We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent barbeque”
Review of Pigman's Bar-B-Que

Pigman's Bar-B-Que
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Pigman's Bar-B-Que is the premiere barbeque restaurant on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. For over 16 years, we have been serving up 'Que to tourists and locals alike. We have won multiple awards including "Best of the Beach" in the BBQ category in 2012 and BBQ Showdown OBX "Best Ribs" in 2013! We offer many varieties of BBQ with signature sauces to go along with it! We have all the fixings you can imagine and we also do catering.At Pigman’s Bar-B-Que, we take all the necessary steps to make our BBQ unique as well. For example, all of our signature BBQ’s are cooked on site by smoking. We cook this way for two reasons: To cook the meat slowly to retain the natural juices, and infuse it with oak flavor. Then we add our signature sauces, thus creating BBQ. Every BBQ option we sell is hand-crafted, and has some sort of vinegar-based sauce added to them. Although our vinegar-based BBQ options are delicious, we have discovered that there are many different palates out there to please. As a result, a few of our BBQ options have ketchup and an additional blend of proprietary spices to give our customers a “tomato based” option, also known as “ketchup based”.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Two visits last week. This is a place to eat. There is no ambiance but who cares when you get pork of this quality. Sweet potato fries were also excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joseph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigman1985, Owner at Pigman's Bar-B-Que, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Joe, thanks for coming back twice to see us! We appreciate your business and are so glad you enjoyed the pork!! See you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (605)
There are newer reviews for Pigman's Bar-B-Que
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

349 - 353 of 605 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

first off let me explain that i was raised in eastern NC and that BBQ is a field that i'm quite familiar with. my family ordered takeout from here during a beach trip to Nags Head and let me tell you that we were blown away. Potato salad and coleslaw were creamy and delicious. Hushpuppies crispy and tasty. The star of the show was the pulled pork itself which was unique in taste. I went back for seconds and thirds! even made a sandwich for lunch the next day. Our 10 month old devoured it as well. Would definitely recommend this spot for anyone looking for excellent eastern NC 'que

    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank tailsock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigman1985, Owner at Pigman's Bar-B-Que, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Thank you so much for the kind review. We appreciate the feedback and are so glad that you enjoyed everything on your visit. We are also glad the kids enjoyed it...that is important on vacation!!! We hope you will return to see us next time you are in town :) Thanks!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

There was way too much fat in their pulled pork. Gross! There are better places in OBX. We will not be back.

Thank Natasha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigman1985, Owner at Pigman's Bar-B-Que, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Natasha, sorry you feel there is too much fat in the que. That is a concern we rarely hear, but its unfortunate that the meal was not appropriate for you and did not meet your quality standards. We hope that you will give us another change, but sorry that you feel the way you do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

This rating is based on what a Californian is generally used to for BBQ. The meat is not cooked in the BBQ sauce. Instead you add it to your sandwich after it is served to you. The hushpuppies were sweet - more like a fried donut. I realize Long John Silvers is not gourmet food but this is what we were hoping for when we ordered hushpuppies. Also, the sweet potato fries had sugar on them....again, not something you normally get in California and not to my liking.

However, the service was good and the people were very friendly and it was clear that everyone else in the restaurant was enjoying their food. I chalk this up to 'not what I am used to' as opposed to 'poor food'.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NorCal50Something
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigman1985, Owner at Pigman's Bar-B-Que, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Thanks for your honesty in the matter. We are sorry that the que and hushpuppies weren't what you were expecting, but hope that you enjoyed your experience either way. We know we can't please everyone, but we do appreciate the feedback. If you are ever on the east coast again and want to give us another try, we would appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

My husband and I got married on the Outer Banks 3 years ago and had Pigman's that night for dinner... we enjoyed it so much we came back with our son for our anniversary. Haven't tried anything on their menu that wasn't absolutely delicious!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Trisha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigman1985, Owner at Pigman's Bar-B-Que, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Trisha - thank you so much for coming back and we are so glad we were able to share your big day with you. We are glad you were also able to make it back :) Thanks for the kind comments...see you again soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pigman's Bar-B-Que also viewed

Nags Head, Outer Banks
Kitty Hawk, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Pigman's Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing