We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! We ate here twice on vacation!”
Review of Colington Cafe

Colington Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Nestled off the beaten path in a Victorian house surrounded by 400 year-old oak trees, we are a local's favorite. Our seafood is brought in fresh daily, and we use locally grown ingredients.All the locals love our filet dishes as well as our large menu.All desserts are homemade. We are a family run restaurant with most of our staff having been with us for over 15 years.We do everything to make sure all of our customers leave happy.
Purduewriter91
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Amazing! We ate here twice on vacation!”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We ate at this charming resaturant located in a small old victorian house. The first night, we arrived about 1/2 hour earlier than our reservations, just because we weren't 100% sure of the location. The sweet hostess offered to serve us a glass of wine outside on the gazebo while we waited. In no time, we were seated in the front part of the house--which is decorated in a French theme. My husband and I split the she-crab soup and it was the best we had all week. My husband got the tuna special and I ordered the salmon which was a very big fillet cooked PERFECTLY and served over a bed of amazing mashed potatoes with brocolli. Yum! We visited the restaurant a couple of nights later and I got the salmon special that night--grilled salmon and shrimp served over three cheese tortilleni with mushrooms, ham and peas in a light cream sauce. This was one of the best things I've ever eaten!! Service was great. They also have a very nice selection of wines at fair prices. You must eat here!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Purduewriter91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    757
    121
    32
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Wonderful dining, once again”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Went on a Saturday night and the hostess was most gracious, asking us if the room where we were seated would be OK. It was charming. Ordered several different beef and pork dishes and all were excellent. Declicious desserts, and good service. Couldn't have asked for a more enjoyable evening.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2trippersIBX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitsett, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Absolute gem hidden off the beaten path”
Reviewed September 17, 2011

I recently took my Mom to Colington Cafe for her Birthday dinner during our OBX vacation and it was perfect! We didn't even know about it, but our B&B innkeeper is a local and he suggested we pay this place a visit. We sure are glad we did....the little cottage restaurant is hidden up under huge trees not far behind the Wright Brother's Memorial. It has a very charming, quiet, romantic atomosphere and it feels as if you are dining in a cafe in Italy. The staff were well dressed and very polite and efficient. The food was out-of-this-world fantastic! We also had a bottle of champagne and a delightful fresh berry cobbler dessert to top off our meal. The shocker about this place though, is the value! The prices were surprisingly reasonable given the fancy dishes, impressive presentation, and beautiful atmosphere. This is definitely a great spot for a special occasion-anniversary, rehearsal dinner, or private party. The steak entrees are a definite must at the Colington! I do suggest making reservations before your visit...they get quite busy and you may not get in without them. We will be paying it many more visits over the years.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Savannahgal19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purduewriter91
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best restaurant we visited on the Outer Banks!”
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We ate at this charming restaurant, located in an old Victorian house, last evening during our outer banks vacation. It was amazing. My husband and I split the she-crab bisque to start. The best we've had. My husband had the catch of the day: yellow fin tuna, which was cooked perfectly with a cumin sauce. I had the special which was salmon filet with lump crab topped with a dijion béarnaise sauce, served with red skinned mashed potatoes and perfectly cooked brocolli spears. It was AMAZING! They have a very upper scale wine list at reasonable prices. The service was fantastic. We arrived a bit early and the vert sweet hostes offered to serve us a glass of wine on the gazebo while we waited. A wonderful experience!,

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Purduewriter91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome all around”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Food was excellent. Fresh ingredients.
Meal was well paced and very timely for a full restaurant.
Waitress was very friendly.
Prices reasonable for quality.
Went there twice in one week on our vacation. Wonderful both times.
Definitely need reservations; would recommend day before.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank clfrazier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colington Cafe also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 

Been to Colington Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing