We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“North Carolina BBQ!!!”
Review of Pigman's Bar-B-Que

Pigman's Bar-B-Que
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Pigman's Bar-B-Que is the premiere barbeque restaurant on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. For over 16 years, we have been serving up 'Que to tourists and locals alike. We have won multiple awards including "Best of the Beach" in the BBQ category in 2012 and BBQ Showdown OBX "Best Ribs" in 2013! We offer many varieties of BBQ with signature sauces to go along with it! We have all the fixings you can imagine and we also do catering.At Pigman’s Bar-B-Que, we take all the necessary steps to make our BBQ unique as well. For example, all of our signature BBQ’s are cooked on site by smoking. We cook this way for two reasons: To cook the meat slowly to retain the natural juices, and infuse it with oak flavor. Then we add our signature sauces, thus creating BBQ. Every BBQ option we sell is hand-crafted, and has some sort of vinegar-based sauce added to them. Although our vinegar-based BBQ options are delicious, we have discovered that there are many different palates out there to please. As a result, a few of our BBQ options have ketchup and an additional blend of proprietary spices to give our customers a “tomato based” option, also known as “ketchup based”.
Kechi, Kansas
Level Contributor
143 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“North Carolina BBQ!!!”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Good stuff! I had the pulled pork dinner. It had a great flavor, moist and tender. My wife had the beef sandwich. It was more than she could eat. It's hard to beat good Carolina BBQ and this was good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigman1985, Owner at Pigman's Bar-B-Que, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Jim - we are so glad you and your wife enjoyed everything! This means a lot coming from a Kansas man! If you are ever back in OBX and want some more good que, come see us! Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    191
    117
    38
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Love the Pg Man!”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We always make sure to hit PMB whenever we go to KDH for vacation. Best sweet tea on the planet, amazing BBQ and an awesome staff. My only beef is there's not one single hat available for sale. Baseball cap, visor and a fishing hat, I'd but them all!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rich K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigman1985, Owner at Pigman's Bar-B-Que, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Rich - thanks so much for being a loyal customer of the Pigman! We are so glad you stop in when you are in town. Thanks for the suggestion, we will definitely look into the hats. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
308 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Tasty find!”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We had driven past this restaurant several times while visiting the area. We decided to try it, and were not disappointed. My husband is from North Carolina and prefers the eastern pork barbeque. I am from Texas, and prefer my beef. We were each able to get exactly what we wanted, and left full and happy! Love the hushpuppies, too. A variety of sauces are available to "dress" your meat - and some hot stuff that's just that - HOT! We will definitely be back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wearymom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigman1985, Owner at Pigman's Bar-B-Que, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
We are so glad you were able to find what you were looking for at Pigman's :) It's always great to hear when someone leaves full and happy! So glad you liked the sauces too. You can special order them to dress your meat at home as well :) Thanks so much for your feedback and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STATE COLLEGE, United States
Level Contributor
127 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent barbeque”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Two visits last week. This is a place to eat. There is no ambiance but who cares when you get pork of this quality. Sweet potato fries were also excellent.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigman1985, Owner at Pigman's Bar-B-Que, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Joe, thanks for coming back twice to see us! We appreciate your business and are so glad you enjoyed the pork!! See you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
151 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“impressive”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

first off let me explain that i was raised in eastern NC and that BBQ is a field that i'm quite familiar with. my family ordered takeout from here during a beach trip to Nags Head and let me tell you that we were blown away. Potato salad and coleslaw were creamy and delicious. Hushpuppies crispy and tasty. The star of the show was the pulled pork itself which was unique in taste. I went back for seconds and thirds! even made a sandwich for lunch the next day. Our 10 month old devoured it as well. Would definitely recommend this spot for anyone looking for excellent eastern NC 'que

  • Visited June 2014
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tailsock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigman1985, Owner at Pigman's Bar-B-Que, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind review. We appreciate the feedback and are so glad that you enjoyed everything on your visit. We are also glad the kids enjoyed it...that is important on vacation!!! We hope you will return to see us next time you are in town :) Thanks!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pigman's Bar-B-Que also viewed

Nags Head, Outer Banks
Kitty Hawk, Outer Banks
 

Been to Pigman's Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing