We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delish!”
Review of Pigman's Bar-B-Que

Pigman's Bar-B-Que
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Pigman's Bar-B-Que is the premiere barbeque restaurant on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. For over 16 years, we have been serving up 'Que to tourists and locals alike. We have won multiple awards including "Best of the Beach" in the BBQ category in 2012 and BBQ Showdown OBX "Best Ribs" in 2013! We offer many varieties of BBQ with signature sauces to go along with it! We have all the fixings you can imagine and we also do catering.At Pigman’s Bar-B-Que, we take all the necessary steps to make our BBQ unique as well. For example, all of our signature BBQ’s are cooked on site by smoking. We cook this way for two reasons: To cook the meat slowly to retain the natural juices, and infuse it with oak flavor. Then we add our signature sauces, thus creating BBQ. Every BBQ option we sell is hand-crafted, and has some sort of vinegar-based sauce added to them. Although our vinegar-based BBQ options are delicious, we have discovered that there are many different palates out there to please. As a result, a few of our BBQ options have ketchup and an additional blend of proprietary spices to give our customers a “tomato based” option, also known as “ketchup based”.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

My husband and I got married on the Outer Banks 3 years ago and had Pigman's that night for dinner... we enjoyed it so much we came back with our son for our anniversary. Haven't tried anything on their menu that wasn't absolutely delicious!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Trisha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigman1985, Owner at Pigman's Bar-B-Que, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Trisha - thank you so much for coming back and we are so glad we were able to share your big day with you. We are glad you were also able to make it back :) Thanks for the kind comments...see you again soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (624)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

372 - 376 of 624 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2014

Just plain good BBQ. Not much atmosphere, but it is a BBQ joint. Hushpuppies could have more flavor.

Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigman1985, Owner at Pigman's Bar-B-Que, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Thanks for your feedback Scott! We are so glad you enjoyed the que. See you again next time!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

We ate here once before when we visited Outer Banks and decided to come back! Our experience here before was great and it was this time also! Everything was great and the employees were very nice! We decided to have desert here also! Will return again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank travel4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigman1985, Owner at Pigman's Bar-B-Que, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thanks so much for being a return customer! We certainly do like to hear we are doing things right. We hope to please you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

First let me say how pleasant the staff were. We arrived late due to driving up from Florida and got there 15 minutes before closing. I asked if it was too late to sit down and eat and they quickly assured me we had plenty of time. The service was quick and they stayed open late so we and the family who came in after us had time to enjoy our supper.

Next let me tell you about the food. There is a fabulous BBQ place at home - Callahan BBQ. The meat here at Pigman's was just as good if not better than Callahan BBQ's. The ribs were so tender the meat was falling off the bone. Same with the smoked chicken. The BBQ beef and pork sandwiches were excellent also. The beef was very tender. The table sauces are a little on the hot side. The fries were made from real potatoes not processed fries. The hush puppies were fabulous. The cole slaw and BBQ beans were okay - Callahan BBQ has better though.

Lastly, I'm giving them a 5 cause overall it was excellent and the service was amazing! Thanks for a great first night meal!

Thank leeannh0813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigman1985, Owner at Pigman's Bar-B-Que, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Leeann, we are so glad that we are in the running for favorite BBQ place and that you like us as much as someone at home! That is truly an honor. We are glad that you made it in time to enjoy some yummy food from us! Glad you came to visit your first night in town and are looking forward to your return. We appreciate you taking the time to comment and share your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

From the time I orderded , no waitress, and served, about 6 minutes passed. Orders are taken from the front desk. A quest can chose from tables or booths. My order was a Jumbo Pork Boat Sandwich, with french fries & hush puppies. A regular sandwich would have been enough. Not many people at 1:30, that could been the reason for the quick serving. A guest will be given a number, then be called. Since not many people my order was brought to me.

Pigman BBQ is located at the intersection of Croatan Highway & Ocean Acres DRive. If driving south on Croatan, a person can just turn right into Pigman's parking lot. If heading north on Croatan, turn onto Ocean Acres Drive, then right into the parking lot.

If in the area in the future, I will stop again, but order less.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigman1985, Owner at Pigman's Bar-B-Que, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Jack, our business model is a quick service one - order at the front counter, seat yourself, and the food is brought out to order. We are sorry that it was not as you had expected, but are glad that the food and service was to your liking. We sure hope that you do stop back by if you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pigman's Bar-B-Que also viewed

Nags Head, Outer Banks
Kitty Hawk, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Pigman's Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing