We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definite Yes”
Review of Colington Cafe

Colington Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Nestled off the beaten path in a Victorian house surrounded by 400 year-old oak trees, we are a local's favorite. Our seafood is brought in fresh daily, and we use locally grown ingredients.All the locals love our filet dishes as well as our large menu.All desserts are homemade. We are a family run restaurant with most of our staff having been with us for over 15 years.We do everything to make sure all of our customers leave happy.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Definite Yes”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We only had a few days at the OBX and had not been there before, so i can't tell you it's the best restaurant in the area, but the other reviews are accurate. So, i'll just give a few tips:
- make reservation as soon as you know when you want to go. it gets filled quickly
- beer and wine only served. no bar but they will bring you something while you are waiting to be seated.
- parking is scattered around the house and unmarked. often space for 3 cars is taken up by just 2 so bring the compact, not the SUV ;-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    770
    125
    32
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great dinner, reasonable prices!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had an amazing meal here for my Mom's birthday. Everything was absolutely delicious. Entrees were between 18-26 each. The tilefish special with stone grits was awesome. We shared the sampler appetizer which was a bit expensive I think but very good. It is a cute quaint little house that has been turned into a restaurant. I loved the feel of the place. The service was excellent as well. I am definitely coming back here next year!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in the OBX!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We come here every year & we love this place. I wish we had a restaurant
like this in Va Beach where I live.
You won't be disappointed if you come here!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RobinHarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“LOVE!!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This place was recommended to me by a friend....after years of going to OBX I didn't even know it was there! My husband and I went last year for date night then this year our entire family went (20 people) and both experiences were fabulous! The service is prompt and friendly and the food is good. I had the filet with crabmeat and the fillet was cooked perfectly and delicious. The atmosphere is cute...old house converted into a restaurant. There is a little courtyard out back...great photo spot. Overall, for the quality of food the price is not bad. I would recommend!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hrj915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cute place, off the main drag, great food and good service”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We tried once after looking for some place new we hadn't tried over the years and all the reviews looked great. It was great. The place is super cute and very accommodating. We didn't have reservations and arrived relatively late in the evening for OBX standards but were treated like valued guests almost to a fault!
Would certainly try again as the food was very good and the atmosphere more quaint and off the beaten track than most other OBX eateries. I would think you should consider reservations if they take them and you don't want to wait.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cmchwms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colington Cafe also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Colington Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing