We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best Campground by Far” 5 of 5 stars
Review of OBX Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kill Devil Hills
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
OBX Campground
Save
You added OBX Campground to your Saves list
Afton, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Campground by Far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed at the OBX Campground in mid-November, 2013. This campground, hidden at the end of a residential street was a real find. It is small, but there is nice spacing between sites and SO CLEAN. The bath houses were the largest and nicest I have yet to see. The 6 shower stalls were fiberglass stalls with seats, including two that were handicapped accessible. Not the concrete floor with rubber mat that you usually have. There were multiple, large toilet stalls, along with 2 handicapped accessible ones. The men's and women's facilities were separate buildings, which I liked. The campground is adjacent to the sound with a pier and picnic area adjacent to the water. The Wright Memorial is just north of the campground and other sites are very close and convenient. We would stay there again in a heartbeat and I would recommend it to any camper.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank DMVDDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

In Colington, this relatively new campground is secluded from the highly commercialized Croatan Hiway. It has water frontage, very roomy campsites and is very clean. If you are into beach and sand, noise, etc., this may not be the campground for you. If you enjoy peace and quiet and within 3 miles of the beach, then this is the place for you!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank 1213pdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Simple and serene RV park in a great location, just west of the Wright Brothers Memorial. Clean and well kept, surrounded by wetlands and the Sound. Gravel pads and roads. Playset for the kids. Full hookups with 20/30/50 amp connections, cable and WiFi included.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank NavyFamily007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Fabulous experience! They have the cleanest bathrooms I have EVER seen at a campground! The staff was very helpful and we didn't have any problems. Very close to the Wright Brother's Memorial. The rates were very reasonable and we felt like we got a great value.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 1,015 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 stars 728 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Outer Banks Inn
Outer Banks Inn
#9 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 259 reviews
2.8 mi away
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
#13 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
3.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
2.0 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OBX Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OBX Campground

Property: OBX Campground
Address: 126 Marshy Ridge Rd, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-8092
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern RV park. NO TENTS! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
OBX Campground Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing