We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in an area new to us”
Review of Colington Cafe

Colington Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Nestled off the beaten path in a Victorian house surrounded by 400 year-old oak trees, we are a local's favorite. Our seafood is brought in fresh daily, and we use locally grown ingredients.All the locals love our filet dishes as well as our large menu.All desserts are homemade. We are a family run restaurant with most of our staff having been with us for over 15 years.We do everything to make sure all of our customers leave happy.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great find in an area new to us”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We are just beginning to explore the outer banks and this was a great find. The crab bisk was outstanding. The crab cakes can compete with the best in the DC area. .The mixed grill with a filet and tuna and two outstanding sauces was excellent. Two deserts were both very good but huge. We will return on out next trip.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank charlie525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    789
    127
    33
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A WONDERFUL EVENING!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We loved Colington café! The food was delicious, wine list was very good, and prices were reasonable. The service was excellent! Our waitress [and her mother, the hostess] could have not done more to make our experience perfect. Charming atmosphere as well............

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeanne020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Secret Well Kept”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Upon arriving we were asked about our reservation. The place was almost completely empty as it was relatively early, maybe 5:30 - 6:00. We explained we didn't realize we needed a reservation and man seated at a podium explained in a somewhat condescending tone, that maybe he could accommodate us anyway. We gave each other that "Should we leave now?" look, and decided to hang in there a bit longer. Low and behold we were seated at the smallest table crammed into a corner--a very dark corner--of a small room. Craft paper on white linens. Our server was very nice. She brought a wonderful bread with butter prior to the meal. When our main course was brought in it was explained that since we received our bread upon arriving, we didn't get more. That was fine, but a bit surprising in tone. We ordered seafood dishes and our food was served in a decent amount of time, and prepared well. The fish was a bit dry and the description in the menu wasn't exactly accurate, but the food was very good anyway. The side dishes (which we could not choose for ourselves) we didn't eat.

We explained that we didn't care for dessert but asked for our check, but a whole tray of samples was brought, explained/described anyway. We thanked our server again and declined. All in all the food was very good, but I doubt if I will ever suggest going there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank FlourGirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous venue, service and food!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Went to this restaurant celebrating a 60th birthday - had a fantastic dinner. Our waitress, Melody, was wonderful! Quaint and cozy atmosphere and cannot stop raving on out the salmon and tuna! This is a restaurant that we will definitely return to again - highly recommend!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Colington Colossal!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were told about this restaurant from a local and enjoyed it immensely. I loved the crab bisque and the selections were numerous! Save room for dessert. Toll House Pie, oh my! The location is not on any main drag, so be sure you know how to get there. Atmosphere is different and funky, which is a nice departure from most restaurants. We all enjoyed our food and the service is top notch. Don't miss this place

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyAllen_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colington Cafe also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Colington Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing