the best for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wergodspromised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We enjoyed the hotel, the rooms was great! Very Clean, new remodel, and very pleasant to stay in. We will come back over and over. To see the sunrise and set was the best site ever... I will recommened the hotel to everyone. Which this is my fourth stay there it was better then ever this time. If you ever want a relaxing place to go try them atleast once, you will go back for more.
The staff was great could not ask for anything better.

Room Tip: Ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We're happy that you are pleased with the updated decor and comfort of our oceanfront rooms, and enjoyed your FOURTH stay with us!

We hope that your travel plans will bring you back to see us at the Sea Ranch very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,192 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
2.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,614 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Ranch Resort

Address: 1731 N Virginia Dare Trl, PO Box 325, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: $71 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Ranch Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the room accommodations that reflect a coastal color palette and modern room finishes that will create a relaxing and comfortable space for your stay. Convenient on-site amenities include an enclosed heated pool (seasonal),fitness center, outside picnic area and grill. The Sea Ranch also welcomes you to our oceanfront restaurant, the Beachside Bistro, which offers a delightful menu with a focus on American Coastal Cuisine. Join us in the dining room or on our deck where you can soak in the beautiful ocean view! Beachfront Resort: All rooms on the oceanfront and main building include: microwaves, refrigerators, Cable TV and Internet. Oceanfront Suites: 2 BR / 2 Bath fully equipped, condo style suites. Each suite offers a fully equipped kitchen, washer & dryer and living room with a sleeper sofa! Minimum of a 2 night stay required in season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sea Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Ranch Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Ranch Resort Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing