We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Real Find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colington Cafe

Colington Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Nestled off the beaten path in a Victorian house surrounded by 400 year-old oak trees, we are a local's favorite. Our seafood is brought in fresh daily, and we use locally grown ingredients.All the locals love our filet dishes as well as our large menu.All desserts are homemade. We are a family run restaurant with most of our staff having been with us for over 15 years.We do everything to make sure all of our customers leave happy.
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Real Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

This charming place is hidden away from the crowds. This cottage, nestled In the trees is a gem. The staff is friendly and welcoming and makes you feel right at home. Our waiter, Billy, was knowledgable and willing to make recommendations. The menu is varied with something for everyone and the fish specials were amazing. The wine list has a variety of choices at reasonable prices. It is a go to place for special occasions.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Merlin2536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    706
    117
    30
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT MEAL -- CRAMPED SEATING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

This is the second time we have dined at Colington. It is a charming place with seating broken up into several rooms. The first time we dined there, we were upstairs by a window. Unfortunately, even with a reservation, we were placed in the room just off to the right of the entry. It looked like our very small table was an afterthought (on an angle by the fireplace and VERY close to adjoining tables and also quite dark). We felt kind of crammed in there. The next time I make a reservation, I will definitely ask for a window table.

That being said, the food is outrageously good. We both had the Filet Coquille (sautéed with fresh sea scallops, sweet peppers, mushrooms, tomatoes, onions and garlic in a marsala wine sauce). It was cooked perfectly. Our server was friendly and efficient. They have a very nice wine selection. We will definitely go back when we are in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank olfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Charming Restaurant, Great Food, very reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have been to Colington Cafe many times over the past 20 years, and it never disappoints. While the restaurant is small, and the tables a little close, the charming ambience, excellent food, and friendly, attentive service more than make up for the close quarters. Once again, we were impressed with the quality of the food, especially considering the very reasonable prices. The prices on the wine list are also the most reasonable we have ever seen. (Hope Management doesn't read this and raise the prices ;-) Tonight we both had the She-crab soup (definitely the best at the Outer Banks), and the mixed grill - always excellent. The only problem at this restaurant is trying to decide between the tempting choices. The dominance of frequently returning locals tells you a lot about this restaurant!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DeltaDawnD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, VA
Level Contributor
210 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“The place to impress friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We took friends for a repeat visit to the Cafe in May. Holly, our waitress recalled, without prompting that one of our friends was a bread freak. He LOVES bread! She noted that and brought lots right away. She also remembered the wine choice the wine queen usually opts for when we dine there.

We shared a crab dip appetizer and it was excellent. No leftovers! Not that you'd expect any.

Everyone enjoyed their entrees. I had the filet dijon which was at least as good as I remembered. it's virtually steak dianne, my own favorite entre' to prepare, albeit rarely. Everyone had something different, and everyone loved what they had. Holly presided on time with everything. Our friends were impressed. Again! And for that, she got one of my Excellent Service pins.

Reservations recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Big-Deeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Great Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

While vacationing in Southern Shores, a group of us went to dinner at the Colington Cafe. The Staff was very helpful in making a reservation on the phone and more than hospitable upon arrival at the Cafe. The staff provided very knowledgeable and friendly service accompanied by reasonably priced delicious meals. Not a complaint in the group. We will definitely be back next year!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Weliketogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colington Cafe also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Colington Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing